We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lousy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Royal Choice Collection Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln Park
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Hotel has had 4 names in last 5 years (Motown Inn, Magnuson, Sleep Inn, and, now Super 8). Beware, big sign on building still says Sleep Inn, while a plastic "Super 8" banner has been placed over the lit-up sign at street level--apparently no one that works there has figured out that, at night, the banner becomes translucent, and so says 'Sleep Inn'. Staff clueless--no concept of customer service. Room dirty--housekeeping appears not to have been trained in the day-to-day requirements of their jobs. Breakfast a joke--some reviews have mentioned eggs (what eggs?), and waffles (what waffles?), but don't believe them. To be fair, they say it's a continental breakfast, and I'm not really bothered; just didn't want anyone to be looking forward to eggs and waffles and find there are none. On the second morning, at about 9:10 (breakfast goes to 10am), there were 2 (small) yoghurts, some last bits of cereal at the bottom of the dispenser (hmmm--how often does that get cleaned?), no coffee, and exactly 3 pieces of white bread, for one's toasting pleasure.

Weird crowd--I'm guessing (and I could be wrong) that the hotel is used as a sort of short-term shelter or something--there seemed to be a lot of women with a lot of kids around all the time--in the lobby, in the pool, in the hallways--and they didn't look like vacationers, if you know what I mean. I'm pretty sure they weren't there on business, but it may have been that a few of the mom's were conducting business(!!).

We went, we slept, we left. It's cheap, but you really get what you pay for, in this case.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank numbersix6six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 139 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2012

What a waste of money . Lets start with the positive the clerk at check in was polite. Now for the negative there was left over food in the refrigerator , the remote for the tv was taped together , the air conditioner would shut off after a couple of minutes . I understand that this is not a 5 star hotel but for the money I spent(65) i would expect this hotel not to be such a dump. DO NOT stay here. If you really want through your money away through your money out the window an sleep in your car it will be more comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jms449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

1 star at best. paper thin walls and floors mean you'll hear all the other guests TV's and parties all night, I did at 1am and 4am. uncomfortable beds, carpets threadbare, crummy towels, cigarette burns on much of the furniture. all the hallways smell like pot smoke (even though it's a non-smoking hotel?). Only good thing was the WiFi was free and it actually worked. Oh and Kroger is 1 block away for groceries. checked out of this 1 star motel after 1 night and got the H##L outta this dump

Room Tip: rooms facing the front parking lot will at least keep you opposite the freight train tracks directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndySMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in a king jacuzzi room. It was very nice with lots of space and a very comfortable jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. It also had a mini fridge/micro. The room was clean.

The pool area was very dirty. The water in the pool was cloudy, even when no one was in it. The sauna was a disaster with food, trash, cigarette butts, and ANTS on the floor. Some of the wooden slats were broken and most were dirty.

The service was friendly, however, they seemed to allow children to run all over the place unsupervised, including the pool and sauna. The children had left chips/crumbs/ice cubes scattered all over in the hallways and no one stopped them or cleaned it up.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alphapandora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Well, we were suppose to stay there on July 8th and 9th as we watch the hydroplane races in Detroit during that time. We stayed there the previous year and everything was very nice. At that time it was called Sleep Inn. We decided it was the perfect place to call home for two days every year so we could go and watch the hydroplane races. As luck would have it this year my wife was very ill and had to go to the ER two days prior to our arrival and and it was not a good situation. We did not even think about canceling as we had much bigger things to worry about. To make a long story short we were no shows at this hotel. They decided it would be a good time to double charge us as well. So I called and explained the situation to the staff and was told that they would return our call when they found out what the problem was. Those return calls NEVER happened. I had to call and call and finally a woman named June said that she has no record of the double billing, So I had to print out bank records and fax it to her (2 bucks plus drive to fax machine). Four days later we got our money. I am thinking they hired Elmer Fudd as their accountaint. So bottom line is this. Hotel is nice or we would never have booked it. Staff needs work on customer retention and customer relations. They lost our business over 75 bucks. Medical emergency? Too bad. They will get their money.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Boome83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights in August.
The room was big and the bed very comfortale.
Everthing was very clean, and we enjoyed the fitness room, the swimming pool and the breakfast.
Quiet atmosphere even although the train and the street is very near.
We would stay again in this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ladybird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

My family was on vacation in NW Michigan and on the way home decided to visit the Henry Ford Museum. I picked up a Henry Ford brochure at a rest area and my wife called several places to get a room/museum package deal that they had listed. We needed to book the hotel room for that night for a visit to the museum the next day.

After a few failed attempts she managed to book us in the Sleep Inn. AAA rates this as 3 stars. I would say 2 stars is more realistic.

The room was ok but could have been cleaned better. We found a used tissue (from a nose, we think) under the bedspread in one of the beds and some hair in the bathtub. The carpet needed updating.

The mattress on our bed was worn out and the pillow was useless.

The breakfast bar was ok - waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, assorted rolls/breads, and cold sausage (someone else mentioned this).

We also had a room near the train tracks but only 2 trains passed and only one overnight. I couldn't sleep anyway due to the condition of the bed and pillow so it did not matter.

It's ok to stay here - just check your room out and ask for another if needed.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bsktgrvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln Park
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Allen Park
122 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Melvindale
3.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Detroit Southgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village
2.0 mi away
Best Western Greenfield Inn
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Detroit / Southgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Choice Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Choice Collection Hotel

Address: 1805 John a Papalas Dr, Lincoln Park, MI 48146-1465 (Formerly Detroit - Lincoln Park Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln Park
Price Range: $73 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Choice Collection Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is minutes from downtown with convienent access to professional sports arenas, historic museums, and world-class casinos. All rooms feature free WiFi, hair dryer, in-room coffee, iron & ironing board and a microwave & refrigerator. This hotel offers free continental breakfast, an indoor pool, sauna, fitness center on-site, and a designated pet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Royal Choice Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lincoln Park
Lincoln Park Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing