We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly and Dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Livonia
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Smelly and Dirty”
Reviewed March 24, 2007

My room had a funky smell. The maid forgot clean the room one day. The carpet was nasty to walk on. The bathroom floor was sticky. Stay away!

  • Liked — internet connection
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BizTravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia_Gen_Mgr, General Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, April 30, 2009
Dear BizTravel01,
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We apologize that your experience at our hotel was not consistent with our high standards. We would like you to know that a new management team is in place, the hotel is newly remodeled, and our staff is dedicated to promptly resolving guest complaints. It is by learning from our guest's experience that we can continue to improve. Please come experience our transformation next time you are in the Detroit/Livonia area.
Sincerely,
General Manager, Livonia Comfort Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    61
    27
    10
    10
See reviews for
55
39
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2007

This hotel is in slight disrepair. Some of the wallpaper was bubbling up on the walls, the carpet was worn, but not worn out, and the toilets in two of the three rooms we rented were crooked, which made for an interesting experience!
BUT! The rooms were extremely clean (I used to be a hotel room inspector for Hoilday Inn, so I look CLOSELY!) and comfortable. I loved the queen sized beds. The bedding looked new, and the pillows were nice and fluffy. The front desk staff were wonderful, from the time I made my reseravtions til the time we checked out.
When I asked if the price the young man quoted me was the best he could do, he gave me a nice discount since I reserved three rooms. They even loaned us a corkscrew! The only complaint was with the woman who stocks the breakfast in the morning. She was VERY unfriendly and downright rude.
It's the breakfast that really makes this place stand out. Hot, freshly made waffles, omlettes, bagels, fruit, cereal, croissants, two or three kinds of juice, and even a pitcher of ice water--my favorite in the morning!
All in all, it was a nice place to stay. Nothing fancy, but easy to get to and there's even a fabulous beer and liquor across the street.!!
I'd stay again with no hesitation.

  • Liked — The front desk staff and the great breakfast!
  • Disliked — The woman who stocks the breakfast---RUDE!!!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sierrawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2003

My stay at this hotel was comfortable, the service we received was great, everyone was helpful & freindly, and I would recommend this hotel to others!

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 14, 2003

Stayed for family emergency. Staff was very freindly and helpful. Directions were given efficentlly and accuratally. I enjoyed being able to have a meal without leaving the hotel. Not being from the area we found the staff invaluable.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 2, 2002

This has been the worst hotel stay I have ever had. When we checked in, we noticed bugs in the room (earwigs) and a nest of them behind the dresser, along with a cigarette butt (this was a non smoking room). We requested to be moved to another room. The next morning, we noticed there was used soap in the tub and a used coffee filter in the coffee maker. When we left for the day and came back, the cleaning staff left us no wash cloths. We complained to a manager. The second day we were there, we requested tickets to an attraction (each room and the lobby had cards that said "get your tickets here") but we were told that those were only for people who reserved in advance. We complained to the manager, who said "oh, I thought those little cards looked so cute in the rooms, but I never read them". We will never stay in this hotel again, as we emailed them about 8 times and they only answered twice, they are very unfriendly and this hotel in Livonia was very "unsanitary" as far as we are concerned. In addition to a very poor stay, the "customer service" people do not know how to treat a customer.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, September 22, 2003
In reply to anonymous Erie, Pennsylvania posting. The events leading to our guest's unfortunate experience during their stay is most regrettable. While leaving items behind in a clean guestroom made available for another guest is unacceptable, I can assure that this was the exception not the rule. There is no excuse for providing a valued guest with anything less than a perfect experience.The Comfort Inn Livonia management and staff are committed to quality service. Our dedication to guest satisfaction has enabled us to achieve the Choice Hotel International's Bronze Customer Service Award. In addition, the hotel holds a AAA "Three Diamond" rating, something we are proud of. The fact remains that for all of our success, we cannot lose sight of the importance of quality service to all of our valued guests. Meeting the needs of each and every guest is our Mission Statement. To achieve this goal takes pride and persistance in focusing on all aspects of service.Understanding and appreciating our guest's needs along with attention to detail bring a guest service consistency that the Comfort Inn Livonia can be proud of.On behalf of the staff and myself, I would like to extend our hospitality. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, you can rely on the management and staff for exceptional service as well as comfortable lodging. Spend your evening in one of our comfortably appointed traditional rooms, or enjoy yourself in a relaxing whirlpool in the privacy of your own room.Special amenities include an exceptional Complimentary Continental Breakfast cafe. Room service is also offered as an added convenience. The hotel also offers a 24-hour exercise room, on premise guest laundry, On Demand movie selections, VCR's in all rooms along with many other amenities designed to bring convenience to your stay. The Comfort Inn Livonia invites you to see just how we stand above the rest, and why customer service is our "Primary Goal"David C.Kidd General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Livonia hotels
4.8 mi away
Hospitality Hotel
Hospitality Hotel
#3 of 15 in Livonia
402 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Banquet Center
5.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crossland Economy Studios - Detroit - Livonia
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
4.8 mi away
Detroit Marriott Livonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Livonia

Property: Comfort Inn Livonia
Address: 29235 Buckingham Avenue, Livonia, MI 48154-4573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livonia
#6 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Livonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn hotel in Livonia is at the crossroads of southeast Michigan, just off Interstate 96 and Middlebelt Road. Downtown Detroit, Detroit Metropolitan,Wayne County Airport, Ann Arbor and Oakland County are all easily accessible from this Livonia Michigan hotel. During your stay, explore the award-winning cultural attractions of the Henry Ford Museum, the Detroit Institute of Arts and the Fox Theatre. Enjoy world-class shopping and dining at Twelve Mile Crossing at Fountain Walk in Novi, Fairland Town Center and Laurel Park Place mall. Sports enthusiasts can catch one of Detroit's fine professional sports teams in action at The Palace at Auburn Hills (Detroit Postons), Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Redwings), Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers) and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). Our peaceful suburban location is freeway close, but nestled in a quiet residential enclave, perfect when visiting friends and family or relaxing after a long productive day. Our hotel is just minutes away from fine dining, shopping, parks and world famous cultural attractions. An unforgettable destination for both leisure and business travel, come and discover the Comfort Inn Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Livonia Hotel Livonia
Livonia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing