We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enormous rooms + a good free breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enormous rooms + a good free breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I booked a room for two days at this hotel after getting being unsuccessful at finding one in Ann Arbor.

To be honest, the drive over to Ann Arbor wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be, and I actually found a gem in this hotel!

Room- Incredibly large, the couch is a full size L-sectional. The tv on a swivel was better than I had expected but can't be seen from the desk. The bathroom is quite small with the door barely clearing the front of the toilet. There are quite a number of nooks and crannies in the room that may not be at first noticed, like the mirrored closet next to the sink. I didn't love the bed, and really didn't like the odd small square shaped pillows (instead of rectangles) leaving me with a bit of difficulty finding a comfortable position.

Amenities- Free breakfast was well above expectations, with a great selection of the expected pastries, yogurt, fruit, cereal..etc. with the bonus of having the hot skillet items as part of the breakfast. The skillet options changed daily with a nicely seasoned egg and cheese biscuit on my plate the second morning. Yum! This is the breakfast I would have expected at a far nicer hotel. The fitness center, while very small, has great cardio equipment. The treadmills look very new with built in TVs and all the typical features you would want--perhaps missing a fan. The fitness room did feel a bit humid being near the pool.

Service- Self check-in is a great thing, and it was a breeze to do! The actual staff were very friendly and helpful in giving me the best routes to various businesses during rush hour traffic.

Location-Convenient access to the highway and surrounded by a ton of chain restaurants and a movie theater. Would also recommend a trip to the twelve oaks mall for shopping!

Overall, very surprised at how much I enjoyed this hotel and would certainly return on future business trips if Ann Arbor is not an option.

This hotel would be excellent for a family!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CincyLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    121
    21
    25
    7
See reviews for
102
70
16
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were satisfied with the rooms and the free breakfast. The location is great. Restaurants and a movie theatre are within walking distance. My complaint is that 2 days in a row when I came back to the room the housekeeping staff had taken all my soaps and glasses and not returned them. I called the front desk to get some sent up but after waiting for 15 minutes I had to go downstairs to get them. I was in a hurry that evening to meet friends for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAN
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Rooms were good size - however upkeep of washroom is questionable as it is very congested
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful when deciding on places to eat
Location was close to Novi shopping area (Twelve Oaks Mall)
Plenty of places to eat close to Twelve Oaks Mall (Famous Dave's, TGIF, Olive Garden)
Had planned on going to independence lake - but was travelling with another family and one attraction stop to 'Rolling Hills County Waterpark' was plenty good
This park features lazy river, wave pool, two slides and kid's fun area
Park also has very good menu for food freshly cooked on grill
Two thumbs up if going to this waterpark with little kids (under 12)
Hotel pool is kept well and temperature was good
Hotel lobby features starbucks coffee and good skillet sandwiches for breakfast
No free weights in onsite gym
Location has an AMC theatre in same plaza if you are thinking of watching a movie and also has Meijer's, Target, Dick's, Best Buy, Office Max within 2 minute drive

Room Tip: Rooms near elevators will generate more hall noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VFCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very modern. Everything was very clean. The beds are super comfy. The breakfast is outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have family in the Detroit area and go visit and stay in hotels quite often. This was my first time staying at the Hyatt. They had good size rooms with a big flat screen TV. The living area was separated form the bed area by a partial wall. I also liked how the bathroom wasn't by the front door, I hadn't seen that before in a hotel.

There is so much to do in the area, lots for shopping and restaurants/bars, plus the AMC20 is right next door. The breakfast included was nothing special, but it served it's purpose. This may be my new 'go to' hotel while staying in the area, if I can get a decent price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here recently with family in a king suite. The room was clean bit a bit small for 2 adults and 2 kids. Great breakfast with many choices. Check-in was quick and friendly. Front desk person on duty actually asked how to pronounce my last name instead of just using my first name. Easy access to freeway.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Stayed here 1 night recently with family of 4 in a king suite with sofa bed. Room was clean but a bit cramped for 4 (2 adults and 2 kids). Elevators were quick considering the hotel was full. Breakfast was good and provided the perfect start to the day. Plenty of options for everyone, including my wife who has a soy allergy. Check-in was fast and friendly. Kim was working the desk when we arrived and she came around to the front to present our room key and give directions to the elevators and to our room once we got to our floor. Nice touch that I have not experienced at any hotel previously. Very welcoming! I would rate this hotel with 5 stars, but I have to deduct 1 star because the drapes in out room would not close all the way and afforded lots of light leaking into the room from parking lot lights and sunrise in the morning. Needless to say, our kids did not need to use the night light they packed.

Access to and from the freeway was easy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b_konieczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livonia
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit Northville
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Livonia
Comfort Inn Livonia
#5 of 15 in Livonia
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia

Property: Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
Address: 19300 Haggerty Rd, Livonia, MI 48152-1076 (Formerly "AmeriSuites Detroit / Livonia")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Livonia
#3 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia Hotel Livonia
Hyatt Place Livonia
Hyatt Place Detroit Livonia
Hyatt Livonia
Livonia Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing