We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT service, delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thomas's Family Dining

Thomas's Family Dining
Ranked #7 of 265 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT service, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I've yet to have something here that I didn't love! What's more is that the manager is always walking around, monitoring whether people are enjoying what they ordered. My dad once ordered something that was prepared in a way he didn't like. The manager insisted on making him something else and sat himself down at my parents' table until my dad let him. I once had something that was a little bit cold (not unsafe, just not appetizing). I told my waiter and they took it off my bill. Definitely no need for that--I just wanted it warmed up a little.

I especially love their burgers and fries. I can usually eat a lot, but the brioche buns on their burgers are very rich and make the burger challenging to finish.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank freakthegeekout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    3
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“awesome place..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

staff was friendly, and food was amazing. got the trio all was fresh and would be my first choice if got back to area. decor was nice and restaurant was clean..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We use to go here for breakfast every Sunday untill we found the Olympic Restaurant in Westland.
I couldn't order a omlet or skillet breakfast with the exact ingredients I wanted , becuase they have them pre-prepared on Sundays, so we started looking elseware.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“I like this place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Ordered the half broasted chicken with fries and slaw and a salad. Salad was very good definitely above average. The slaw was very good too. Fries were good. The chicken is what I call lightly fried chicken. Very juicy and flavorful. Finally my service was excellent.

I can see why this place is so highly rated. I give it a 4 overall because this was my first time to visit. I am an out of towner so I won't be able to repeat. I have a feeling this could be a 5.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike60984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia MI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just a great place for a meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Never been disappointed with a meal at Thomas's, from breakfast to lunch or dinner. And while I'm not a soup person, will very often choose a soup here because they are all home made and vary daily. Monday the special is Cheeseburger soup and it is excellent.
Portions are generous, prices are reasonable, service is excellent. The staff is honestly friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thomas's Family Dining also viewed

 

Been to Thomas's Family Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing