We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of J Alexander's Restaurant

J Alexander's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 265 Restaurants in Livonia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Woodhaven, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great steak great sides great bread great drinks. That's best way to describe what you will recieve when going here. Employes are very professional and smiling Food is cooked to order and the baked potatoes are awesome. Love coming here

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Drod2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    101
    23
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

J Alexander’s was very busy during both times I visited for dinner. After I put my name in with the hostess, I got a pager and headed for the bar. I highly recommend doing this while waiting. Get a glass of good wine or craft beer and watch the people. It could take as long as an hour to get seated so be patient; it is worth the wait! I suggest starting off with the deviled eggs appetizer and a bowl of Jim’s spicy gumbo. The prime rib med rare was very good on both visits. Don’t forget the horseradish sauce. The warm carrot cake dessert is also very good, but extremely rich. I’ll definitely return again for either business or pleasure.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Had dinner for seven. We had no reservations. We were seated promptly and the atmosphere was quiet so we could talk and listen. All meals were excellent and the service was superb. We originally were going to another restaurant (Champs) but it was to noisy to talk.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Partyslut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Want a good steak?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Every time I'm in the area, I visit this restaurant. I'm travelling a lot all over the world, but this place is one of my favourite's.
Almost always crowded, you should call them before going - there's no reservation, but they'll put you on the list.
The stake with mac&cheese is probably the best I've ever had and the burgers are really good as well. You HAVE TO try the "very best chocolate cake", it's truly amazing :)
The service level is exceptional and quick.
Can't wait my next trip...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Biguss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classy but not pretentious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

The food and service is fantastic. The burgers are the best we've ever had. They grind the beef fresh every hour or so. The Alex salad is amazing too with what I'm sure can't be a healthy Ranch dressing. You will have a hard time running low on your beverage as they keep close tabs on you.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2livoniatravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing