We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great option”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a couple of days while spending time with her extended family over Christmas in December 2011. Really comfortable hotel, spacious rooms. Friendly staff. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    153
    42
    34
    14
See reviews for
162
81
22
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is our 3rd or 4th time staying here when we visit family in the area. If you are familiar with the concept, you will not be disappointed. The only drawback (a design issue) is the limited access to the closet. It's a full closet - you have only 50% access. Not a deal breaker - as we continue to select this great hotel. This friendly and comfortable hotel is one of our favorites.

The staff is amazing!!

The Starbucks coffee bar is open 24 hours we learned.

My only issue are the guests who come down to the breakfast bar in their pajamas. I was raised that if you are in a public area, you put a comb through your hair and you do not wear your sleeping clothes. This is totally fine for children as they need to be fed often before showers but adults should know better.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamanthasDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I booked the room 4 my B-day it was so nice and big super clean,the bathroom is tiny and outdated.But the room made up 4 that the pool was nice and warm and a nice size.They dont have à jacuzzi but the pool feel like à big jacuzzi so it didnt matter.U cant rent movies after 9 because the hotel lose their signals so ur movie will cut off.Their are so many things 2 do around the hotel,livonia is far from Detroit.So if black expect have ppl staring @ u,grabbing their purses,and moving away from u.Sad but it happened 2 me and my.company.The 1 problem i had was i was charged 61.83 for Friday night i booked the room 4 the whole week-end,and paid 4 it on hôtels.com .So y was i charged 4 Friday because i showed up late,i called ahead and told them i would be late because Friday was my B-day.I had à party in downtown Detroit it takes awhile 2 get 2 Livonia.The reception wouldnt help but the manager was very very helpful.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vandres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Our room was huge, clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was good...though I felt that it did not live up to the "buffet" that was promised. It was good food, don't get me wrong. But, when a buffet is advertised, one would expect more than donuts, muffins, bagels, cereal and three hot items (silver dollar pancakes, sausage links and scrambled eggs).
Aside from that slight disappointment, I was very, very happy with my stay.
The bed was super comfortable. I didn't want to get up and we waited until the very last minute to checkout!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandinkler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013

The hotel was clean, the complimentary breakfast had a nice selection including scrambled eggs and fruit. The hotel is in walking distance to many nice restaurants. The staff was superb. Hats off to Jon and his team they sure know how to make you feel at home!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great hotel and not very expensive. Rooms were clean and they offer a continental breakfast. They also have a little bar area that serves Starbucks coffee, a few desserts, beer & wine. If you're headed to Ann Arbor for a game, this is a great place to stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I chose this hotel because I had Hyatt Gold points to burn and was looking to stay somewhere between Ann Arbor and Detroit (coming in for Michigan/Notre Dame football).

We arrived after the game at about 1:00am. The nice front desk attendant apologized that he did not have a room besides one that accommodates people with disabilities. No problem here.

However, the room, with a very nice bed, is not well insulated and you can hear everything that goes on in the hallway. Bathroom was strange - i think because of the accommodations with a very small shower (no tub).

Breakfast was served downstairs. ITs nice that they have hot food and some protein, but the food seems to sit out a little too long. Cheese was quite dry. the fresh fruit salad had seen better days too. Coffee was good.

There is a movie theater in the mall right next to the hotel and a few restaurants around. Very easy freeway access and you are 30-40 minutes from downtown detroit. I'd stay here again if necessary.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ushela03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livonia
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing