We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but no Perks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Detroit Marriott Livonia
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed two days with husband and daughter. King w/rollaway $89 AAA rate. Ok but: sliding door was unlocked entire time and we did not know it (we should have checked this upon arrival); no complementary breakfast or tea/coffee; room tiny and air circulation substandard (perhaps why sliding door was unlocked?) and filter register was filthy, which is probably why I woke up with a severe headache. Staff very nice, though.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Heather and family;

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay. Our housekeeping and engineering team pride themselves on a very thorough guest room inspection and unfortunately we missed the mark with your guest room. Regarding your rate, AAA does offer a special weekend rate that is inclusive of a full hot breakfast buffet, that offers a great savings. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for Detroit Marriott Livonia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 311 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Livonia Marriott is actually just a few miles from my home but this hotel was selected as the "base camp" for a wedding we were to attend.

We booked the room weeks in advance making check-in a smooth and easy process. The reception desk was warm and friendly.

The room itself was a nice size with a King size bed. For amenities - there was free WiFi and a flat screen TV. (I would not that the TV was not at the foot of the bed but rather alongside the side which made viewing slightly uncomfortable.) A small table/desk was also available and a couple of sitting chairs completed the room.

The biggest complaint about the room was actually the bathroom. First - no exhaust fan so the bathroom remained steamed up after a shower for a long time. Second, and more irritating was the layout of the bathroom. A very small room - so small in fact that you had to close the bathroom door in order to exit the shower. The toilet, located RIGHT NEXT to the shower prevented exiting on one end and the door covered the other end. A deal killer? Of course not - but we both found this to be inconvenient.

All of the above were minor - but my major beef was with the hotel shuttle driver!!! The hotel was initially selected because they were to provide the wedding guests with a shuttle service to a local Golf Course for the wedding and reception. The driver was short / rude, unfriendly and lacked any courtesy. He didn't care that the shuttle was going to be overbooked and that people might actually have to sit on each others lap for the drive over... "Oh well" - was the unacceptable remark!

More positives - the hotel lobby bar was nice. The selections were ample and the staff was very outgoing and friendly.

The morning buffet was very good!! They feature an omelet bar that prepared fresh omelets to your specifications. The buffet had EXTRA LARGE sausage and bacon of varying degrees of crispiness. The Belgium waffles were made more tasty by the fresh whipped cream and warmed maple syrup.

Check out was simple and easy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MI_Michael_48154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2013

Dear Michael;

Thank you kindly for your candid and thoughtful assessment of our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia. I am thrilled you mentioned our staff's positive and welcoming demeanor both at the front desk ad the bar. I am also pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet, it is a popular favorite locally and especially on special weekends such as Easter, Mother's Day and Father's Day. What was disappointing was the lack of empathy or concern the shuttle driver had for it's guests. Certainly they are not associates of the Detroit Marriott Livonia but are our partner and reflect on your perception of you stay. I have discussed your experience with the co-owner of this company and he would like very much to learn more about your experience so that he can ensure it does not happen again. On this transportation companys behalf I will be sending you a private message to capture additional information. Please know we both greatly value your comments and yes, even your concerns, as both help us to provide our guests with the best experience.

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I recently stayed at this Marriott and I am shocked by the reviews I am reading about the greeting from the front desk! I checked in there along with 2 other co-workers and from beginning to end the staff was Absolutely magnificent! The hotel is a little older and can use a bit of updating, so I'd give the hotel itself an average rating, but I give the staff an excellent rating! This must be a whole new staff, from the ones being rated by some of these reviews.

I ate at the restaurant in the hotel and it was pretty good. Not 5 star quality or price, but good and the staff there was great as well. Plus you can get to the mall next door via the hotel, so lots of choices for places to eat!

Room Tip: The staff in the concierge lounge were super nice, but the lounge itself isn't really worth goin...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmelissaprentice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Melissa211 from Kennesaw ~ thank you for your honest assessment of our hotel, the Detroit Marriott Livonia. We truly appreciate you taking the time to put your thoughts in action. I know you had mentioned comments regarding our front desk staff and while although the staff has not changed recently we continue to educate new associates and review and remind all our associates of the importance of recognizing, appreciating and being responsive. Your review as well as the many others received help us to keep focus. Thank you once again, we do truly value and appreciate your comments.

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Staff was not friendly when we arrived. We had to spell our name three times for her to look up the reservation-it must be the southern accent. She forgot our breakfast tickets which we purchased when we made the reservation online-so we had to go back down and get them. A little after midnight someone was running up and down our hall screaming-which woke my wife up. When she called the front desk to let them know she was cut off in mid sentence and told they were sending up security.
The walls must be really thin as well because we could hear people at the pool from our room which was down from the pool area-and four floors up. There were still a lot of people at the pool around 10:30 and 11:00-and we could hear them in our room. The decor of the room was nice and it was clean, but we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannah_Living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Senior Contributor to TripAdvisor; Thank you for providing us with the personal insight into your guest experience. We deeply regret that you did not receive a warm and inviting welcome and/or the recognition you deserve. Your review has been shared with our Executive Committee and while although we always try to make all our guests feel welcome unfortunately in this case we did not succeed. It is our hope, through your own personal experience, that we focus better on practicing the Marriott core principles: Listen, Empathize, Apologize, Respond and Notify.

Our sincere apologies,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very nice hotel. Easy access and in a nice area. It is close to downtown Detroit. The rooms were updated, and had very comfortable beds,with nice amenities. There is a very good restaurant on site. The drinks were reasonably priced. Our only criticism is that the pool was very small for such a nice hotel. Great price.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor or above.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynn57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Traverse City Traveler;
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to provide fellow travelers with a personal perspective of your stay here at the Detroit Marriott Livonia and are grateful to you, as well as all of our reviewers, as it helps us to stay on point in regards to our guests needs. Please know we greatly value your loyalty and support and hope to have the pleasure of serving as your host hotel when in the Detroit area.

Sincerely,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited the Marriott Livonia for three nights recently. To begin as I walked to the reception desk two employees stood in stone silence staring at me, I broke the ice by giving them my name and saying that I had a reservation. When I asked if this was the way to welcome a guest they both apologized. I am a seemingly normal looking 70-year-old male, yet felt as if I had one eye in the middle of my face. The room was on the small side and the a/c drowned out any attempt at conversation and the TV. The vent fan in the bathroom did not work causing foggy mirrors and worse. On our second day, our room was not made up when we returned at 4 pm and it took two calls and a visit to the front desk to get it done. We ordered their special, “bucket of four beers" and it took room service over one hour to deliver; on complaint they "comped" the beer. This hotel abuts Laurel Park Mall, which is very convenient for shopping, and a variety of restaurants and parking is convenient. I would not return given the apparent lack of training of the staff and negligence in providing the basics of a mid priced hotel.

Room Tip: Read hotel reviews on Tripadvisor, which I did not for this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Florida guest;

First and foremost I would like to apologize on behalf of the staff of the Detroit Marriott Livonia. Their lack of enthusiasm and luke warm welcome does not meet our expectations and we are deeple disappointed that you were not greated in a more receptive and friendly manner. I have forwarded your comments to our Executive Management team and they wll be reviewed and discussed this Wednesday, with action steps in place to improve. Please know we do greatly value your business but even more your comments as it helps us to ensure our guests receive the best possible service.

Our sincere apologies.
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our organization holds an annual conference at the Marriott. Their snack service and lunches regularly draw rave reviews from our audience. The quality of the restaurant and their group rates have resulted in more people showing up the night before the conference which has allowed casual informal networking the night before which has made our business meetings much more successful.

Their location is blocks from the intersection of two major interstate highways. One leads to downtown Detroit and the other goes to Detroit Metropolitan Airport and the state capital. We feel that their convenient location has increased our attendance.

The staff here has always been very helpful which makes it easier to run a large conference. The only problem we have had was with the temperature in the meeting rooms, but they were quick to correct the problem.

We attended a Sunday morning party there and the guests served themselves from the hotel breakfast buffet. We live nearby and it has become a favorite even when we are not staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Retired_Boater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DBastianelli, Director of Sales at Detroit Marriott Livonia, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear "Retired Boater";
On behalf of the staff of the Detroit Marriott Livonia, I would like to thank you for your thoughtful review of our hotel. It is certainly important to execute a successful event, but to do so time and time again can often be challenging and we appreciate your recognition of our efforts to service our guests needs. It is our focus to continually "do more better" and it is often through the eyes of our customers that we are truly able to understand their needs and accomplish this task. We are grateful for your continued loyalty and support not only of our hotel, but also of our restaurant, Sweet Loraine's, and hope you know, we never take this for granted.

In appreciation,
Danielle Bastianelli
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Livonia
0.2 mi away
Hospitality Hotel
Hospitality Hotel
#3 of 15 in Livonia
416 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Livonia
Comfort Inn Livonia
#8 of 15 in Livonia
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Detroit Marriott Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott Livonia

Address: 17100 Laurel Park Drive North, Livonia, MI 48152-2651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Livonia
#4 Family Hotel in Livonia
Price Range: $122 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott Livonia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Detroit Marriott Livonia is conveniently located near all of Detroit's major expressways and is easily accessible to downtown Detroit, Ann Arbor, and Southeast Michigan. Our on site transportation providers will be happy to extend our discount to you when traveling to Detroit's Metro Airport, a mere 18 miles from our hotel. Connected to Laurel Park Mall our hotel is just steps away from a variety of dining and entertainment options. Once inside the Detroit Marriott Livonia hotel you will enjoy guestrooms and suites featuring luxurious down comforters and duvets, HD flat screen TV's and recently upgraded wireless internet. Treat yourself to relaxing diversions in our indoor pool, whirlpool and extensive fitness center. Our on site restaurant and home town favorite Sweet Lorraine's is sure to please your palate with it use of organic and locally grown catering fare. Discover the finest of Detroit's hotels in Livonia, Michigan - at the full service Detroit Marriott Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Detroit Marriott Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott Livonia Hotel Livonia
Marriott Livonia
Livonia Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing