We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Livonia
Reviewed June 28, 2008

My sisters and niece stayed here while attending the National Bowling tournament. The staff members were very cordial and friendly, especially the assistant manager Sandy Stanley. The rooms were very clean and comfortable for three of us in each room. The continental breakfast was good and they kept the food stocked and the tables clean. We enjoyed the outside patio area and were allowed to play cards and enjoy ourselves. I would highly recommend this hotel to travelers in the Livonia/Detroit area. Very close to a mall and eating establishments.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank weebeesisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

471 - 477 of 498 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2008

My sisters and I stayed here while attending the national women's bowling tournament and were extremely pleased with the accomodations and especially the employees! In fact we were so impressed with them that we asked for their names so we could post their names in hopes they will be rewarded for all their efforts. When we checked in, Jackie C changed our pre-assigned rooms so that we could all be on the same floor. Most places aren't so accomodating. We were then greeted the next day at breakfast by Sandy Stanley who was the sweetest. (We think she may have been in management so for her to take the time to speak with us was amazing.) Speaking of breakfast, no paper plates here! Beautiful white glass plates and bowls and real glasses and cups! Fresh fruit, breads, juices, cereals, etc. made for an enjoyable start to our day. We like to sit around the pool and play cards and we prefer an outdoor pool but they had a nice courtyard with tables and chairs that worked nicely for us. The last night we were there, we wanted to bring the radio from our room down to listen to some oldies but the plug in wasn't working so Elshawn tracked down the maintenance man and had him bring us an extension cord! When it got too cold to stay outside, we would move into the lobby area and all the night clerks were great to us. The rooms were large and the beds were comfy - even the pull out couches -and they are usually horrible to sleep on! They were also very clean. My only bad observation was that the shower and toilet area was a little cramped. Loved the sit up bar to order coffees, sandwiches, beer, etc. This hotel is in a great location for restaurants, grocery stores, movie theater and easy access to the interstate so was a breeze to and from the airport. Also want to mention Yvette and Annie - they were also extremely helpful. Have never stayed at a Hyatt like this before but will definitely look for them now!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pyschokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

The room was immaculate, a perfect size, modern, affordable and smoke free. Everything from the express check-in to check out was perfect. Free wi-fi, wide flat screen, were a bonus. A wide variety of restaurants and stores in the immediate area and a movie theather within walking distance, made this weekend enjoyable and stress free. The staff although I didn't have to deal with them at anytime, still friendly as we passed them in the hall.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FirstLadyErvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2008

I stayed at the Hyatt Place in Livonia MI from 5/31/08-6/3/08 with a large group in several rooms. We were in town for a bowling tournament. The first night, I stayed with 3 other gals in a room. Due to their sleep schedules, I needed my own room, so early the next morning, I went to the lobby and got my own room for the remainder of the stay. Rooms are clean, new, nice big flat-screen TV, comfy bed. The iron leaked and when I called the front desk, a new iron was brought to my room in 15 minutes. Room was 616 right next to the elevator but it wasn't that noisy there. The continental breakfast was pretty good - nice new dishes and apples were available all day. Breakfast was scheduled from 7-10AM. One day, we needed to leave before 7 and they had breakfast out at 6AM. Very nice. Staff was always helpful and accommodating. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank resortnewbie929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We've stayed at several Hyatt Place hotels and have always been impressed. Our only suggestion was the breakfast spread was not as complete from some of the other Hyatt Place locations.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cdnstudent07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I can't believe I forgot the front desk man's name. I think it was Craig, but I may be wrong. He was GREAT! He checked us in with a smile and humor and was pleasant each morning as we had a delicious complimentary breakfast.

All of the front-desk people were so nice. The place was beautiful. The beds were almost as good as the Westin's Heavenly beds--and that's saying something!

The huge plasma tv was really cool.

This place was easy to get to, near good restaurants, great accommodations, and very competitive prices.

The long couch in the sitting area of the hotel room made getting together as a family easy. (there were several of us staying at the hotel in various rooms).

Don't miss this hotel if you are in the area!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ArkansasLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2008

Hyatt Place made a superb transformation from AmeriSuites. The room are fantastic - very comforatble beds, an awesome "living room" area with large L shaped couch, wet bar, and desk. Not to mention the huge flat screen TV.
Other Highlights - - -
Front dest folks were very helpful...
Cold breakfast is free, but have to may minimally for hot items...
Fitness center has 2 good treadmills, an eliptycal, and bike (all w/TV's)
Pool is decent...
3 good restuarants and 20 screen movie theatre in same parking lot...
Wireless internet works well...
Easy access to I - 275...
No lowlights to speak of - would high recommend for any type of traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dds_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
0.9 mi away
Towneplace Suites Detroit Livonia
1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Livonia
Comfort Inn Livonia
#9 of 16 in Livonia
179 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range: $108 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing