We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, clean, and charming. Absolutely perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Captain's Quarters Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Captain's Quarters Inn
Ranked #3 of 9 Lexington B&B and Inns
Waterford, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, clean, and charming. Absolutely perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

This was not my first time to Lexington, however it was was my first time to the Captain's Quarters Inn. I had heard it was the best B & B in Lexington, and it by far exceeded our expectations! I cannot say enough good things about our hosts Ron and Pat who went above and beyond to make our stay the best. The house was built a few years before the Civil War and it is very well maintained and updated without losing its original beauty. They always had lemonade, iced tea, hot tea, fresh baked cookies and other treats, and cold bottled water available to help yourself. Also plenty of coffee in the morning. The breakfasts were gorgeous and tasted as good as they looked. We had pecan encrusted french toast with an array of syrups and sausage, and eggs to order with toast and black forest ham to name a few. Always with orange juice and fresh fruit. I consider myself a little picky when it comes to my accomodations but the whole house including our room was immaculate and charming. Many areas to relax such as hammocks, rocking chairs, patio tables, gardens, common room with cable T.V. and more. I had a perfect stay and I can't wait to bring my mom for a stay, and also return with my new fiancee for years to come. Ron helped my fiancee find a resturant to propose! And Pat gave us her own itinerary for a trip around the thumb which I highly reccomend. They also gave us information of things to do and places to eat when we needed to go to Port Huron for a bank. They have everything you will need wine glasses and corkscrew, games, books, magazines, and more! It couldn't be better! They even set out a blanket and beach towels for the beach since we didn't have any. The rooms are amply stocked. Our room had a down comforter. You will enjoy your stay. It is perfect for a romantic getaway or if you just need a place to stay for a night! My fiancee and I have been all over the country and to Mexico for vacations, and he said that this was the most relaxing vacation he has ever taken while also the most fun because there is so much to do in Lexington if you choose. I would have to agree! Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleWaterford_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
45
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SF BAY AREA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I had the opportunity to get away without the kids for a couple of nights, and we're so happy we found Lexington and the Captain's Quarters Inn. We had a wonderfully relaxed, enjoyable time. Our room was peaceful, so we were able to get the rest we so desperately needed. The location couldn't have been better - 2 blocks from the village park and beach, and 2 blocks from restaurants, shops, pubs, and the beautiful music theater. The Inn's owners are great at anticipating their guests' needs and making them feel at home - thanks Ron & Pat!

  • Liked — Location, peacefulness
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFBAY_KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2007

I stayed at this B&B for three nights (two going out, one coming back) during a long motorcycle trip. The inn is spacious and very well situated (one block from downtown, two blocks from the beach) and the innkeepers, Pat and Ron, are incredibly hospitable. They insisted on putting my motorcycle in my private garage since rain overnight was possible! Breakfasts were wonderful, they gave me rags to clean my BMW, they made sure I had bottled water when I set out, they gave me maps for local rides, they insisted that I contact them to let them know I had reached my next destiination, etc. In brief, wonderful caring people. A great choice if you are touring the "thumb" of Michigan.

  • Liked — Wonderful innkeepers' hospitality
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank NorthPotomac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2007

This was our 2nd time to Lexington and to CQI...Pat and Capt Ron don't have to go out of their way to make you feel cozy and comfortable--it just comes naturally to them.

We saw our first concert at the Lex Music Theatre (The Australian Bee Gees!) and loved the venue so much we purchased tickets for 2 other concerts and booked our stays with Pat and Capt. Ron before we left!

The east coast thumb area is highly underrated and we feel we've found a hidden little gem...we're taking advantage of it before everyone else finds it!

  • Liked — Our Hosts
  • Disliked — that we only stayed one night!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michvettegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2005

We plan to return to Lexington this weekend to stay at the Captain's Quarters Inn. We felt so comfortable and welcome there. The rooms are immaculately clean and Ron and Pat Cutler, the owners, make you feel welcome but are unobtrusive. The breakfasts are delicious and ample. Lexington is a small town on Lake Huron with a marina and lots of fun shops. This weekend there is a craft fair in town and there is always something going on to entertain visitors. We enjoyed sitting on the porch and relaxing with a book. There is a tennis court just a block away and we are taking friends who love tennis too. On our previous visit we hired Captain Ron to take us to Port Huron for lunch on his boat. He has a charter boat for fishing and excursions. The Inn is just a few blocks from Lake Huron. I hightly recommend the Captain's Quarter's Inn in Lexington, Michigan.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
19.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Port Huron
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
White Feather Motel
#8 of 9 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Captain's Quarters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Captain's Quarters Inn

Property: A Captain's Quarters Inn
Address: 7277 Simons St, P.O. Box 39, Lexington, MI 48450-8650
Location: United States > Michigan > Lexington
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Captain's Quarters Inn B & B is located in beautiful downtown Lexington, Michigan on the shores of Lake Huron. We are OPEN YEAR AROUND! The B&B is a short stroll to the harbor, marinas, wineries, beaches, tennis courts, restaurants ,shopping and concerts in the lakeside park every Friday night all summer. It is also a short distance to a vineyard, a famous swinging bridge and a 36-hole golf course. A Captain's Quarters Inn is on the National and State Historical Registries. The former Governor ,Albert Sleeper, and his wife Mary were married here and enjoyed the Inn as their summer home. Many warm summer nights they enjoyed the wrap around porch.The Inn can arrange for meetings with Professional Genealogist for your assistance. Deb is qualified to perform weddings and committal ceremonies. The Innkeepers are Bill & Deb Ives. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing