We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dirty rooms”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Was surprised at the state of the hotel. The common areas were well kept, however the rooms leave a lot to be desired. Very dirty. Hair all over the bedding (including the sheets) upon check in. Were they even changed? Lots of dirt (etc) in the corners of the room, particularly noticeable in the bathrooms. Yuck.
I was most disappointed in the beds. Having never used a sleep number bed I was interested to try it out. BIG disappointment. Did not sleep well at all. The beds are obviously in need of replacement. The air bladder for the sleep number would not hold its air = not supportive. Disappointment since I was there to sleep!
Was a bit taken aback by the cost. Very expensive hotel then add in a hefty parking fee. Self park or valet, both expensive. Staff I encountered were pleasant. Management needs to up the standards for housekeeping and then hold them accountable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan1598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am truly sorry that you did not completely enjoy your recent stay at the hotel. I have been unsuccessful at tracking down your reservation based off your above username as I would have preferred to call you personally to apologize.

The cleanliness issues that you expressed are completely unacceptable, and I will address it with the housekeeping managers accordingly. I can also understand your frustrations with the sleep number beds. We do have rooms that have standard beds that may be more comfortable for you on your next visit. Please just let us know at the time of your reservation.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if I can assist any further or on a future stay.

Best Regards,
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    233
    158
    82
    51
See reviews for
129
69
37
639
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a $70 a night hotel with a $160 price. My room was full of Asian lady beetles... I mean full. The staff came quickly and removed them but I just couldn't get over how not nice the hotel was for the price. Stick with the Hilton's and holiday inns, radissons aren't worth the price anymore, especially when the breakfast is $15+ the next morning.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Chad,

I apologize for the interruption that you experienced due to the lady bugs in your room, and that we had to come and remove them. Our maintenance staff identified that they must have entered through the HVAC unit from the outside. They are working diligently to rectify this issue from occurring in the future, and I am sorry that this occurred.

Please feel free to contact me directly if I can assist any further.

Best Regards,
Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013

First the good news. Attended a conference held at the hotel. Check in was excellent, the overnight accommodations were good. The front desk was attentive. The conference rooms and meals by the hotel were nice. I have stayed at this hotel several times a year for many years and thought the front desk was at it's best.
The bad news. My vehicle and keys were missing from the valet parking after the conference. It was reported stolen and has yet to be located. How this occurred has not been determined at this time. Following the discovery of the missing vehicle the General Manager handled the incident as well as could have been handled. He arrange for my transport to where I needed to be 3 hours away. That was helpful and will influence my decision to stay at this facility in the future.He was helpful in the follow up information that is needed when a vehicle is stolen. However it is still a major concern for a valet service to lose a vehicle from their care. Especially true when one is many hours from home. I trust this is anomaly and will not be repeated.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Don,

Thank you for the appreciation and kind comments after your unfortunate incident. We have since re-established our operating procedures for the valet department to assure that nothing like this can happen again.

Please let me know if you are ever back in the area or if I can assist in anyway.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I expected much more form this hotel. My room was very dirty. The bedspread was visibly soiled, there were hairs in the tub and the coffee maker had grounds in it from a previous person. I have to stay at this location two more times in the near future for work and I am NOT looking forward to it. On the plus side the front desk staff were all friendly and welcoming, and valet was quick.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the third floor because your window is level with a roof and it creeped me out all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmarti8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not completely enjoy your most recent stay with us and for the housekeeping issues that you experienced. I see that you noted that you are returning in the near future, and I would appreciate the opportunity to make these shortfalls right for you.

Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your upcoming stays further.

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Spent an overnight with my niece. The valet took a few minutes to show up, and a $16 charge is assessed to your room each night for parking. The front desk staff was attentive, courteous and friendly. The room was very clean and featured sleep-number beds, although mine might have been a bit defectivec as it was on a different number in the morning than what I set earlier. The bathroom was clean, although it felt a bit dated. Single cup coffee maker in room but no refrigerator or microwave, although the hotel book said you could request a microwave. The information book very oddly directed one to off-site properties for fitness center and pool; I had to call the front desk to find if they actually had a pool and where it was (at the end of a corridor behind the front desk with no signage from the lobby elevator doors). Once I found it, the decent-sized pool was very clean as was the whirlpool; and the fitness center featured half a dozen machines including a recumbant exercise bike.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank das007ta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Va
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I checked in...the staff was courteous. Went to my room; it was a handicapped access room. I went to the front desk to tell them I did not ask for a handicapped access room and was told by the front desk staff they were told by their supervisor no to move anyone to any other room than where the guest is originally placed. Really? What about customer service? I told the staff I did not like the shower in handicapped rooms (and, I don't like that the door to the bathroom closes and cannot be left open). The staff said the hotel had two groups at the hotel, and they did not want to have to re-do the list if someone is moved. Really? I am a guest and do not like the room and cannot move? So, I sucked it up and tried to understand. The paint was peeling off on the ceiling of the bathroom also. Yucky. I did get a door stop from housekeeping to prop the bathroom door open, but it blocked the entrance door. Ho hum.
I called security one evening because there was too much noise next door. I gave it until 10 pm to call the front desk (they were the ones that called security, supposedly) to advise the noise level was too high for this time of evening. The noise was still going on between 10:20 to 10:30 pm.
I will not stay here again, ever! Just be forewarned. I know why I stay at Hilton and Marriott chain properties and do not recommend Radisson based on my experience here. It may be a property-specific incident, but I am not willing to stay here again. Would you?

Room Tip: Go to the supervisor directly to get what you want if the room doesn't meet your expectation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loist51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Lois,

I would like to personally apologize for the issues that you experienced throughout your stay. I have addressed these concerns with our Front Desk staff and Maintenance department. I did inspect the room after your survey, and did see the ceiling as you noted. This is unacceptable, and has been repaired since.

I am truly sorry that you did not 100% enjoy your visit with us; please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss anything further.

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Clemens, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Would definitely recommend this hotel. Outstanding service all the way around. Attended a wedding on 9.21.2013 and it was beautiful. The entire staff did a great job on everything. You couldn't ask for any better. The room was clean and enviting, just like home. Even the housekeeping staff were nice. I can't remember all the people's names I came in contact with, but a few that stood out. Allison the front desk manager, terrfic employee. Jodi was also a big plus. Jason the valet guy was very helpful. Everybody I had contact with at the hotel was very nice.

Room Tip: great view from our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I am so happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for the kind words, and I will pass on the appreciation accordingly.

Bryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
279 reviews
2.3 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
352 reviews
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 25 in Lansing
433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Lansing
Courtyard Lansing
#9 of 25 in Lansing
239 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol

Property: Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
Address: 111 N Grand Ave, Lansing, MI 48933-1360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Lansing Center, the city's convention center, the Radisson Hotel Lansing is conveniently located in downtown Lansing, Michigan. Connected to the Lansing Center, the city's convention center, the Radisson Hotel Lansing is conveniently located in downtown Lansing, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Carlson, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Lansing
Lansing Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing