We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overall experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
336 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Great overall experience”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

I was in town for a business trip and decided to stay at Hyatt Place after the locals suggested another chain. I have stayed at other Hyatt Places before and wanted to stick with something I knew and liked after being disappointed on my last trip (at a different hotel brand).

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fine and they have a pretty good variety for you to select from. Juices, bread for toast, fruit, yogurt, oatmeal and some egg sandwiches too. My only complaint was the gym being too small and really didn't offer much other than a bike and treadmill. However, I would definitely go back should I return to the area again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    144
    40
    33
    11
See reviews for
148
78
18
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

The thing I love about Hyatt Place hotels is that they are consistent no matter which one you stay at. Same look and feel, easy to maneuver around in, etc. The front desk person was fantastic. We had a bunch of gift cards so they recommended we drop those off the next morning as we had breakfast as it can take a little extra time to get those through their system. She didn't want us to have to wait at check out. The breakfast (included) was very good as well. We went down for a Red Sox/Tigers game so we weren't too far away (20 minutes or so). Comfortable bed as well. The only negative was that the TV remote didn't want to work well. I'll stay there again.

Room Tip: if you have gift cards, leave them with the front desk person when you come down for breakfast; then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGarrison41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I am on day two of my week long stay and had to take a moment to thank the manager, John, for making my stay even more comfortable.

My family and I are in town for the AAU Junior Olympics and had a really hard time finding hotel accommodations for the week. Thank God there was a Hyatt Place in the area with availability. There was only one problem ... I had to split our weeklong hotel stay into two different reservations under two different room types. And to my dismay, we had to switch rooms on the very day of my son's meet! Talk about stress! We would have to pack up everything, check into a new room, and make it to the meet check-in all before 9AM!

Luckily, all it took was one conversation with John. Understanding that the hotel was booked to capacity, my request was that we switch rooms the day after his first meet. Afterall, we would be free that day. But, John went that extra mile to ensure that we would not have to switch rooms at all.

Thanx, John, for ensuring that the only thing we'll have to worry about is our son running his race. You're the best!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj_oes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here as we were in town for a relative's wedding. The hotel staff was very attentive and friendly. They gave us recommendations for places to eat and shop which was very helpful....lots of options close to the hotel. The room was spacious and clean with comfortable beds. The room has a refrig., in room coffee/tea maker and wet bar. The reasons for the 4/5 is lack of a microwave oven in room, and no airport shuttle. However, I realize this is not an airport location and that DTW is a bit of a "schlep" from Livonia.

Good value for the $.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvoc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were having trouble finding a hotel that could accommodate our four adults and two children in one room, but no difficulty at this hotel. We had two double beds and a larger than double pull-out couch. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. One of the best "free" breakfasts I've seen, and they even made vegetarian breakfast sandwiches for us. Centrally located, close to the convention centre and lots of shopping. Overall, a very good experience and highly recommended if you need to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dakm108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here for work/play for two nights with a few buddies for a 40th birthday road trip. Level of what you can expect from Hyatt Place. Staff were very friendly. TV's were updated, breakfast selection was good. Only complaint was noise levels in the hallway. I stayed at another Livonia hotel recently and this was far better. Great price value as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STLRSTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was yummy! The room was spacious and comfy! The only reason it received 4/5 stars...no jacuzzi ;(. After walking all day a jacuzzi or jacuzzi tub would be awesome!

Room Tip: Loved the king bed with pullout couch...spacious but fit the needs of my family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
0.9 mi away
Towneplace Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing