We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Good As It Was”

Senate Coney Island
Ranked #21 of 268 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Greek, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Boston
Level Contributor
519 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Not As Good As It Was”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

As an aficionado of Detroit style "coneys", this one falls short. They used to be better. I think they have changed the hot dog and chili that they use. The dog does not have the natural casing which gives a "snap" when bitten. The chili sauce is too weak on spice. Service was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Eagle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    23
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“FAST, Friendly and Fantastic Food”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Many coney island restaurants have slopped together food filled with lots and lots of grease. Senate is known for its freshness. Salads are crisp and vegetables are flavorful. I ordered the eggs and gyro meat for breakfast and it was delish. Fantastic spinach pie and delectable rice pudding for dessert. Ask for something prepared a little differently and they will try their best to accommodate. This is also a fantastic alternative for the local area for delivery at lunch time. You don't have to stick with the fast food route; if you want fresh food fast, call for Senate delivery. Just watch your carry out and delivery orders. They are so busy that there are times that your order is not complete. Watch for it. Call and they will make it right but if you just check before-hand it makes it easier.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAJ415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best coneys in Michigan”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

I have tried them all including the downtown options, and I find the senate to be the tastiest. Great chili, fries are homemade daily, and the staff is very friendly. I drive 15-20 minutes out of my way to frequent this place. My daughter loves the strawberry French toast!

Helpful?
Thank justinblack1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level Contributor
108 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great late night meal!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

It was late and snowy and we didn't realize that they were closing not too long after we arrived! They were all so gracious and made sure they were completely taken care of! I will return when I come back to Michigan1

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Coneys”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for a good coney dog, this is the place. They use "real cheese" on the chili cheese fries, not the canned nacho cheese. Food and service was great. Excellent rice pudding and coconut cream pie.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clarkgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Senate Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing