We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Labor Day Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Great Labor Day Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We love this resort. My husband golfed every day (no fee to golf!), I swam in the lake and the pool, we kayaked every day, we sat in the Adirondack chairs by the lake and watched the moon appear as night fell, and we became very competitive shuffleboard players! There are lots of country roads for bike riding, the cabins are clean and comfortable, and the home cooked food is delicious and plentiful. Sue and Bob Wojcik are gracious hosts. We've booked for next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyn5714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Well, thank you very kindly, Carolyn and Tom. We always love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    30
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
148
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Lenox, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I decided to get away for a nice quiet weekend. We had a great time. Nice people (Bob and Susan and the staff) great food ( like mom used to make) and great area to explore. We did not have time to do the "water" activities due to the weather, but they had plenty to do. We enjoyed the area around Lawrence.

Room Tip: We had the boat house on the water. Cute room just what we needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you very much. We are glad you had a nice time! Hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We had a great time at this resort. The beach, the pool and the cabins were neat, clean and enjoyable by all. My kids (9 and 5) enjoyed the game room especially and became pinball wizards overnight.

The cabins are quaint and clean. The beds are comfortable. Susan and Bob are the perfect hosts. We felt special and appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Thank you, Jenny. It was our pleasure to have you here. Hope to see you again. Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

I was looking for a resort for my daughter's family and myself to share a few days to send off my granddaughter to Hillsdale college. I happened to come across Oak Cove on the internet and I hit the Jackpot! The Lake House was right on the lake and ideal to accommodate a family of 4.We had a wonderful and memorable 4 days stay and the Gem of the resort are the owners Bob and Susan who creates an atmosphere of warm hospitality and make you feel you have known them for years.The food of course is the best you can expect and I strongly recommend this place for a family vacation. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Lake House would be ideal for a family if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isamu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Isamu, it was not an accident that you found your way here to Oak Cove. We do believe our paths with cross again and we will be here for Christine in case she needs a little touch of home while so far away from hers. Thank you for finding us and writing such a lovely report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Oak Cove is a home away from home. You never have to leave the property, with beautiful Lake Cora, a crystal clear swimming pool, and lots of room to roam. Day trips to museums, Lake Michigan, especially Warren Dunes, Binder Park Zoo and more are very do-able. The best part is the wonderful breakfasts and dinners that are provided. This is truly a family vacation because no one has to worry about meals. Our family has been coming every year for 15 years and we're always sad to leave. We have made lifelong friends in the families that have been coming on our week each year.

Room Tip: We stay in one of the houses on site. It's a little bit of a hike to the beach and pool, but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
15 years, really? It seems like you were always here. That is YOUR week in that House and we hope you keep coming for 30 more years! See you in 2013..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just finished our first vacation at Oak Cove and loved it. It was the perfect experience for our family with a very active 2.5 year old, and only 2 hours from Chicago. There were so many activities to choose from, within steps of our cottage. We spent a lot of time at the beach. I loved that there was a raft close to shore. It was great fun for us and our young son. The beach was full of shells and rocks, which our son enjoyed collecting. We fished from the docks every day and caught more fish than we could keep track of, everything from small bluegill to 12+ inch bass. there were 2 play areas and a large field with a volleyball net, tetherball, shuffelboard and 2 bins with balls, bats, rackets, etc ... The pool was nice and warm, clean and well maintained. The "fun house" was great! It had a cozy area with a TV and DVD that was convenient in the early mornings when our son woke, but one of us wanted to sleep a bit later. It was also full of pinball machines, games, puzzles, billiards and books. Because everything is so close, its easy to move from one activity to the next. The owners pointed us in the direction of a great putt putt course nearby and we found a cute restaurant in Paw Paw, the Sugar Bear, that had a healthy menu (including vegetarian dishes), a full ice cream parlor (OK, not so healthy, but delicious) and best of all, a play area for kids, stocked full of toys. It allowed us to sit and eat lunch in peace while our son happily played. Possibly my favorite part was that we walked 50 paces to the lodge for a wonderful, warm breakfast and dinner each day. This made all the difference for it being a relaxing vacation for me. The owners, Bob and Sue, were delightful and took wonderful care of us, as did all of the staff. Which reminds me - the grounds were spotlessly clean and tidy, everywhere we went.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
That was a wonderful review and we wholeheartedly thank you for taking the time to write. Not only that, be a glowing report. We are grateful. It was a fun week with all those little children and a nice quiet time before. Loved your pictures, Feel free to add more. We didn't see any of the fish but were happy to hear about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

A group of us do a girls weekend every year. One of our friends found Oak Cove. We were more than happy with the whole experience. We stayed in the lodge and we each had our own bedroom with wonderful comfy beds. The food was great and plentiful. Bob and Susan were exceptional hosts and made sure that we had everything we needed. There is so much to do right there at the lodge - swimming pool, beach, outdoor games, paddle boards, kayaks, pontoon boat and more. If you want to venture away from the lodge, there are good restaurants in the area and several wineries.



All in all - a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a large group or want to do some of your own cooking, there are several ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thanks, Jerri. You 'girls" were great fun and we are so glad you had your time together here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
5.2 mi away
Travelodge Paw Paw
Travelodge Paw Paw
#1 of 3 in Paw Paw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
19.5 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#6 of 11 in South Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
13.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
18.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express South Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Property: Oak Cove Resort
Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence
Oak Cove Resort Michigan/Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing