We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Lincoln Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln Park
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

Well, we were suppose to stay there on July 8th and 9th as we watch the hydroplane races in Detroit during that time. We stayed there the previous year and everything was very nice. At that time it was called Sleep Inn. We decided it was the perfect place to call home for two days every year so we could go and watch the hydroplane races. As luck would have it this year my wife was very ill and had to go to the ER two days prior to our arrival and and it was not a good situation. We did not even think about canceling as we had much bigger things to worry about. To make a long story short we were no shows at this hotel. They decided it would be a good time to double charge us as well. So I called and explained the situation to the staff and was told that they would return our call when they found out what the problem was. Those return calls NEVER happened. I had to call and call and finally a woman named June said that she has no record of the double billing, So I had to print out bank records and fax it to her (2 bucks plus drive to fax machine). Four days later we got our money. I am thinking they hired Elmer Fudd as their accountaint. So bottom line is this. Hotel is nice or we would never have booked it. Staff needs work on customer retention and customer relations. They lost our business over 75 bucks. Medical emergency? Too bad. They will get their money.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Boome83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    14
    25
    49
See reviews for
50
19
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Konstanz, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed in this hotel for a few nights in August.
The room was big and the bed very comfortale.
Everthing was very clean, and we enjoyed the fitness room, the swimming pool and the breakfast.
Quiet atmosphere even although the train and the street is very near.
We would stay again in this hotel!

  • Liked — the size of the room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ladybird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

My family was on vacation in NW Michigan and on the way home decided to visit the Henry Ford Museum. I picked up a Henry Ford brochure at a rest area and my wife called several places to get a room/museum package deal that they had listed. We needed to book the hotel room for that night for a visit to the museum the next day.

After a few failed attempts she managed to book us in the Sleep Inn. AAA rates this as 3 stars. I would say 2 stars is more realistic.

The room was ok but could have been cleaned better. We found a used tissue (from a nose, we think) under the bedspread in one of the beds and some hair in the bathtub. The carpet needed updating.

The mattress on our bed was worn out and the pillow was useless.

The breakfast bar was ok - waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, assorted rolls/breads, and cold sausage (someone else mentioned this).

We also had a room near the train tracks but only 2 trains passed and only one overnight. I couldn't sleep anyway due to the condition of the bed and pillow so it did not matter.

It's ok to stay here - just check your room out and ask for another if needed.

  • Liked — Package deal / price for Henry Ford complex
  • Disliked — needs new bedding, and cleanliness was a slight concern
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsktgrvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

The room was clean, the lobby welcoming, the staff helpful, and the breakfast buffet was great: waffles, cereal, sausage, eggs, toast, OJ, bagels, fruit. Almost everything you could want in a hotel.

But, as the realtors say: "Location, location, location!" My room on the east side was only 60 feet from an active freight train line that got used at least twice per night. And I don't mean Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends here - I'm talking heavy, clanking, mile long freight trains with horns that can be heard in Canada. The ground (and building) shakes. I stayed for 5 nights and got to know the schedule really well: 9:30 -10 pm, 12:30 - 1:00 am, 6-6:30 am. And it's not just the rumbling that wakes you. Conveniently located at the north end of the hotel parking lot is an at ground level, ungated railroad crossing. (See photo) That means the trains must blow their whistles as they approach. After a double shot of the train whistle, the rumbling is quiet by comparison.

I would only recommend the Sleep Inn if you are an extremely sound sleeper and are not frightened by things that go bump in the night - or if you are staying one night and get a good deal. But, at full prices, this is not a reasonable choice.

The hotel is conveniently located next to I-75 so it is just a quick trip to Cobo Hall. There are plenty of restaurants and a Krogers nearby if you need a midnight snack .

Lupin

  • Liked — The breakfast buffet, and a super internet connection
  • Disliked — The Midnight Train to Georgia
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lupinsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lincoln Park hotels

West Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2007

The previous reviewer who mentioned Aaron, the front desk clerk, was absolutely right. He's a really nice guy who's working for a bummer of a hotel. Yeah, it was cheaper than most everything else around, but we had a freight train outside our window, a VERY noisy spot in the hotel (I heard conversations in the hall at about 7:00 a.m.), the pool was being painted (a huge disappointment to my kids) and the breakfast area was barely navigable with all the people in it, and not an empty seat in the whole room! The sausage was ice cold. (To be fair, I didn't expect sausage at the "continental" breakfast, so I guess it was a wash.) The bathroom floor was dirty in our room, too. (And if you can SEE the dirt, what are you NOT seeing?) It wasn't the very worst hotel we've seen, but we probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Liked — Price?
  • Disliked — Just wasn't a great hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

I stayed at this hotel and arrived quite late. I was greeted by a gentleman named Aaron at the front desk. He was quite polite and assisted me with figuring out my plans to Henry Ford Museum that day. This hotel was small, but it was nice, and I've never had such a good experience with front desk clerk. Just goes to show you that the small hotels still have the personal touch. Thank you Aaron. You made my stay wonderful.

  • Liked — The Great Staff
  • Disliked — By Train Tracks
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ridor110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor mi
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2007

good hotel for the price, nice rooms low price

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tygerhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lincoln Park
2.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Melvindale
4.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit Southwest-Taylor
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Allen Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greenfield Inn
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southgate - Heritage Center
5.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Detroit – Dearborn/Greenfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Lincoln Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Lincoln Park

Property: Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Lincoln Park
Address: 1805 John a Papalas Dr, Lincoln Park, MI 48146-1465 (Formerly Motown Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Michigan > Lincoln Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lincoln Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Lincoln Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is minutes from downtown with convienent access to professional sports arenas, historic museums, and world-class casinos. All rooms feature free WiFi, hair dryer, in-room coffee, iron & ironing board and a microwave & refrigerator. This hotel offers free continental breakfast, an indoor pool, sauna, fitness center on-site, and a designated pet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn & Suites Detroit - Lincoln Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Lincoln Park
Lincoln Park Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing