We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“For what they had to work with” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Lansing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel Lansing
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Level Contributor
44 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For what they had to work with”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this property when it was a Holiday Inn , a Days Inn and now it is tired. The location is exceptional. The workers go the extra mile however it is tired. It was worth the price......... However by five am difficult to breath due to ?????? Shower did not work unless you enjoy hot to cold in sec. The sink had to be repaired. Microwave was laying on its side in a corner. Water pressure.......beds rough but clean....windows need cleaning. Not usually picky but.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sudekumdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    0
    4
    17
See reviews for
8
5
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmore, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This Hotel was the most Disgusting Hotel I have ever seen. Floors were dirty. Ceilings had fresh plaster from leaking, Halls smelled like smoke, Windows were dirty, Electric in our rooms didn't work in half the rooms in all of them we rented 7 rooms had youth group with us!! We had to stay couldn't get that many rooms on that late of time!! I really think state needs to condemn that building!!!

Room Tip: If you don't know the hotel don't rent a room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is one of the worse hotels I ever stayed. I had my sister book this hotel and she did not read previous reviews, big mistake! I wanted a cheap hotel just to crash since we were getting there around midnight and leave in the morning. I just need it a clean bed and bathroom, but this hotel did not provided it that. We got there around midnight night and the front of the hotel from the street looked like the hotel was not open for business, not a lot of light and no cars in the front. So we drove to the back and there were some cars. There was a guy rolling in a chair around the lobby, kinda weird. The front desk attendant was very polite and helpful, nothing bad to say about him. We got to our room and as soon as we got in we notice that he toilet was OBIOUSLY clogged. I have no idea how they "cleaned" the room, made the bed and then didn't cleaned the bathroom. So I had to call to get switch.

The towels were stained.
The bed sheets were stained.
The bed cover smelled bad.
The fire alarm was just hanging by the cables from the wall. I'm not sure if it was working.
The mattress cover came off so we were able to see a huge black stain on the mattress.

We had an emergency and had to leave the hotel 3 hours later after check in, I have never been more glad for an emergency.

Room Tip: Do not stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ari13apg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maglansing, Manager at Magnuson Hotel Lansing, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay was unpleasant. The conditions that you have described are NOT acceptable. We are happy to hear that our customer service was satisfactory. The hotel is in the process of renovating and we hope that the finished product will be more satisfactory. Once again i would like to apologize for your displeasing stay and thank you for your input. Appropriate steps to correct thees issues will be taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's not the worst hotel I've stayed at (only because I've stayed at two far worse), but...

At check in: no plugs for tub or sink. No ice bucket. When I asked for the last, they couldn't find a spare (in the entire hotel?). Second day, I returned in the evening to find there had been no maid service. Wet towels still there, bed unmade, no replacement of coffee.

On the side, wallpaper beginning to peel, crack in the toilet base, grouting on tile looks like it was done by an amateur. I didn't see any mold, but the weather was quite cold.

To be fair, the price was cheap, the bed good, and I slept well. But I won't be returning.

It's rather hard to find because Pennsylvania Ave. divides up at that point and is not well signed. If coming from the north, aim to go under the highway. Just before the highway, look to your left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Mold on the shower curtian. Mold on the caulk in the bathrub. Leaking faucet in bathtub. Poor TV reception. TV Remote does not work. Panels below window look like they could be pushed out. Elevator not working properly Walked down 3 flights to leave. I was happy to do so.
Do NOT STAY HERE!

The candid picture were from a time long, long ago.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
0.4 mi away
Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel
2.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
#19 of 26 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
8.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Ramada Lansing Hotel And Conference Center
5.7 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#14 of 26 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
4.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel Lansing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Lansing

Property: Magnuson Hotel Lansing
Address: 6501 S Pennsylvania Ave, Lansing, MI 48911-5966 (Formerly Day's Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Magnuson Hotel Lansing 1.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near Lake Geneva, Central Michigan University, Michigan State Capital Complex, Michigan State University, Potter Park Zoo, Sleepy Hollow State Park, Lake Lansing and the Ingham County Fairgrounds.The Magnuson Hotel and Suites Lansing offers guests an indoor pool, free Continental breakfast served from 6 am to 9 am, fitness room, free high-speed wireless Internet access, guest laundry, business center, fax/copy service, wakeup service, free parking with room for large vehicles and meeting facilities. Small pets are accepted with additional charges.Guest rooms may offer free high-speed wireless Internet access, coffee maker, cable TV with extra stations, hair dryer, iron/board, microwave, mini-fridge, free local calls, air conditioning, alarm clock and electronic door locks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Lansing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dad`s Hotel Lansing
Days Inn Lansing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing