We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of University Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
University Quality Inn
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Indiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Very clean and comfortable. Really nice common meeting area. Great Breakfast. Plenty of room for large groups being by a university. We were happy to get their last room as we were traveling thru MI. Michigan does not have enough hotels. Never travel without reservations. The manager held the room for a few minutes as we drove there so that we could have a room that night. He even discounted the rate because it was so late. Very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTravelSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you were able to stay with us during your trip. We hope to see you during your next visit to Lansing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    76
    51
    34
    31
See reviews for
89
58
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
detroit
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed just one night but I really enjoyed my stay. Check in was smooth and fast and the people at the front desk very friendly and extremely helpful. My friend and I are a bit silly sometimes and they actually joked around a bit with us.
Beyond that they have cookies at the front desk, a great free breakfast, and they give you beverage coupons. One for each person and one for each night of your stay good for well mixed drinks, beer, soft drinks and juice. It's a small bar but nice and you can pay the difference if you want to have them use top shelf.
The room was very clean and came with a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, ironing board and hairdryer. The only thing was with two girls...they definately need more electric outlets near the vanity and also could use another towel rack.
Bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet all night so we had no trouble sleeping. Our only regret was that we didn't have time to swim in the indoor pool!
Anytime I go to a concert or event in Lansing and need a place to crash...I'll go back to this Quality Inn. Oh and there is every fast food place imaginable within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hillystyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay. I hope the outlets weren't too much of an inconvenience! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed over the 4th of July weekend. We had a great stay there. There were tons of things that made our stay special - they have a nice swimming pool which I loved. They do have complimentary internet which was a plus. Free breakfast - waffles, fruits, cereal, toast, yogurt, OJ, coffee - which was really nice. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. Super convenient parking. Great location with Dunkin Donuts and Walgreens few steps away. Last but not the least, the most courteous and warm staff ever! They were incredibly friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. We couldn't have asked for more! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for your review! We're happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope you had a Happy 4th!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am very picky when it comes to hotels, but this place had NOTHING for me to complain about! My husband and I were in the area and needed a place to stay. The GPS brought up this place, and we really took a chance. It was VERY clean. We were given 2 "beverage" coupons, which could have been used for soft drinks, wine, beer, etc. They have a very nice pool. The breakfast is AWESOME! You can make your own waffles, in a waffle iron! They have hot items, fruit, and more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rivkahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for your response! We always love hearing that we've exceeded our guest's expectations. We hope to see you again! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights while visiting family in Michigan. The rates are reasonable and our expectations were low. We needed a place to sleep, basically. The rooms are rather small, the carpeting rather old, and the doors are difficult to shut without force; the hotel is a little worn. The positives: Exceedingly courteous staff, fresh, complimentary cookies, a nice swimming pool, and a bar with reasonable prices ($3 beers). The negatives: Tiny bathrooms with no ventilation, weak wifi connectivity, and a breakfast buffet (although free) from hell. We've never had a worse breakfast in a similar hotel. Even the coffee was awful.

I get the fact that tourist hotels are hit or miss, and my expectations aren't particularly high when I visit one. This place was passable and a decent value, but hardly a hotel I would seek out or use again if visiting the area. We have stayed in better on previous visits to the area.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Fiveputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for your review. We always strive to exceed our guests' expectations and I apologize that your stay fell short. We do have updates planned for the hotel that will address some of the concerns you mentioned. We hope you'll stay with us again during your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I found that the entire staff was very friendly and very helpful to make my stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Front desk people were fast and efficient, cleaning people were friendly, rooms were clean and neat. Parking was good. Morning breakfast was good with many options for eating, and in a clean room with attendant making sure all items were full. I will stay here again when I return to Lansing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for recognizing the efforts of our team. We hope to see you during your next trip to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I live in Northern Michigan and make frequent trips to the Lansing area, which requires an overnight stay. I've stayed at a number of hotels in the Lansing area, but this is one of my favorites. The staff are probably the friendliest of any hotel in the area. I am always greeted with a friendly hello upon my arrival. The rooms are clean. The workout room has equipment that actually works, and this is important to me, especially in the winter time when I don't want to go outside to run. The pool area and hot tub are nice. Kids really like the large pool and slide. If you want to have a beer in the evening the hotel has a nice bar near the pool area. MSU's campus is just a couple of miles away and is a beautiful area to go for a walk with your spouse. The breakfast is decent for a free continental breakfast, but I am not all that fond of the reconstituted eggs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonFawaz, Manager at University Quality Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thanks for your review! Our staff will be happy to see their friendliness recognized. I'll be sure to pass this along! We're working on sourcing out new breakfast items. Hopefully, our breakfast options are more to your liking during your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
7.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
7.6 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#1 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
8.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lansing
SpringHill Suites Lansing
#10 of 25 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Quality Inn

Property: University Quality Inn
Address: 3121 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912-4779
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Quality Inn is conveniently located right off of US-127, minutes from downtown Lansing, MSU, and within walking distance of 14 restaurants and 70 stores. The University Quality Inn offers rooms that are very spacious, a courtyard where you can enjoy the hotel lounge, indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. You’ll find that our hotel is a great place to gather with a group or have a relaxing getaway. We offer rooms with luxurious heart shaped Jacuzzis, and comfortable suites for the entire family. We offer special group rates for corporate events and meetings, weddings, sports functions and various other events. Ask us about our special rates for your event. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we are sure you will find just what you need at the University Quality Inn. We offer the utmost in customer service and satisfaction; we are committed to making sure that your event meets all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your University Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Quality Hotel Lansing
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn Lansing
Lansing Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing