We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Grandson loves Oak Cove resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“My Grandson loves Oak Cove resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

This was our second year coming to Oak Cove Resort. Our children are grown so we have brought our grandson to Oak Cove Resort. He is 6 years old and he says we have to go back next year too! Each night at dinner time he ran over to where dinner is served just so he could get in line and ring the dinner bell. The owners are genuine caring people, and the food is wonderful. When our grandson is at home it is all about the xbox this is a nice reprieve from sitting in front of the tv for him. When he is at Oak Cove resort we played shuffle board, tetherball, kickball- with a nice family that included him in their family game, badmitton, rode the bikes, paddleboat, swam and made smores by the firepit on cookout night. This is a place where familys gather and play games together and enjoy each others company and relax! This is a great place for family's with children and grandchildren.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    30
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
148
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

When our children were toddlers we picked a resort in northern Wisconsin. It was about an 8 hour drive. We had to bring our own food and cooking supplies. Then we had to cook every meal. Clean up after every meal. There really wasn't a whole lot to do with the kids, there was a lake and that was it. And the resort we stayed at was very cliffy so we had to be very careful with the children. When we returned home we were exhausted! And we decided that was the last vacation like that so we searched and found Oak Cove Resort.

It took us 2 hours to get to Oak Cove. They cooked every meal. They cleaned up after every meal. Home cooked healthy meals. A salad bar! We had been on other vacations like Disney and the kids ate fast food every day. Yuk. Oak Cove has things to do with the kids. Oak Cove has a heated in-ground pool! Shuffel board! The fun house! A juke box! Pool table! Pin ball machines! A TV in the fun house with clean decent movies for the kids! A beach! A pontoon boat! Paddle boats! Canoes! A library of books! A table in the fun house for games or card playing!

The owners, Bob and Susan, are Christian and care about people. They expect the guests to behave. We never had to worry about anything bad going on. Bob and Susan were always on top of things which made us feel safe.

We have gone to Oak Cove for about 13 years and Bob and Susan have become dear friends of ours. Even as teenagers our children couldn't wait to get back to Oak Cove.

What more can I say? They have recently added a hiking trail. Nice. Hmmm, it's suppertime now and I could sure go for one of those delicious meals!! And the desserts.......! Scrumptious!

Give it a try, you'll love it too!

Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank OakCovian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

The lake is nice and location is good, but the rooms leave much to be desired - very small. The owner has been the same since at least the early to mid 90's. Not long after arriving, one of the first things he said was, "let's go ahead and settle up now." It seemed like the thing he was most interested in was getting paid. I believe he is an attorney by background; we joked that he might sue us if we ate too much. The staff is very careful in handing out the food. His wife is very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoomerBanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner/mgr. at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2009
We collect the balance of the bill upon arrival as we use personal checks and cash only in an effort to save the guests the add'l cost of credit cards. If we used credit cards, they would be charged just as any hotel whether they stayed or not.
Our buffet is all you care to eat, we are never stingy with our food and we welcome anyone to have seconds. We have been in business for 36 years here so we must be doing something right. I think this guest is having a bad day as he was not here this year to our knowledge.
The way we prefer to handle these things is straight forwardly, not anamously, and at the time. If these guests were unhappy, we would have gladly given them their check back and sent them on their way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA CITY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2009

We read all about Oak Cove on their website and could not wait for a relaxing time. We are a couple in our early 50's and empty nesters. We stayed three days and were glad to go. We stayed in the Snoopy Cabin. It was very small and the bathroom was awful! The shower was a stall type-so small you really could not bend over. The floor was anything but level. We could not fit in the bathroom at the same time. The bed had a shelf on the wall above it so if you sat up you would hit your head on the shelf. It had a small wicker loveseat in the room that we never sat on (used a folding camping chair we brought with us). .
The first night was the campfire cookout. Sounded like such fun, but it was not. We went to the campfire area early, picked out the table we wanted to sit at and placed our drinks on the table. We were enjoying the view of the lake and waiting to eat. They do this campfire once a week so you would think it would run much smoother than it did. Everyone got in line right away so although we were one of the first to arrive we ended up being toward the end of the line which we thought was not a problem. Most people got their food already cooked so not many cooked over the fire, which was almost out by the time we got our brats. When we were in line (which took at least 20 minutes) a large family reunion decided to ignore our drinks and took the table we had been sitting at for the last hour. They just pushed our drinks in the center of the table. We had to find another place to sit which by the time we got our food the tables were all taken. When we approched the table to get our drinks, they did not even say they were sorry for taking our table. They were very rude people. We did try and make the best of it. Everyone just ate and then disappeared. No relaxing chit-chat around the fire. Most people kept to themselves.
Then it went from bad to worse. That night we unpacked our toiletries and placed them in the bathroom which was a huge mistake because the bathroom was invaded by ants and we ended up spending most of the night cleaning ants out of our toothbushes, hairbrushes, all my creams and make-up (how they can slip inside closed containers, I'll never know).
We cleaned everything out and packed everything back up and moved it to the car. I think we got to sleep around 3am. Then we woke up to the sounds of people walking by so we did not get much sleep. When we told Susan about the ants she said that the people before us had mentioned them as well and she would send someone over to spray. Did not seem sorry that we were up most the night with not much sleep and never offered any perk for our trouble, like maybe a 5% refund or free pontoon boat ride or anything . I think most other places we have stayed would have given us something for our trouble.
The food was not bad, but nothing to rave about, at least not when we were there. One morning was oatmeal, not very exciting. When they said they had fried chicken, it was really those frozen chicken breasts that come in a large bag at most grocery stores, baked. Healthier, but not the fried chicken we were hoping for.
This is a great place for families or large groups of friends with children. If you are just a couple you might get lucky and stay with lots of friendly people, but that was not the case when we were there. We did meet one other couple like us and they were very nice. They felt just about the same that we did about the resort and they were glad to go home as well.
Also my husband is thin and eats a lot so he asked for another piece of cake one night and our waitress said "Oh didn't you get one!" -which is not what we expected after reading the reviews on their website.

  • Liked — The Paddle Boats
  • Disliked — Cabin
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travlin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland county michigan
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2008

We stayed for a few days for this first time this summer. The owners were friendly and welcoming and the beach and pool were very nice. The food was tasty, comfort food but not at all heart healthy. Location was perfect for a quick get away.

If you have allergies or asthma be sure to ask for a cottage with central air.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank donutsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Hts, MI
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2008

When we arrived Sunday afternoon several other guests came up to us, introduced themselves and shook our hands. Some were former guests but for most this was their first time. That's what kind of people stay at this resort. Average age seemed to be in mid 30's to mid 40's and were families with children. It was so great to see fathers playing with their kids in the lake or fishing with them off of the dock. My husband and I are in our mid 50's and we went with another couple of the same age, no children. We felt very comfortable among the families. We took advantage of the 18 holes of included golf every day at the challenging golf course nearby. The food was comfort food and absolutely delicious! The salad bar was fantastic with a very wide range of choices. Susan, the owner, was wonderful, very easy to talk to and always checking that things were running smoothly. We are hoping to go back ASAP.

I am always willing to answer any questions you might have.

  • Liked — The feeling of the old time resorts of the 50's and 60's
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kappycur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We had a great time at Oak Cove. The beach was lovely, the pool was warm and clean and the meals were the best. I particularly enjoyed not having to cook breakfast or dinner. (we just brought a few simple things for our lunches) The cabins weren't huge or luxurious, but they were definitely clean and comfortable. My kids, age 4 and 8 at the time, made friends with all the other kids who were there that week and talk about wanting to go back either this summer or definitely by 2009. Bob and Susan are gracious hosts and made sure everyone was comfortable and well fed.
We rode the canoes and paddle boats, fished, swam and relaxed. Our only complaint would be that when taking showers, the water pressure is low and there is a strong metallic smell to the water. Otherwise, we had a lovely relaxing time away from TV, computer games, and other sorts of distractions. It felt like we had time traveled back to the 50s or something. Very nice.

  • Liked — The great food and hospitality
  • Disliked — The water pressure and metallic smell to the water
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Akronites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Paw Paw
Travelodge Paw Paw
#1 of 3 in Paw Paw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
19.5 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
13.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Property: Oak Cove Resort
Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence
Oak Cove Resort Michigan/Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing