We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They door didn't lock, reported it, but they charged us after 10 minutes from check-in”
Review of Super 8 Lansing

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Super 8 Lansing
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They door didn't lock, reported it, but they charged us after 10 minutes from check-in”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We made the reservation the week before for our son, daughter-in-law and 5 month old grandson. The Super 8 sent us a confirmation. When they hauled the first load of luggage up to the room they found their room door didn't lock. They reported it to the manager right away but it took nearly a hour before he arrived to check on it. They did not feel safe. They manager confirmed it was a problem and they left the hotel at that time. That evening we called to see if we would be charged. They said yes and pointed to the Registration which said, and I quote "No refunds will be issued after 10 minutes of Check-in." They notified the mannager right away but he didn't come until nearly an hour later--they charged us $30 for that hour. What a travesty!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudgetConscious2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    1
    21
    35
    104
See reviews for
50
31
22
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
valparaiso, indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2011

came to oldsmobile car show in june 2011, with an expensive car i might add, and noticed a few vehicles in the lot that have been damaged....one vehicle had all of it's tires slashed....
decided this may not be the place to stay -----did not even check in and tried to cancel the reservation.... " this will go to collection," the so-called clerk said to me as i walked out....
probably the most rude individuals ---and i might add, probably not even legal citizens of this country. DO NOT STAY AT THIS DUMP....RUN AWAY.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emdlek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

TX
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

We had reservations for 3 nights. Arrived late the first night and checked out early the next morning. When we left I had to empty my purse, shake out the ants and clean everything... it was the grossest place we have ever stayed and since we booked it on hotels.com we lost our money! Stay away from this place. August 2008.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank letstravelTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Dont go near this hotel . We and 2 other family members booked 2 king beds and when we got there they only had 1 and we had to settle for queen . When I took it up to the Hotel Manager who doesnt speak much English he told me that he only had 2 king rooms period and one was already spoken for. You dont get what you book. Another disgrace is the Tv was scratched and had purple and green colours on each side of the screen and couldnt see the picture on the screen. There was a plate sticking out of the wall in the bathroom which looked like it was ready to fall out. This is also is in the worst location, you have to drive thru a Bob Evans restaurant parking lot to get there.

KEEP AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Scott
Ontario, canada

  • Liked — didnt have any
  • Disliked — didnt receive what i booked
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank satty03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2008

Well all I can say is that it wasn't my choice to stay at this dump. I use TripAdvisor to weed out the undesirables. But my disorganized friend likes to wing it and this is what you get.

The place is in shambles. The parking lot cannot accommodate a trailer. The breakfast was milk and some muffins, which is way below Super 8 standards. Occasional scary people wondering around. The whole area looks like it had been destroyed by a riot.

Don't spend a dime at this place. Super 8 should remove this property from their portfolio. This place is an embarrassment to the chain.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank PoliticalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2008

Nasty. I've stayed in six different Super 8's this year. Four were good, one was not-so-exciting, and then there is this.

I really don't like leaving bad reviews.

So I'll try to say something good first: The kid working the front desk at night was really friendly and got the clean linens I asked for. The location is good. But that's about it.

Otherwise bad. The floor in the room had visible crud on it. The interstate right outside sounded amplified in my room. One of the towels had a nasty black stain on it. The others were thin from use. The free breakfast was not what I would consider breakfast (especially by other Super 8 free breakfasts I've seen). The blanket and pillow cases were visibly gross. Ewww.

Had it been any worse, I would've canceled my second night and tried my luck somewhere else.

  • Liked — Checking out
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2008

We just stayed a night in this Super 8 motel and reserved 2 double bedrooms for 4 people. We thought this would be a deal, but when we got there we found out that it was not worth the bargain. It was the worst Super 8 that we've gone to so far. The breakfast was non-existent. There were only 2 leftover muffins for breakfast that morning and we got up at 7am. Also, the night before, we were put in a room with a runny bathroom that constantly was flowing water. We called the management office and the teenager (who was nice) helped get us a new place, but the bed was lopsided. Overall, it was nice to spend only $52 for each double room, but all the other hotels around there were going for the same price. Try another hotel as this one isn't all that it should be.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kangeroo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.2 mi away
Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel
2.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
#19 of 25 in Lansing
173 reviews
8.3 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lansing
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Dimondale
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites East Lansing / Okemos
5.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lansing

Property: Super 8 Lansing
Address: 910 American Rd, I-96 Exit 104, Lansing, MI 48911-5953
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lansing 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing