We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Arrived & Not Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just Arrived & Not Pleased”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just checked into this hotel in Lansing. Upon arrival I pulled up to the hotel and was greeted by the Valet. When I asked if there was another parking option he informed me that he would park my car for $16.00 a day. I again asked for another option and he told me that I could park across the street in the parking garage for $10.00 a day. When I asked if I could unload my bags (I have a number of them due to supporting the military this weekend for drill). I was informed that I could not unload my bags, that I was in a Fire Lane (no sign for the Fire Lane, only two-sided that clearly reads, "Valet Parking.") and that I could receive a ticket for parking in the Fire Lane. He informed me that I would need to pull across the street, park in the garage and carry my bags across the walkway. Upon checking in at the desk by the very cold attendant, I was informed that since I did not use the Valet, if I left the parking garage for any reason and returned, there is a $6.00 return fee each time I move my vehicle. To say the least, I am not pleased. The room is very small, no microwave or fridge. Be careful when you leave that you pull hard on the door, I found mine standing open to realize that it sticks. Walking down the hallway I saw two other doors that were partially open, probably due to the same problem. I decided not to move my car and walk around the area looking for restaurants. The only good ones are very expensive (much more than government per diem) so I ended up eating at a sub shop. When returning from dinner on the elevator with another guest and asked him how he was doing and his exact remark, "this place sucks"......have no idea and didn't ask more. My only save is that I'm filling in for a co-worker for the weekend because he was on another trip. Have already emailed him warning him to book a different hotel. Not worth the price, the unfriendly staff, the costly meals, and the small room.....and I still have three more days here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear JRBilly,

I want to personally apologize for the issues that you experienced last night with the Valet parking and your guest room door. We do offer the Valet service as a once a day charge for your stay as a convenience. We can never give an exact charge for the city’s public parking structure due to the nature of them charging by the hour, and it is determined by the time that you are actually parked. I could have a maintenance technician come up, and adjust the door closure immediately.

I was unsuccessful at finding you in our reservations system this morning by your TripAdvisor username. I would greatly appreciate the opportunity to make this right for you, and turn your stay around for you the next 2 days. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel 517-267-3446 or ask to speak to the Manager on Duty.

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    225
    151
    78
    50
See reviews for
122
68
36
612
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What a wonderful stay we had at this hotel! The room was very clean, with nice comfy king bed, firm couch and plenty of room. In a great location with walkway to where out event was being held. Enjoyed the pool and hot tub for a little bit. Except for the lack of seating by the pool, everything was great there. Did not try the restaurants, but friends who ate there said everything was good. We enjoyed room service for breakfast. The valets, front desk personnel...really everyone at the resort could not have been more helpful or nice. Were able to help with questions with a smile and always helpful. I look forward to staying there for our event next year!

Room Tip: We had a room right off the elevator, close to ice which was convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDWBride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments. We look forward to hosting you again next year!!

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

The front desk crew was so kind. They truly went above and beyond! The room and pool area were clean. The sleep number bed was very comfortable. We had a king room with a pull out - the kids had no complaints about the sofa bed - it was pretty comfortable! We've been to many hotels - this one was as nice as many. But we haven't been to any that had staff like we found here! Amazing people!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowy Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this Radisson a year ago and I called it "sub-par for families." Now I would have difficulty recommending it to anyone. What a disappointment. I received a survey from Radisson asking how my stay was this year, and this was my response to them: There was long, dark hair mixed in our bath towels. There was no rack to put luggage on to unpack, which meant luggage had to go on the bed for unpacking. The blankets are like thin foam rubber; there are no extras in the closet - we spent the 1st half of the night shivering. Make it warner you say? We tried: The air conditioning took 2-3 hours to change temperature and there is no "off" for the fan. It is impossible to sit at the desk and not be windblown. At this price, Radisson's competitors offer a microwave and refrigerator in the room (and frequently, complimentary breakfast). It was possible to hear every word and cough through the adjoining room door; as I was traveling with 2 teen girls, I'm glad talk and cough was ALL that happened. The icemaker on the 4th floor doesn't work. Neither of the Sleep Number beds in our room worked; one was mushy, the other was rock-hard, neither responded to the remotes. The clock radio time was off by an hour; it was impossible to change the time by any method we tried - hasn't housekeeping noticed this before? Speaking of housekeeping, there was only Sweet & Low near the in-room coffee, no sugar, and cracker crumbs around the nightstand. The pool was freezing cold, the whirlpool only lukewarm, and there were no towels in the pool area. Add the insult of paying "real city" prices ($16) to park in this sleepy town and it adds up to knowing that, next year when we attend our Lansing event, we'll stay elsewhere - and you should, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room WITHOUT an adjoinng room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us this past weekend. I wish that we would've had the opportunity to make these items that you experienced right for you before your departure. If there is anything that you shared that you would like to discuss further with me, I would be more than happy to discuss. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel at your convenience.

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Radisson was very nice - clean rooms that were nicely appointed, staff was beyond helpful and polite, restaurant was good, etc. I have stayed here for the last 7 years for the same business trip and it has been consistantly a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirlkw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRadissonLansing, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your continued loyalty of 7 years, and your extremely nice comments about your recent stay.

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

My overall experience at the Radisson in Lansing MI was wonderful. The staff and accommodations were wonderful. Clean comfortable room, quiet surroundings, and welcoming staff! I had my first experience with a "sleep number" bed, which was interesting. The bedding was crisp and quite comfortable. The conference accommodations were great; rooms, foo

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Well I rolled into the Radisson in Lansing Michigan with my usual low expectations and was I surprised. Behind the desk were 7 of the lovliest,accommodating,enthusiastic young hotel employees I have seen in a long time. What a joy. How lovely to meet individuals who love their job and share their joy with their clients. 5 STARS! Thank you Radisson in Lansing!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madamadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmj0326, General Manager at Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful compliments about your recent stay with us. I will ensure to acknowledge our Front Desk team for their positive first impression that they set for your stay. I hope that your travels bring you back to Lansing, and we can host you as a guest again.

Best Regards,
Bryan Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
250 reviews
2.3 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 25 in Lansing
343 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 25 in Lansing
322 reviews
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lansing West
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 25 in Lansing
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol

Property: Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
Address: 111 N Grand Ave, Lansing, MI 48933-1360
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Connected to the Lansing Center, the city's convention center, the Radisson Hotel Lansing is conveniently located in downtown Lansing, Michigan. Connected to the Lansing Center, the city's convention center, the Radisson Hotel Lansing is conveniently located in downtown Lansing, Michigan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Carlson, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Lansing
Lansing Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing