We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After twenty years still a very nice place”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“After twenty years still a very nice place”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here for my wedding night with my wife almost twenty years ago. Can't believe it had been that long since I was last in the Lansing area. I believe this hotel used to be a Best Western. One thing that has not changed is how nice the whole stay was. My wife and I were expecting total chaos with it being graduation weekend but we were pleasantly surprised. Julian made sure we had a room with a microwave which was perfect. And he turned us on to this great interweb site. Great place for my family to stay when we are a little away from home.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    125
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
102
80
30
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Salt Lake, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our thirty years old grand son had the delightful honor of graduating from Michigan State with his doctorate in music the first weekend of May. With my husband I drove across the country to see it in person. We made many stops but the nicest stop of all was at this Hampton Inn. We stayed in a handicap room which was accomodating but the lack of a tub free room was difficult at times. Every day that we stayed I would talk to Julian for a bit and he is very bright. My husband and I were so pleased with everyone that we spoke with at this Hampton Inn. If I did not have more family to visit further East I would have been tempted to ask that we stay a few more nights just because this hotel is far more comfortable than our minivan. Though I doubt we will ever need to return to Michigan again with our last youngest grandson now graduated, should we decide to and are in the area we will be staying at this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I have been working with Julian throughout his tenure at this hotel. He is a very bright young man who is highly respectful and always strives to happily greet and welcome each guest that comes into the building. His attitude always sets the mood of every stay I have at this Hampton Inn. Together Josh and him and the rest of the entire staff do an incredible job making sure that every need is met. The few nights that my wife came to visit me here she told me via phone how pleasant her stay was, and that is not just because she was visiting me. This is a truly humble home away from home and if you're anything like me, this is all that you're really need when you're looking for a hotel. Breakfast every morning, come back to a clean room and bed made and THEHEE smiling faces of Julian and the rest of his team at the counter.

Room Tip: If you are a military service member such as myself they offer a discounted rate to current and form...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank semperfi1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimball, South Dakota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Very nice stay.

The rush in the morning was a little more than my wife and I expected.

There were children running in the hall and I overheard Julian give them a
very stern "no running kids" and they listened. It was a pleasure. Next time
we leave South Dakota, we will stay wit you.

This hotel is very kind and definitely knows how to make a guest feel like
they'are at home.

Keep up the excellent work Hampton Inn

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great. Thew new furniture is great. All rooms have a microwave oven and fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMarriedManNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband was given needle nose pliers because our HVAC unit was down. If we didn't speak to Julien Sunday morning I would be angry. He gave us a free night and smiled and really showed he cared. This is a nice hotel with the most friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonBore1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St louis, MO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012 via mobile

Lansing is my hometown and although I live 8 hours away, there are many reasons to return. I have stayed many places in town but I prefer this Hampton. Do not be afraid of the age of the building or that it doesn't have the Hampton "look". Hampton purchased an existing building (green option) and it is very well maintained. I find it interesting a few people would leave reviews before asking staff to correct any issues. I find the staff here very friendly and helpful. Management has put together a great team. Our room met all of our usual Hampton expectations. At check-in on Saturday afternoon (MSU graduation weekend) BOTH front desk staff checked us in! We arrived back late after several parties and the room accommodations were comfortable. In the morning, breakfast staff were both friendly and efficient. It seemed many came later to breakfast but they were not refused. This is a larger hotel with only one elevator so if you need the best, fastest, and newest of everything, definitely pay more for that. If you are looking for value and don't mind stopping to smell the roses, stay at this Hampton. You WILL be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa32989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alger
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stay at the Hampton whenever we are in town. During our last 2 night stay (May 5th & May 6th) we had exceptional service from "Julian". We needed extra pillows and a blanket for our first night and Julian saw to it that they were delivered to our room right away. He is very personable, friendly,, and professional! Thanks again Julian!

Room Tip: We had 3 adults and 2 minors with us this trip. The 2room suite with a King sz bed, pull out couch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
7.9 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 525 N Canal Rd, Lansing, MI 48917-7710 (Formerly Hampton Inn Lansing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lansing
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lansing
#2 Family Hotel in Lansing
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lansing Hotel Lansing
Lansing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing