We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“User Friendly Hotel in Livonia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterland, Ohio
Level Contributor
683 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“User Friendly Hotel in Livonia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you have ever stayed at a Hyatt Place before you can stop reading here - it's pretty much the same as the other Hyatt Place hotels all over the country. If you like them, you will find the same here.

If you're not familiar with the chain, I've stayed at Hyatt Place hotels in 4 states and I believe the four were identical. The hotel seems to cater most to business travelers, but I have stayed there on family trips as well.

The room is a semi-suite with a living room and bedroom area separated by a partition of sorts. There is a large HD flat panel TV with all kinds of inputs, ample plugs for computers, very good high-speed internet, and a good desk area. The room has granite countertops in the bath area, as well as a kind of wet bar area as you enter (which also has a granite top).

The staff in Livonia was extremely friendly and went out of their way to greet me as I came in.

They have a free continental breakfast, as well as some cooked offerings (during my stay waffles and a cheese, ham and English muffin concoction). They had a choice of newspapers (USA Today, Wall Street Journal) in the morning as well.

The minuses? It's basically like every other Hyatt Place. This one seems to be about 5 years old and I saw a little wear and tear in places. Not a lot, but some. It was also a little noisy, although I primarily blame the people in the next room.

The hotel shares a parking lot with a J. Alexander's and is a short walk to a Macaroni's. They also serve convenience foods for dinner and have a limited bar in the lobby area. There is a large movie theater across the lot if you want a diversion while staying.

Hyatt Place is a good hotel to stay in Livonia with the amenities most travelers would want.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineAndGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    129
    28
    30
    8
See reviews for
120
75
16
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,187 reviews
421 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 612 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I've traveled to Livonia a few times for work and previously stayed in other properties -- one terrible, one just OK. The Hyatt Place beat them both -- and happened to be cheapter, too!

Look- and room-wise, it's a standard Hyatt Place. (The rooms look the same at every property.) I like the spacious room, sectional couch, etc. My room was in good working order, had lots and lots of plugs, as totally clean, etc. My only wish is that the hotel provided lotion in addition to shampoo, soap, and conditioner.

I had a very late arrival and was promptly checked-in. The hotel was busy, but parking was easy to find in the large, well-lit lot. Check-out was similarly easy. In both instances, the front desk clerk was friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was fine. I thought the coffee was gross, however. (I tend to not like the blend Hyatt Place uses.)

No hesitation in recommending this property; I'll return when I return to Livonia!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked a room for two days at this hotel after getting being unsuccessful at finding one in Ann Arbor.

To be honest, the drive over to Ann Arbor wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be, and I actually found a gem in this hotel!

Room- Incredibly large, the couch is a full size L-sectional. The tv on a swivel was better than I had expected but can't be seen from the desk. The bathroom is quite small with the door barely clearing the front of the toilet. There are quite a number of nooks and crannies in the room that may not be at first noticed, like the mirrored closet next to the sink. I didn't love the bed, and really didn't like the odd small square shaped pillows (instead of rectangles) leaving me with a bit of difficulty finding a comfortable position.

Amenities- Free breakfast was well above expectations, with a great selection of the expected pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal..etc. with the bonus of having the hot skillet items as part of the breakfast. The skillet options changed daily with a nicely seasoned egg and cheese biscuit on my plate the second morning. Yum! This is the breakfast I would have expected at a far nicer hotel. The fitness center, while very small, has great cardio equipment. The treadmills look very new with built in TVs and all the typical features you would want--perhaps missing a fan. The fitness room did feel a bit humid being near the pool.

Service- Self check-in is a great thing, and it was a breeze to do! The actual staff were very friendly and helpful in giving me the best routes to various businesses during rush hour traffic.

Location-Convenient access to the highway and surrounded by a ton of chain restaurants and a movie theater. Would also recommend a trip to the twelve oaks mall for shopping!

Overall, very surprised at how much I enjoyed this hotel and would certainly return on future business trips if Ann Arbor is not an option.

This hotel would be excellent for a family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were satisfied with the rooms and the free breakfast. The location is great. Restaurants and a movie theatre are within walking distance. My complaint is that 2 days in a row when I came back to the room the housekeeping staff had taken all my soaps and glasses and not returned them. I called the front desk to get some sent up but after waiting for 15 minutes I had to go downstairs to get them. I was in a hurry that evening to meet friends for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rooms were good size - however upkeep of washroom is questionable as it is very congested
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful when deciding on places to eat
Location was close to Novi shopping area (Twelve Oaks Mall)
Plenty of places to eat close to Twelve Oaks Mall (Famous Dave's, TGIF, Olive Garden)
Had planned on going to independence lake - but was travelling with another family and one attraction stop to 'Rolling Hills County Waterpark' was plenty good
This park features lazy river, wave pool, two slides and kid's fun area
Park also has very good menu for food freshly cooked on grill
Two thumbs up if going to this waterpark with little kids (under 12)
Hotel pool is kept well and temperature was good
Hotel lobby features starbucks coffee and good skillet sandwiches for breakfast
No free weights in onsite gym
Location has an AMC theatre in same plaza if you are thinking of watching a movie and also has Meijer's, Target, Dick's, Best Buy, Office Max within 2 minute drive

Room Tip: Rooms near elevators will generate more hall noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very modern. Everything was very clean. The beds are super comfy. The breakfast is outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have family in the Detroit area and go visit and stay in hotels quite often. This was my first time staying at the Hyatt. They had good size rooms with a big flat screen TV. The living area was separated form the bed area by a partial wall. I also liked how the bathroom wasn't by the front door, I hadn't seen that before in a hotel.

There is so much to do in the area, lots for shopping and restaurants/bars, plus the AMC20 is right next door. The breakfast included was nothing special, but it served it's purpose. This may be my new 'go to' hotel while staying in the area, if I can get a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Livonia
Comfort Inn Livonia
#6 of 15 in Livonia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing