We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at the Dayton House”
Review of A1 Cottage Rentals

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A1 Cottage Rentals
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nancy and I were married on 10/11/12 in Lexington, MI. We had the good fortune to secure the Dayton House for our honeymoon. It's located about a block and a half from Lake Huron, right in town. Which is quaint and everything is within walking distance.

The very moment that I walked into the Dayton House it felt like Grandma's home. Very warm and inviting, but most importantly....CLEAN! We enjoyed it so much that we have it booked for a summer vacation in 2013. There are bars and restaurants, a winery, a party store, and a grocery store all in a short walking distance of the house.

The kitchen is sufficiently stocked with cookware, dishes, and untensils. There is a small selection of DVDs and a very nice selection of music CDs to enjoy as you relax in the cozy living room. Not to mention the variety of books to enjoy, as well. There are three bedrooms. You need to bring your own sheets and pillow cases, but I prefer that anyway.There are plenty of blankets.

We loved it there and can't wait to return for our next visit.

Room Tip: A1 is who I would recommend. They are friendly, accommodating, and very knowledgeable of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duwadity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed at this clean quiet cottage in September. The fire pit was real fun. Liked being so close to the water. The owners are super nice and fulfill your every need. Can make meals here very easily. The grocery store is close,. There are cute little shops in downtown Lexington. Port Huron is an easy drive too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank julianne48375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Sailaway several times....we love waking up early morning to watch the freighters go by on Lake Huron. The Sailaway is the first house over looking the Lake and is quite beautiful! The cottage is very spacious and we particularly enjoy how clean it is each and every time we rent it. Our boys love being near the beach and we love being close to town as well. It is just over an hour ride from the city; it is a great place for family memories! John and Lucy H.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at the Sailaway....LOVED IT! We sat on the wrap around porch and watched the ships pass by for hours. The fire pit and horse shoes added to our fun. We drove by the North cottages as well. I think we will make two trips to Lexington next year. We will stay at the Sailaway on one trip and stay at one of the North cottages if available.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Rob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you want a quiet location by the water (with an awesome view!) but still close enough to a city to enjoy dinner out and some shopping, this cottage location is for you! These cottages have private beach access on Lake Huron. Each cottage has an outdoor grill for their use. A most enjoyable location for relaxing!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaroleG1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

These cottages are set in a beautiful surrounding overlooking Lake Huron. Large private beach with firepit. Nice clean cottages equipped with everything you could possibly need, but a place "all for yourself" to relax and enjoy. All amenities and only 20 miles north of Port Huron, MI., Lexington is a "fun" place -- there is always something going on, or somewhere to go. They have about 5 restaurants within a few miles, a cider mill. custard place with yummy ice cream and on Friday evenings music in the park. Lots of shops to browse around in, drug and food stores, and handy banks with ATM machines. We plan to return each summer to these cottages. It was such a nice experience and we want more of it.

Room Tip: Book your reservation early to have the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We rented Cottage #1 right on the lake for a girls getaway weekend in September. It was wonderful sitting out on the deck with the great views of the lake. Short drive into Port Huron for shopping.

My husband and I have stayed quite a few times at the cottages and have always had a wonderful time! The cottages are clean and well equipped.

Thanks Carol and John! We will keep coming back and tell all our friends about your "gems" of cottages!

R&T Clarke
Ontario, Canada

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Clarker61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A1 Cottage Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A1 Cottage Rentals

Address: 3627 Lakeshore Rd, Lexington, MI 48450-9227
Location: United States > Michigan > Lexington
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lexington
Price Range: $110 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A1 Cottage Rentals has lakefront and lake view spacious cottages with 100' of private beach on Lake Huron in the thumb of Michigan. All of our cottages have fully equipped kitchens, cable TV, a deck or porch, fire pit and a BBQ grill. We have 6 cottages north of downtown Lexington, 2 in downtown Lexington and 4 south of town. Our cottages are clean, affordable and have breath taking views of Lake Huron. Cottages book up quickly. You don't want to miss making memories in beautiful cottages on Lake Huron! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing