We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Week!”
Review of Oak Cove Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lawrence
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Cove Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Certificate of Excellence
North
1 review
“Great Week!”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

First time at Oak Cove Resort. Stayed at "Yesteryear" which is across the Lake Cora from the resort.. Great hospitality with the ample food and nice amenities. Wonderful week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thanks for writing. You were our first guests to use the Coach House and the tandem bicycles. We were glad to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    31
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
155
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Susan and Bob always make us feel like we're part of their family. Our family group enjoys the great hospitality at Oak Cove Resort along with the ample food and nice amenities. The kids look forward to it all year. I love the time relaxing at beautiful Lake Cora. And the desserts :) I can't decide if I like the peanut butter pie or Grandma Ivy's fruit-cocktail pudding cake better (don't be deceived by the fruit-cake soundalike of the name....it is truly memorable). Can't wait for summer to return so we can return to Oak Cove.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larry218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
We go back a long way with you. We can remember before you had kids and now you're three generations. We thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Our company recently had our work retreat at Oak Cove. It was absolutely hands ...down our best retreat to date! The service and food was so amazing, truly something that is hard to find these days! Thank you Bob, Sue and staff for a wonderful experience. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duckiedo, Owner at Oak Cove Resort, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
This review touches our hearts as it was submitted by someone in the food service business themselves. That is the highest compliment one can receive from a "colleague". Thank you so much and we do hope you will have your corporate retreat with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was our 3rd trip to Oak Cove, but the first since 2007. The kids couldn't wait to go back & the experience exceeded even their high expectations. My wife & the younger kids never left the property all week. The rest of us only left to play golf. Food is delicious & owners are wonderful. Love the beach, lake, kayaks, volleyball, shuffleboard, billiards, bikes, open fields, and spacious lodging. While many family resorts seem to encourage families to split up & do their own thing, Oak Cove makes it easy to relax & enjoy the togetherness of the entire family.
Upgrade suggestions: sailboats, tennis court, updated bikes, smoother shuffleboard court, new A/C for Park Place. Better portion control at all-you-can-eat meals could cut down on waste and help reduce costs.
While Bob & Susan provided wonderful service, some of the wait staff seemed a bit untrained. Hence only 4/5 for service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbuterba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was our first time and since we had found Oak Cove online, we could only hope that it was as good as it's pictures. Well, it was even better in many respects. We very much enjoyed the friendly, relaxed atmosphere that gets you into a real vacation mode. The food was down home, tasty and plenty of it. We ate on the porch of the lodge and the view of the lake only added to our relaxation. Our home was big, roomy and very very clean. We loved no TV or phone but having a DVD for children was a good thing. We are all golfers and the courses were great. The late afternoon had us in the pool both before and after dinner. Thank you Susan and Bob. We would like to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betteandcaesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We'd never been to Oak Cove Resort, and I was immediately impressed by the location. Mainly because it's only about 35 miles away from home! My family had a wonderful, carefree vacation. We stayed in Mom's Meadow Muffin cottage, small but nice. The cottage was about 100 feet from beautiful Lake Cora. There were many things for my children to do, by themselves and with me. The sparkling blue pool was wonderful also. The staff's excellent service made our stay very memorable. I was quite surprised to be greeted by name everyday by owners Bob and Susan. The homecooked comfort food is delicious, and their peanut butter pie is to die for. We highly recommend this to other families. And there's no need for any watches; they ring a bell sounding for breakfast and supper.!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawndean77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitmore Lake, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just returned from a week at Oak Cove. The resort is located on a clean clean Lake Cora. The food is very good! Bob and Sue couldn't be nicer! Always asking how you are doing by NAME! I still can't believe they can remember everyone's name! The cottages are cute and when you arrive are very clean. I do wish there was more shelves or hooks to hang things up or to place items brought from home.; that was my only concern all week! Great place., and we all had a good time. We will be back next year. Already put our deposit down!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linnette1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lawrence
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Paw Paw
Travelodge Paw Paw
#1 of 3 in Paw Paw
327 reviews
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Paw Paw
169 reviews
24.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Benton Harbor / St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watervliet St. Joseph
19.6 mi away
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
Lake Bluff Inn and Suites
#7 of 11 in South Haven
189 reviews
16.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Cove Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Cove Resort

Property: Oak Cove Resort
Address: 58881 46th St, Lawrence, MI 49064-9771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Van Buren County > Lawrence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lawrence
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oak Cove Resort is nestled on 16 lovely wooded acres overlooking beautiful Lake Cora. Row boats, canoes, paddle boats,kayaks, five piers and 500' of sandy beach plus a crystal clear heated pool awaits your arrival. Full breakfasts and dinners are included, meals like Grandma used to make. Bikes, volley ball, badminton, horse shoes, shuffleboard and a mile of groomed paths are for your pleasure. Enjoy 18 holes of free golf every day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Cove Hotel Lawrence
Oak Cove Resort Michigan/Lawrence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing