We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for Family Gatherings”
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We joined other family members at Oak Cove in August 2013. The resort is charming, and the accommodations are very clean and well maintained. One gets the impression that as soon as something requires attention, Bob, Sue and their well-staffed team address it immediately. That attention to detail, along with the friendly hospitality, delicious meals, and pretty setting make Oak Cove a great venue for time with friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wkschrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

What a lovely review. We heartily thank you for taking the time to write it. As you may have guessed, we really enjoy our guests. It was a thrill for us to see you all enjoying yourselves. That's why we're here! Hope you'll come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 192 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

far exceeding our expectations. We all had such fun kayaking, paddle boating, playing cards & kicking up our heels with the music on the jute box. Our rooms were pretty, comfortable and sooo clean! Susan and Bob made us feel so welcome in their special way. Breakfast & dinner were fabulous. My stepdaughter, two granddaughters and I have treasured memories.

The other guests made it memorable also. Grandma




.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Ellie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you so much for writing to TripAdvisor. We were happy to provide the place for you to enjoy the company of the girls. I have to agree with you that the other guests make everyone's stay even more fun. We are blessed to have a really nice clientele. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope you plan another trip next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our 4th year returning to Oak Cove Resort. While we were packing to go to Oak Cove Resort, my husband told me "you know this is my favorite week of the year!" Our family of 16 gathers here from all points and we feel like we are coming home! Sue and Bob are the NICEST people and always greet everyone of us by name! If we have questions they are always happy to answer them, Our daughters friend came up for the first time, and on the first day wondered what he was going to do "in the country" I asked him when we were leaving how he liked it, He told me he "had a blast!" Oak Cove provides the place and you supply the memories! We love it!

Room Tip: We prefer the cabins by the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank linnette1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Lynette, You just gave me two great tag lines: "My husband says it is his favorite week of the year" and "Oak Cove provides the place, you provide the memories." Brilliant. Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We visited Oak Cove Resort for the first time for our family reunion and everyone (young and old) loved it. The setting is beautiful, the accomodations are great and the hospitality is unmatched. There is plenty of space and enough activities to keep everyone happy. Bob and Susan are delightful and made our experience extra special. I rarely do reviews but I highly recommend this place regardless of whether there are 2 of you or 42 of you! A great Michigan place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Mike, Thank you for your very nice review. Also, we thank you again for planning such a great family reunion. It is so nice when someone does all the work that you did to keep everyone informed, arranging accommodation choices, making sure all deposits were in, informing us of any special needs. That all helps things go smoothly. Your year of planning paid off. It went off without a hitch. It was a pleasure to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

There were eleven in our group, six adults and five children ranging in age from 8 - 19. There are plenty of activities for the whole family - swimming in the lake or heated pool, use of canoes, row boats, kayaks, paddle-boats, bikes, and yard games. As one of our daughters mentioned - it feels like everyone there is family. Bob and Susan certainly treat you like family. I'm back home and sadly there is no dinner bell calling me to breakfast and dinner.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Judy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you, Judy. We are always grateful for an expression of satisfaction. We do love our guests. We meet so many nice families. It is a treat for us to serve you so when we receive nice reports such as yours, we are happy. It makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just came back from Oak Cove Resort, had a excellent time there. It's great to know that there still is a place to go for a family reunion, where everyone enjoys themselves and still gets along after a week with each other. Oak Cove resort is just that place , the Owners Bob and Sue welcome you with open arms. The food is out of this world with breakfast and dinner being provided, you never go hungry,( there really is no need for lunch. ) The cottages are clean and comfortable, overlooking the lake. You can wake up with the sun and take one of the many boats out on the very clean lake where you can actually see the fish swimming.., the kids would swim in the lake or run up the hill and jump in the pool. On rain days their is always the fun house where the whole family can easily go and enjoy a game of cards or a game of pool. The staff is exceptional always willing to help out in any way they can... Their were 16 of us that have been going for the past 4 years, every year the kids make sure we reserved for the following year... So Glad we found Oak Cove. Thank You Bob and Sue for continuing to provide such a great place ....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Hey, Michelle, nice review. It helped two people so far. I think people really trust what guests say so we are grateful that our guests write reviews. Since everyone comes here with a different perspective, it is useful to hear others points of view. We appreciate that you took the time to express yours and were very happy it was all nice things. Thank you so much. See you next July.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The reviews for Oak Cove are exactly what we experienced; friendly and relaxing. The resort dates back to 1910 and is lovingly maintained. Bob and Susan are the perfect hosts, remembering everyone by name. The pool is super clean and the water temperature is perfect. The lake is clear and beautiful. There are rowboats, kayaks, canoes, and pedal boats waiting on the shore for guests to use. A pontoon boat can be rented for a very reasonable rate. There is also volleyball, bean bags toss, and a golf course. The fun house has several classic pinball machines, a pool table, interesting old vending machines, a jukebox, books, and a tv (with a good assortment of movies.) A short drive into town offers some great antiquing. Last by not least, breakfast and dinner are included. The meals are all home cooked and outstanding. The food reminds me of my grandmothers cooking. If you're looking for a beautiful place to unwind that is an easy two hour drive from Chicago, this is the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you, Cathy, for the very nice review. I noticed it was helpful to someone so I will thank you now for that booking in case they read your review and made a reservation. Word of mouth is our best advertizement. The pictures you submitted are great. We appreciate your time in responding.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Paw Paw
Travelodge Paw Paw
#1 of 3 in Paw Paw
355 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
171 reviews
16.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn South Haven
Hampton Inn South Haven
#2 of 11 in South Haven
379 reviews
19.0 mi away
Comfort Suites South Haven
Comfort Suites South Haven
#9 of 11 in South Haven
150 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence
Oak Cove Resort Michigan/Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing