We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a non-smoking hotel”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2012

The hotel insists it's a non-smoking hotel. However, your room can easily fill with smoke as they allow smoking on balcony's of rooms which immediately goes through the other rooms. When I called the front desk, incredibly I was told that it's the law that people can smoke on their balcony's. This is a really ridiculous answer as this has nothing to do with the law - it's their hotel, they make the rules.

My son has bad asthma which is triggered by cigarette and similar smoke. I don't, but the stench is so bad you can't sleep.

I would NOT stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Thank you for your review and letting us know about your concerns about people smoking on their guestroom balconies.First off please accept our apologies.We are reviewing our policies in regards to this after reading your review so thank you for the feedback. We hope if your travels bring you to Lansing you will give us another chance to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 452 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at hampton Inn. The staff was friendly and I received excellent service from Angelo.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenisha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Thank you for your business and your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that our team took good care of you. We look forward to hopefully serving you again the next time your travels bring you to Lansing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

This was my first visit to Lansing and it was truly exceptional. I usually stay at Embassy Suites but since it was unavailable I stayed at a Hampton Inn. Just like every other Hampton Inn, I was warmly received, had every request met, and the place was mostly clean. The rooms were really small but since I was staying for just a night it wasn't a big deal. The breakfast left a little to be desired but Sue did a great job and kept feeding me mints every chance she could. Julian was so friendly not only on the phone but in person as well. Everyone else was nice. The only thing I would request a change for is the carpet: it's pretty bad and that's putting it very nicely.

5 stars for all.

Thanks, Patty.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for the comments about your stay a our Hotel earlier this month. Thank you for staying with us and we are very happy that you had a great stay. It is great to hear that our team members made your stay an enjoyable one. We apologize for the inconvenience of the couple things you mentioned. We are in the process of doing an extensive renovation to the hotel. We have just completed replacing all of the furniture, updating the window treatments, updating our technology with HD channels, and providing faster wireless and wired internet. Next month we new will be providing all bathrooms with granite counters and marble tub enclosures. We are very excited about the current upgrades and the ones to come very shortly. We hope to see you the next time your travels bring you to Lansing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stay at a hotel to get away for a day Or two and its usually here. I've never had a single prOblem. The housekeepers always smile, the breakfast always hot, and Julien is so funny!! I will always stay here when I need an escape

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darmisted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for the review "Always pleasant". We appreciate your business and thank you for your review letting others know about you experiences. We hope you are enjoying the upgrades to the facilities to go along with our great team members. We look forward to seeing you the next time you come to Lansing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Certainly not up to the standards of the rest of the Hampton chain. Not necessarily dirty, but certainly poorly maintained. 110 degrees in all the hallways, the lobby, and the breakfast area, IN THE WINTER ! Stayed here, instead of across town in the EAST Lansing Hampton, because it was 15 dollars cheaper. Not worth the money saved.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JuniorJuniorBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your review about your stay at our Hampton Inn. We apologize that we did not exceed your expectations during your last stay. We also apologize for the excessive heat in the public areas. We are currently in the process of renovating the hotel with new furniture, lamps, window treatments, and soon new bathrooms and with all of that hauling items in and out of the building the heaters have been working extra hard to keep the building warm. We would like to personally apologies and speak to you more about your stay so we can make it right in your eyes. If you would please call us at 517-627-8381 and ask for Josh Schaner we would greatly appreciate it

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

This hotel is so old and overpriced. I paid $119 for a regular room that smelled of old smoke that someone attempted to mask with a large amount of deodorizer. The beds were not entirely comfortable, and there were several ants found in the bathroom. In the morning, after a not so great night's sleep, I went to have breakfast. There was nothing all that great about it - "fake" egg product, disgusting sausage, unhealthy juice. Not impressed with this hotel. I could have spent my money a little bit better

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Owner at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Jason L
Thank you for the review of the hotel. We sincerely apologize that you did not have an enjoyable stay. We would like you to please call us at 517-627-8381 and ask for Josh Schaner our Manager as we want to make it right in your eyes. We have researched your concerns and would like to find out what room you were in as we have no complaints prior or after your stay of ant issues. Monthly we have a pest company come through and do preventative pest control to prevent issue like this from ever happening. In regards to the breakfast and the beds we follow our Franchiser Hampton Inn requirements for breakfast and type of beds we have in the hotel as every Hampton Inn serves the same breakfast and has the same beds. We have shared your concerns with Hampton and we thank you for the comments to share them .
Again, thank you for letting us know of you concerns and please call us as we want to make this right by you
Hampton Inn Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The stay was Great! Angelo was amazing. I loved the room and that the room was ready with a refrigator for food, as well as a updated television and cable. anything that was needed was taken care of as well as a great morning breakfast, of any food i wanted.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
0.5 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 26 in Lansing
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 26 in Lansing
300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 525 N Canal Rd, Lansing, MI 48917-7710 (Formerly Hampton Inn Lansing)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lansing
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lansing
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lansing
#2 Family Hotel in Lansing
Price Range: $85 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Lansing Hotel Lansing
Lansing Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing