We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I spent one night in this Hampton while passing through town. We arrived in the evening and were greeted quickly by the front desk. Check was quick and painless and we were in our room in no time after brief explanation of location of different places within the hotel and breakfast time in the morning.

We had the hospitality suite, which consisted of two rooms- a nice sized living room with sofa (sofabed), chairs and a dining table, and a kitchenette with microwave, fridge and sink. Bedroom was spacious with a desk, large closet and plenty of extra room. This would be a great sized room for a family. Bathroom entry was from the living room. Bathroom size was fine-we had a problem figuring out the lighting at first, but finally realized the timer/heater/light thing was on-problem solved.

Internet was fast-we had no problems connecting or using the service.

Hotel shows some age, but overall was clean and well taken care of. We didn't notice too much noise from above or below (we were on second floor) and the bedding provided was comfortable.

We visited the fitness center-the room is small and packed with equipment but there is enough room to navigate and enough pieces to choose from to get a workout in-treadmill/stepper/bike and weights.

Breakfast in the morning was okay-the usual hotel fare consisting of cheese omelet, summer sausage in some sort of sweet sauce, hard boiled eggs, biscuits, a variety of pastries, cereals, yogurt and fresh, cut up fruit. I am personally not a fan of hotel egg creations or the sausage but there were plenty of other things that were good. The attendant kept the supply stocked and the seating area clean. There appeared to be adequate seating available.

Overall, a good Hampton. Clean rooms; professional, friendly employees; great price. I'd stay here again if in the area and recommend it to others passing through.

Room Tip: Hospitality suites are a great size for families needing extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALJARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Wow, what a wonderful experience! Thank you so much for taking the time to share. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us! Please let us know if we may be of assistance for future stays.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    124
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
101
79
30
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
596 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

I had a great stay at this Hampton Inn, like most Hampton Inns that I've been at. After the friendly check-in with the person at the front desk, I got the top-floor room that I asked for. The room was nice and clean and well-stocked. It was pouring rain pretty much the whole time I was there so that soothing sound helped muffle any adjacent noises or door slamming; which, unfortunately, there was a bit of. The trend of hotel doors that SLAM shut is really getting on my nerves. It's not a hard fix to remedy that by adjusting the door closers so there isn't that LOUD, SLAMMING sound every time someone lets their door close behind them. Yes, it's 90% the fault of the thoughtless (not necessarily always thoughtless in a bad or purposeful way) guests that just either aren't thinking about anyone else, or not caring about anyone else. My guess is that it's a bit of both. But, I digress..

The breakfast was great with scrambled eggs and bacon and great oatmeal (not packets but Hampton Inns always have great real oatmeal), juices, good coffee (I still prefer a good dark roast and this one wasn't bold enough for me), a nice assortment of teas, all sorts of pastries and breads, fruit, etc. It's a $10 breakfast any day of the week and it comes with the room. Not a bad deal.

The wireless worked great, in fact, everything worked great. The tub wasn't slippery, there were great Hampton Inn soaps and shampoos, lotions, etc. A coffee maker, a GREAT bed; everything was good here. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josh S, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful detailed review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and cannot thank you enough for sharing feedback.

Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackinac Island, MI
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I attended a wedding where all of the guests were from out of town and the majority stayed at the Hampton. The staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. They even allowed a group of us to use the pool at 2:00 a.m. which they didn't have to do. Anyone who may have had a slight issue was attended to immediately with a smile. Some of the rooms are a little worn but still very clean and comfortable and they are in the process of renovation so it looks like soon the whole place will be fresh and new.

Room Tip: The suites were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parkplacesuites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

We've stayed at the Hampton Inn in Coconut Grove, FL and based on our favorable impression of it we gladly chose the Hampton Inn in Lansing for a one night stay for an event the following day. While it didn't have the upscale feel of Coconut Grove, it was still a very pleasant hotel. We arrived to find that there was some sort of massive event being accommodated, possibly a family reunion and I was instantly skeptical that we would get peace and quiet due to the hoards of children swarming through the lobby; however once we checked into our room there was no noise and we were not bothered in the slightest. The room appeared clean and updated and the bed was comfortable. It had everything we needed. I like a bit more space for a longer stay, but for an overnight it was just right. Just another reason to continue my Hampton loyalty. The complimentary breakfast in the morning was a welcome repast and I thought a person would be hard pressed not to find something they didn't like - nice variety; hot oatmeal, eggs, sausage, cold cereal, muffins, bagels, waffles etc. were all available. All in all a nice, hassle-free visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank portiafimbriata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecksville, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stay in a lot of Hamptons. We visited this hotel for a one night stay. From the layout of the building, this seems to be an older Hampton Inn that was renovated to be up to their current standards. Our room as well as all lobby areas were clean, and the beds were comfortable. It was very quiet inside our room - the insulation between the rooms must be very good because when I was out in the hall you could clearly hear people talking. I think they were sold out or pretty close to sold out, but there were no issues with breakfast. Their breakfast area has plenty of tables and the lady running it kept everything well stocked. The two fellows at check in were extremely pleasant and efficient. If we are ever in this area again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PK_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012. Very clean, "green" philosophy in hotel; interesting touches in the decorations. Good breakfast. Comfortable beds and nice rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanchogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

So compared to the Okemos Hampton Inn, this one is a bit older, so there are some expected wear and tear signs. That being said the staff is very friendly and willing to help you in any way to make your stay comfortable. Sometimes customer service is more important than how fancy the dining area looks. Our room ha a mini fridge and microwave and an abundance of outlets in convenient locations. Aside from a finicky toilet and cheap doors, staying at this hotel was relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egmaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for this very nice review. We greatly appreciate the time and very kind comments made. I could not agree with you more regarding customer service! Although we are currently upgrading our hotel, providing great customer service is just as big of a priority for us. Please let us know if you have any other suggestions. We love to hear them and are always listening.
Looking forward to seeing you on your next trip to Lansing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
7.9 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 525 N Canal Rd, Lansing, MI 48917-7710 (Formerly Hampton Inn Lansing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lansing
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lansing
#2 Family Hotel in Lansing
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lansing Hotel Lansing
Lansing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing