We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Room, breakfast not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Room, breakfast not so great”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times (usually a week at a time) on business, mainly due to the size of the room and the couch area which I like. But if you stay there as long as I do you will soon have to look for other breakfast options, they seem to think that putting egg on a biscuit is a special treat, maybe for a day or two perhaps but then you soon wish they would just leave the egg on its own. No wheat bread options, instead you are forced to eat a marble rye bread which towards the end of week feels stale. Fruits don't look fresh.
Functional work out area, but pool is tool cold to have fun..
But the rooms are probably the best in the area for the price.

Room Tip: Don't pick first floor, the staff has their rooms and gets very noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlG332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    143
    35
    32
    11
See reviews for
145
77
18
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here during a recent business trip. The hotel was clean and tidy, the staff attentive and it was a pleasant all round experience. The buffet breakfast on a morning was ample although it was a buffet and so you cannot order separately. If you like oatmeal and juice you're fine, if you expect eggs benedict then you could be in trouble!

The rooms are great with a separate lounge area with self catering facilities if you need them. There's a pool and small gym area with the main pieces and for the serious gym-lovers they have complimentary access to the local gym, which has everything you need. Small in-house bar if you need it as well.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tally1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was nice and we were allowed to check in early which is always helpful. But I wouldn't stay there again when I'm going to a Detroit Tigers game. It was a lot farther away than I thought it would be. There also wasn't much near the hotel to walk to for food choices. I have no real complaints. It just wasn't ideal for a tigers game especially if you plan on drinking and taking cabs.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was traveling in business in February and stayed here for 3 nights. I stayed at Hyatt Place before and I liked it and to my satisfaction the hotel was as expected. Breakfast was great as well. There are apples in the lobby that you can have for free (and I love apples!). However, the room felt a bit stuffy and although there is a nice big flat screen TV in the room, the channels were not HD. Nonetheless, this is a great place to stay if traveling in business or pleasure.

Room Tip: There are restaurants in walking distance from the hotel and also a mall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ftoader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has all you need for a mid winter business trip, friendly staff, clean rooms, shuttle, good breakfast etc. All this and it was around $120 per night, if we are in the area again we would book into this place.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rhys W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lebanon, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Clean, well decorated rooms with nice large flat screen TV. Staff very accomodating. Only downfall to the room was there was no microwave in room. Room was way down hall from elevators and very quiet. Staff forgot to clean on Christmas Eve so when we returned that evening I had to go to front desk for towels. Otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, MIssouri
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I really liked this hotel. My husband and I stayed three nights and absolutely loved it. The breakfast was good, a lot of variety, and they did restock after they ran out (despite what others have said). The rooms were nice and very clean. The staff was beyond helpful and extremely friendly. It snowed all three days we were there and they had the parking lot cleaned very well each day, plus it always seemed like there was someone trying to mop the floor up to keep the floor from having that salt foot print stuff. Very good neighborhood also. We liked this hotel so much that on our way home, we decided to book another Hyatt Place in Chicago. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and family, and we will be coming back.
:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
0.9 mi away
Towneplace Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing