We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Livonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn Livonia
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

I read a couple reviews after I had made reservation that made me a little nervous about hotel conditions.But was pleasantly surprised by how really nice this hotel is.Everything from hotel lobby to room was clean and smelled great(no stale smoke smell). Bed was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Will definitely be staying here again when we go to Detroit Tiger games. Only 25 minutes from Comerica Park and Ford Field.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smd9572016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff strive to deliver the best overall experience for our guest's. The hotel's location is very convenient to take in a Tiger's game and enjoy all of the activities in the Detroit area. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    60
    23
    8
    8
See reviews for
51
37
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Okay I didn't really stay at this hotel bc I live in novi witch is 10miles away so I was on a bike ride and my phone died so I went to the front desk of this hotel and also my dad owns two comfort inns one in atlanta and one in Augusta Georgia and it was really beatiful and I asked the most friendliest hotel clerk Delano to charge my phone and he was nice

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris69409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Chris,
The staff and management are always looking for ways to assist each of our guests; and in your case a fellow Choice family member. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us in the near future and we are certain that you will enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for 6 days here and the front desk and manger were very helpful, while the room service personnel were only fair. Every time we had a problem the front desk addressed it but we had things going on every day with room service, dirty sheets not changed, no towels being delivered to the room, trash not emptied. We plan to return only because of the manager and his attempt to take care of our concerns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
The hotel management and staff take great pride in exceeding all of our guest's expectations and we are pleased that your stay was great. We will be certain to pass on your feedback to the management & staff and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Livonia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was a bit hard to find as we initially went to the other "easier-to-find" Comfort Inn in Livonia. The hotel sign out by the main road was not lit at night making it more of a challenge to find. I reported it to management but it was still unlit during our second day of stay. Also, the covering over the main hotel entrance did not have the lights turned on either. Our room key did not always work properly and had to exchange it once with front desk. On the positive side, the room was clean, well appointed with 2 queen size beds and 4 pillows per bed and a Jacuzzi tub. The beds were good and the WiFi worked without any problems. The breakfast was very good with a large variety of items including some fresh hot eggs and sausage. Overall we were pleased with our stay and would stay again. Would give 5 stars next time if they fix outdoor lighting issues.

Room Tip: Booked with Expedia for our best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedGoat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for sending us your comments regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff strive to deliver the best overall experience for our guest's. The issues mentioned in your review have been resolved and we look forward to delivering a 5 star experience on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is older and there is a bit of wear that needs attention, little things like the faceplate around the bathroom door handle being loose, but nothing major that we could see. The staff is absolutely outstanding! My flight was delayed and my boyfriend (who had driven in) was already in town. 1 call to the front desk and he was able to check in early on my reservation (thank you Mark!). We really appreciated this since I finally arrived at 1:30 am! Every employee we encountered was incredibly helpful and friendly. They made us feel so very welcome. The advance purchase price made this hotel $20-30 less than others in the area so I was very pleased with the cost savings. The bed was comfortable, we always appreciate a mini fridge and microwave and I must say this hotel seemed quieter than other comparably priced places I have stayed. This hotel will definitely be our #1 choice for overnight stays near the Detroit airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Michelle,
We thank you for the kind words expressed regarding your stay with us and we will be sure to pass them on to Mark. The hotel staff takes great pride in delivering exceptional customer service and we appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again when you visit Livonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The staff were friendly and wanted to be helpful. Bathroom was very nice. Small issues eventually added up over our 3-day stay. The room appeared clean, but we found an empty plastic pop/soda bottle and a bent up bottle cap on the floor. Housekeeping missed both of these items. Our 5 month old puppy was with us and the bottle cap could have been a problem if he had found it first. Closet door was locked, leaving us nowhere to hang our jackets. Shower faucet was difficult to set to hot water. Breakfast was not well stocked. Food was good, but they ran out of eggs/meat. Waffle maker (noted in the hotel's on-line description of services) was missing. (was told a customer broke it on the first day of our stay.) We chose this hotel for the breakfast. Next time we'll pick a hotel closer to our venue.

Room Tip: It seems that the rooms with the whirlpool baths are the ones that do not have refrigerator/microwav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadreLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Lisa,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. The hotel management and staff work diligently to exceed all of our guest's expectations and we apologize that we were unable to deliver 100% satisfaction. We can assure you that all of the issues mentioned have been completely resolved and we look forward to another chance to deliver the best overall hotel experience during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was very disappointed with my stay at this particular Comfort Inn. I've stayed at many Comfort Inns over the years, and this was one of the worst.

First off all, the window to my room was left open. Normally, this would not be an issue, but there was no screen. I later noticed that my room was full of insects (mainly mosquitoes). I think the staff should be mindful of such things. If there are no screens, don't leave the windows open.

The next point: the pillows are lumpy. I am not extremely picky about pillows... but the pillows at this hotel were exceptionally bad... to the point that it was hard to sleep.

It was clear that the room had been renovated within the last 5 years or so, but the cleaning was not up-to-par. I found multiple hairs in the shower.

In the morning, I also went to pour myself a glass of water from a pitcher in the lobby. I quickly noticed that there were black specs floating in the water. I then went for hot water to make tea, but the water was luke warm.

The positive points are that the gym is relatively well-equipped, that the hotel is centrally located and the staff is friendly (just apparently not very attentive to the upkeep of the hotel).

Overall, I recommend avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sdglobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Investorshm, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn Livonia, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your stay with us. The issues mentioned in your review have been completely resolved and we look forward to your next stay with us when your travels take you to the Detroit area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Livonia
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel
5.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Detroit Livonia
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Banquet Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Detroit/Livonia
5.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Livonia/Novi
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Plymouth
Comfort Inn Plymouth
#1 of 5 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Livonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Livonia

Property: Comfort Inn Livonia
Address: 29235 Buckingham St, Livonia, MI 48154-4573
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Livonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Livonia
#6 Business Hotel in Livonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Livonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn hotel in Livonia is at the crossroads of southeast Michigan, just off Interstate 96 and Middlebelt Road. Downtown Detroit, Detroit Metropolitan,Wayne County Airport, Ann Arbor and Oakland County are all easily accessible from this Livonia Michigan hotel. During your stay, explore the award-winning cultural attractions of the Henry Ford Museum, the Detroit Institute of Arts and the Fox Theatre. Enjoy world-class shopping and dining at Twelve Mile Crossing at Fountain Walk in Novi, Fairland Town Center and Laurel Park Place mall. Sports enthusiasts can catch one of Detroit's fine professional sports teams in action at The Palace at Auburn Hills (Detroit Postons), Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Redwings), Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers) and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). Our peaceful suburban location is freeway close, but nestled in a quiet residential enclave, perfect when visiting friends and family or relaxing after a long productive day. Our hotel is just minutes away from fine dining, shopping, parks and world famous cultural attractions. An unforgettable destination for both leisure and business travel, come and discover the Comfort Inn Livonia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Livonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Livonia Hotel Livonia
Livonia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing