We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place on Earth!”
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We have come to Oak Cove for the past 8 years and we love it. My whole family comes, my sister's family, my brother's family and my parents. We swim, we boat, we fish, we golf, we whiffleball, we kickball, we eat! It is the most relaxing place where we play really hard! The variety of breakfast and dinner entrees keeps even the pickiest eater satisfied! Not only is the staff friendly but the other families who come are so delightful!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahHuntFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Oak Cove Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2010

We returned from a week stay at Oak Cove Resort so relaxed. Finding this place on the internet, we had no idea what to expect, but decided we could try anything once. We were greeted by Bob and Susan and felt like we were part of their family. Our rental was on the lake by the firepit and our boys (13 and 15) enjoyed every minute of this vacation. The cabins aren't large, but we weren't there for hanging out inside! The beds were very comfortable and if we needed anything, Bob and Susan were ever so willing to help us.
The food was fabulous. Carefully planned and cooked breakfast and dinners -- not much need for lunch as there was so much food offered for these two meals. Many times Bob would ask, "Are you sure I can't get you more?" We took full advantage of the free golf and played the two courses practically every day. We also fished, swam, boated, and played numerous rounds of shuffleboard and horseshoes. So much to do, you really don't miss the lack of T.V. or Internet.
The families in the cabins beside us became just like our own family. At the end of the week, it was so hard for all of us to depart. Just a great place to relax.
Other families visiting there during the week had younger children and we got to know everyone on some level. Nights were filled with hanging out by the firepit, fishing off the dock, watching the fireworks over the 4th (awesome!), and a few games of 'friendly' kickball! The mosquitoes were a nuisance, so remember to take plenty of spray!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank my3swim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Bob and Susan have created a getaway that encourages family bonding and relaxation. Although the resort is not modernly decorated, our rental was spotlessly cleaned and very comfortable. We stayed with another family and shared the kitchen and it worked great! The food was awesome and it was so nice not to have to plan meals and clean up after them. There aren't any televisions and it made such a difference in the quality of our family time. We really were just able to relax and enjoy each other's company and it was wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We just got back from Oak Cove a few days ago. Bob and Susan were wonderful hosts. Staff was great. Had the same server for breakfast and dinner, and it was nice to get to know them as well. All were very kind and always accomodating. We rented a cottage with two full beds and a bunk. All was VERY clean, quaint, comfortable, and well-maintained. The air conditoning was wonderful! Other guests were also friendly. Thank you for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcj16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Went for extended family reunion and everyone had a great time! Clean, comfortable lodgings in the lodge itself (there were a lot of us, so we kind of took over all the rooms!), great food for breakfast and dinner that we neither had to make or clean up! and plenty of swimming and other activities in the area. What made it even more enjoyable was that Susan was able to give me the number of a very nice lady nearby who kept my canine best friend for the week...she came back happy and healthy after having a vacation herself!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank enchanted25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Just returned from a wonderful family reunion. We had a great and very memorable time. Bob and Susan are warm, caring hosts. The food was
awesome and the beds were heavenly. They made sure that everyone was
comfortable and met our special requests in a very accommodating way. Perfect place to unwind and spend time with the family. Favorite spot: in the chairs outside the lodge drinking coffee and drinking in the ambiance of the Lake Cora. Thanks you Susan and Bob for helping to relieve my stress at your wonderful resort!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlidellSherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

My family just had a reunion at Oak Cove this past week - we came from the far reaches of the US - some from Michigan, Philadelphia, Seattle, New Orleans and Galveston.

We had a wonderful time. Susan and Bob are wonderful hosts - making all of their guests feel welcome and comfortable. During mealtimes, they oversee the dining room and their excellent staff, making sure all guests are comfortable and well served. The food was great - fresh and hot - the kind you'd make yourself for your family when you have time. The fruit and yogurt bar in the morning and salad bar at night were excellent - fresh and delicious. If the main course is not to your liking, you'll definitely be able to fill up here.

The beds - oh my, the beds. At most hotels/resorts, the beds can be a little 'scary'. Not here - very comfortable, new beds. I'm a bit squeamish about hotels, but I was comfortable from the first moment here - cleanliness is clearly a priority at Oak Cove. My entire family stayed in the main lodge and Susan and Bob graciously extended the use of the dining room to us in the evenings so we could have some family time. The bathrooms are a bit small, but certainly comfortable and just fine.

We had a wonderful time at the pool and in the lake, with the boats and in the surrounding area. But mostly, we had a wonderful time just being together and Susan and Bob made it all that much more enjoyable for us by their gracious hospitality and wonderful resort.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpandheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Paw Paw
Travelodge Paw Paw
#1 of 3 in Paw Paw
348 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
171 reviews
16.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
367 reviews
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence
Oak Cove Resort Michigan/Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing