We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oak Cove Resort
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites(Paw Paw)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Paw Paw(Paw Paw)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
$89
$86
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn South Haven(South Haven)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (192)
Filter reviews
192 results
Traveler rating
156
32
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
32
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerfun housepaddle boatsfamily reunionwonderful weekbeautiful lakeoak coveshuffle boardgreat vacationlake corawonderful hostsoutdoor activitiesgreat caregreat place to get awaythe entire stafffeel like familyfeel right at home
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 192 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Oak Cove is a home away from home. You never have to leave the property, with beautiful Lake Cora, a crystal clear swimming pool, and lots of room to roam. Day trips to museums, Lake Michigan, especially Warren Dunes, Binder Park Zoo and more are very do-able. The best part is the wonderful breakfasts and dinners that are provided. This is truly a family vacation because no one has to worry about meals. Our family has been coming every year for 15 years and we're always sad to leave. We have made lifelong friends in the families that have been coming on our week each year.

Room Tip: We stay in one of the houses on site. It's a little bit of a hike to the beach and pool, but it's spacious enough for two families to share. The lakeside cottages are very quaint, but they are small, so if you need room to spread out, you may want one of the houses.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

15 years, really? It seems like you were always here. That is YOUR week in that House and we hope you keep coming for 30 more years! See you in 2013..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We just finished our first vacation at Oak Cove and loved it. It was the perfect experience for our family with a very active 2.5 year old, and only 2 hours from Chicago. There were so many activities to choose from, within steps of our cottage. We spent a lot of time at the beach. I loved that there was a raft close to shore. It was great fun for us and our young son. The beach was full of shells and rocks, which our son enjoyed collecting. We fished from the docks every day and caught more fish than we could keep track of, everything from small bluegill to 12+ inch bass. there were 2 play areas and a large field with a volleyball net, tetherball, shuffelboard and 2 bins with balls, bats, rackets, etc ... The pool was nice and warm, clean and well maintained. The "fun house" was great! It had a cozy area with a TV and DVD that was convenient in the early mornings when our son woke, but one of us wanted to sleep a bit later. It was also full of pinball machines, games, puzzles, billiards and books. Because everything is so close, its easy to move from one activity to the next. The owners pointed us in the direction of a great putt putt course nearby and we found a cute restaurant in Paw Paw, the Sugar Bear, that had a healthy menu (including vegetarian dishes), a full ice cream parlor (OK, not so healthy, but delicious) and best of all, a play area for kids, stocked full of toys. It allowed us to sit and eat lunch in peace while our son happily played. Possibly my favorite part was that we walked 50 paces to the lodge for a wonderful, warm breakfast and dinner each day. This made all the difference for it being a relaxing vacation for me. The owners, Bob and Sue, were delightful and took wonderful care of us, as did all of the staff. Which reminds me - the grounds were spotlessly clean and tidy, everywhere we went.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

That was a wonderful review and we wholeheartedly thank you for taking the time to write. Not only that, be a glowing report. We are grateful. It was a fun week with all those little children and a nice quiet time before. Loved your pictures, Feel free to add more. We didn't see any of the fish but were happy to hear about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A group of us do a girls weekend every year. One of our friends found Oak Cove. We were more than happy with the whole experience. We stayed in the lodge and we each had our own bedroom with wonderful comfy beds. The food was great and plentiful. Bob and Susan were exceptional hosts and made sure that we had everything we needed. There is so much to do right there at the lodge - swimming pool, beach, outdoor games, paddle boards, kayaks, pontoon boat and more. If you want to venture away from the lodge, there are good restaurants in the area and several wineries.



All in all - a great experience.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with a large group or want to do some of your own cooking, there are several roomy and very modern cottages/cabins you can rent.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thanks, Jerri. You 'girls" were great fun and we are so glad you had your time together here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Our Entire Family pulled together from across several states to spend a week together at the Oak Cove Resort. We Had A Grand & Relaxing Time--Especially--Owing To The Fact That Bountiful/Delicious/Nutritious Breakfasts & Dinners Are Served Each Day At The Oak Coves Century Old Lodge Building--WHAT A TREAT... That The Family Meal-Planners/Cooks&KP Actually Got To Enjoy A Week OFF of Their "Jobs" WITH Everybody Else !!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Thanks! That was very nice of you to say....and we enjoyed doing it. We are happy to provide an atmosphere when you can relax and concentrate on each other. That's our goal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Oak Cove Resort is what Tim Allen has in mind in the Pure Michigan commercials. You wake up to a sunrise over a crystal clear lake and know you are on vacation when you are sitting at the end of a dock with your feet hanging off the edge. The resort is made of several cabins along a nice sandy beach as well as rooms in the main lodge. There are plenty of kayaks and boats. The lake is great for swimming and there is a nice pool as well. This is a great place for family reunions. My kids love it because they get a sense of independence, but we can still keep an eye on them. The owners, Bob and Sue, are some of the friendliest people I have ever encountered. Also, you get breakfast and dinner--these are full meals that are delicious and homemade. I really can't say enough nice things about the place. We stay for a week and the time goes by in a flash.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2012

Don't you just LOVE those ads? Tim Allan's voice is so yummy and you're right, the photos speak volumes! I guess you can tell we love Michigan with it's 55,000 lakes. It doesn't get better than that. We appreciate your writing about us. Til next time, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews