We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Family-Owned Inn, Odd Breakfast Set-Up”
Review of Whaleback Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Whaleback Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Leland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely Family-Owned Inn, Odd Breakfast Set-Up”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed at the Whaleback Inn with two girlfriends while on the way to Harbor Springs. Rooms are small and rustic yet tidy and clean, and many have a view of Lake Leland. Unfortunately the unseasonably cold and rainy weather didn't allow us to explore the grounds or visit the lake which is just across the street. Breakfast is served from the main house's side porch which probably works on a nice sunny day. We had to take our plates to the communal kitchenette in order to find a dry place to sit. The innkeepers are very dedicated, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Patrushka-2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    32
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
57
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
174 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Paid extra for "lake view" room. When walk in the room, see this huge tree trunk right in front of window in the center, blocking the views. You could peek from either side of tree to see the lake, but very annoying every time you look out the window trying to see the lake. You could go out and see the view, then why pay extra for the view room? I thought the rate is very high for off season too. The next room does not have blocked view, I dont know why we didnt get that room, we were the first ones to check in. Maybe save for new late arrivals so they will take the room? I missed the sunrise because of the big tree trunk blocked it. Didnt realize it until the sun was already up, very disappointing!

The vanity is outside of bathroom in the room, so when one person uses the vanity turns on lights, the other person cannot sleep. Hotel is in front of busy M-22, very noisy traffic. There is a sun deck the other side of street on the lake, just have to be very careful crossing M22. Hotel is sitting right after a sharp bend, cars are coming at 60 miles an hour you cannot see them they cannot see you. Lake is very peaceful and beautiful.

Room Tip: If you pay for lakeview room, make sure you ask for one that is NOT blocked by the big tree trunk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bobolee55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Waleback Inn was a pleasant surprise! The room was very clean with a cabin/rustic decor, comfy beds and quiet. The owners were very friendly and accommodating! The weather was not great so we were unable to truly enjoy all of the amenities. I would definetly recommend the Whaleback Inn and I know if I get back to Leland I will stay again :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We recently stayed at the Whaleback Inn on a girlfriends weekend in Michigan. Scott and Tammi, the owners, offer excellent suggestions for area restaurants and sight seeing. While we missed the full breakfast (off season), we enjoyed goodies from a local bakery. Borrowing the paddle boat, we explored Lake Leland after a hike to the summit of the nearby Whaleback trail. In room amenities include a mini-kitchen and personal deck or balcony.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripsforfamilies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Whaleback Inn is very pretty, and it was a great place to stay for a long weekend. My friends and I rented 2 rooms. We loved the big porches overlooking the water. And the continental breakfast was very fresh and nice. The rooms were very clean and comfortable.

I liked that we could walk to the dock and sit on the water. The beach is about a 5 minute drive away. Fishtown is a mile away, and was a nice place to have lunch or ice cream. This place is very quiet and close to nature. There is a nature preserve you can walk to and go on a great hike. It was a big far from Traverse City, so it's not too convenient if you want to do a lot in the city or on Mission Peninsula. It's a great place to explore Lelanau Peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erin28R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My wife and I decided last minute to go up north. Contrary to tradition, I made all the arrangements. Very risky. After quite a few calls with no luck, and feeling desperate, I made contact with Scott and was lucky to find a vacancy. What a surprise. Great location, awesome view, very clean, and Scott and Tammie were gracious and friendly hosts. It was apparent in every detail of the property that a tremendous amount of pride was taken. I was a hero with my wife and recommend The Whaleback Inn for your stay

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Like a great bed and breakfast, lots of personal touches from the owners! Excellent location, great view, nice breakfast ( cherry butter--yum!), and nice people! Would definitely return! Thanks to the owners for being so attentive!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djansen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leland
1.3 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 1 in Leland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
19.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Traverse City
18.4 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Traverse City
21.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,994 reviews
18.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
Hotel Indigo Traverse City
#20 of 40 in Traverse City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whaleback Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whaleback Inn

Property: Whaleback Inn
Address: 1757 N Manitou Trl W # M-22, Leland, MI 49654-9719
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Leland
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Leland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Whaleback Hotel Leland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing