We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place-Wonderful People!”
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, MO. USA
1 review
“Great Place-Wonderful People!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We went to Oak Cove for a family reunion in early June. We had a wonderful time. The food was delicious. The staff treated us like family. The cabins were great. There were plenty of things to keep children happy-so happy it was hard to pull them away to go to bed. Even in early June the pool and lake were warm enough to enjoy. It was nice to be able to do your laundry before going home. I would highly recommend Oak Cove! Mary Jo

Room Tip: Choose a cabin. It has all the comforts of home-without the work
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you, Mary Jo. We enjoyed having you as guests here at Oak Cove Resort as much as you enjoyed your trip. It was nice we could spend a few moments together at the end as you were very busy during your hopefully restful vacation. May God bless you in your pursuits. Thank you for the glowing report. We greatly appreciate your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    31
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
155
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My wife and I visited Oak Cove Resort this past weekend (early June) after ‘discovering’ it searching the internet for “lakeside resorts”. As with most travelers or vacationers, whenever we consider visiting a new destination, we try to learn as much about the location as possible ahead of time. Thanks to the internet and websites, this due diligence is a lot easier nowadays.

Our two-day stay was fantastic! We tried very hard to avail ourselves of as many activities as possible, but found that our stay was just not long enough. Golf--included with your stay--plus all the activities you might expect and hope for at a lakeside resort were available to enjoy: shuffleboard, badminton, swimming in the lake--or in the just recently renovated heated swimming pool, horseshoes, biking/hiking, beanbag toss, row boating, and more!

Hosts and staff make a truly genuine effort to get to know you personally! The longtime owners, Bob and Susan _go out of their way_ to make you feel welcome. Their warm and generous hospitality make staying at Oak Cove Resort a remarkable and memorable experience! They couldn’t have been more delightful hosts!

Great food and generous portions! Breakfast and dinner in the lodge was also very enjoyable eating on the lodge’s porch overlooking a gorgeous Lake Cora. We were able to enjoy the opportunity of meeting other Oak Cove guests at meal time.

Wholesome family fun! If you are looking for a get-away destination that offers a wide variety of recreational opportunities for all members of your family, Oak Cove is a great place While it was just the two of us (_this_ particular weekend), Oak Cove is set up for and can accommodate large families and groups of all sizes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laramie_Wildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! That was a very nice review and we really appreciate it. Your endorcement is our best advertisement. And you wrote so many nice things. It means a lot to us. We hope you will be a returning guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Myself, my wife, and her family stumbled upon one of the coziest, rustic resorts. What a great time! Our cabins were right off the beach and enjoyed sitting in the evening at a large firepit, but also enjoying free golf, which we took advantage of for the two of three days that we stayed.

The breakfast and dinners that were included in the price of our stay was outstanding! They even accomodated a mini birthday celebration for my brother an sister in-law. Bob and Susan were so friendly, you felt like family. All I can say is what a find! One of our best family getaways!

Warm, cozy, feel at home...that's what Oak Cove Resort was for us!

Jim, Barb and Judy

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieQfromKalamazoo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Well, Thank you very much, Jim. And also for your very touching personal email. I meant what I said when I told you that the joyousness and laughter I heard from the pool while your family interacted reminded me of why we are in this business.

It is because of people like you who care about each other. We counted it a privilege to have you here and are happy we are able to provide a venue for families to interact without the burdens of providing meals and thinking of anything rather than each other.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our "clan" has been vacationing with Bob & Susan at Oak Cove for so many years I've lost count. Four generations of two families, migrate from all corners of the country to be together for a week. There couldn't be a better setting for the 40, or so, of us. This is a vacation for you to enjoy each other, really enjoy being together, without many distractions. It is a small resort, so you will get to know the other guests who are there, the wonderful kids who serve the meals, and of course the ever smiling and gracious owners. If you are looking for a place with lots of planned activities and fast paced goings on (Disney?) where you have done lots of things and end each day exhausted, this is not the place for you. If you want to be with your friends or family, enjoying each other while sitting around a pool, building sand castles on the beach, playing Trivial Pursuit, card games and pool at night. If this and spending a week with people you love, never missing the TV, sounds like a joy, then this is the place for you. Last year I taught my (apparently) bright niece a card game my grandfather taught me. I've played it for 45 years. She promptly trounced me at it. Not only is that a memory, but it gave me the opportunity to talk with my niece, and get to know her better in an environment that fosters such. Yes we have our traditional annual activities: the ongoing softball game between the families, volleyball till you drop, teaching the youngest ones to water ski and fish, and the migration to the local ice cream parlor--all are wonderful. But having college kids and teenagers choose to put away their phones and devices for a while to be with their cousins and families....you almost can't get that anymore. You can at Oak Cove. This is a time to be with each other and enjoy people.

Room Tip: Tell Susan you want Bruce's accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badbeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Why, thank you for the nice review. We are always honored that you choose us and we look forward to your week. We have certainly made a lot of friends in your family and we hope the family tradition continues for a very long time. See you in 6 short months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

In mid October the resort was awash with color and calm. Our cabin wasn't directly on the lake which we would have preferred, and because it was late in the season we didn't have the full resort to enjoy (Bob and Susan had told us this so we were prepared) but did have the benefit of the golf course and lovely views. The three of us enjoyed family time, reading, writing, and being away from the cares of life at home.
J & B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bird112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your gracious comments. We hope you will try us during our summer season and let us show you some real fun and wonderful food, lovingly prepared from "scratch", like grandma used to do. We have the perfect unit picked out for you overlooking the lake. By the way, your painting looks fabulous in our room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love this resort. My husband golfed every day (no fee to golf!), I swam in the lake and the pool, we kayaked every day, we sat in the Adirondack chairs by the lake and watched the moon appear as night fell, and we became very competitive shuffleboard players! There are lots of country roads for bike riding, the cabins are clean and comfortable, and the home cooked food is delicious and plentiful. Sue and Bob Wojcik are gracious hosts. We've booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn5714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Well, thank you very kindly, Carolyn and Tom. We always love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lenox, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I decided to get away for a nice quiet weekend. We had a great time. Nice people (Bob and Susan and the staff) great food ( like mom used to make) and great area to explore. We did not have time to do the "water" activities due to the weather, but they had plenty to do. We enjoyed the area around Lawrence.

Room Tip: We had the boat house on the water. Cute room just what we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much. We are glad you had a nice time! Hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Paw Paw
Travelodge Paw Paw
#1 of 3 in Paw Paw
324 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
169 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
19.6 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
189 reviews
16.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Property: Oak Cove Resort
Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence
Oak Cove Resort Michigan/Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing