We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVE THE FOOD” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Harvest Restaurant

Golden Harvest Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 443 Restaurants in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Springport, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LOVE THE FOOD”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Our daughter goes here all the time..small place but GREAT food

Helpful?
Thank Jimkaren2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    45
    19
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
258 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Best Food in Lansing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Choose one of the daily specials from the blackboard, you won't be disappointed. It's a tiny hole in the wall dive, very funky decor, but the food is amazing. It's like gourmet versions of diner fare -- I had lemon raspberry ricotta pancakes (YUM!). There's a line (outside, in all weathers) weekend mornings, but it's well worth the wait.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2011

Best breakfast in Lansing if you have the time to wait outside for a seat. The food is worth the wait the atmosphere is loud and sometimes obnoxious. Place is tiny and you might be sitting with people that you have never met but that makes it funky. If it wasnt for the loud music, it would get 5 stars.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank neckslappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

What a great breakfast and so worth the one hour drive just to try the Golden Harvest! As everyone has said you need to get there early before they open as the line gets long. The staff was great and my coffee cup was never below a half cup before it was refilled. The specials board looked great but we ordered off the menu and had the Suck It omelet and the homemade sausage biscuit. The home fries with cheddar and jalapeno were super but the jalapenos are fresh and HOT. If you love toast you have to try the Texas Toast toast. It is hot and buttery, grilled on the flat top and we both decided that it would be worth the one hour drive just to have an order of this amazing, melt in your mouth toast.
We also tried the grits with the homemade chorizo and cheese. I have never cared for grits but continue to try them, always with the same results, still not liking them. But these are different and delicious.
Golden Harvest is sooooo worth the wait that you may experience. It’s quirky, loud, an overall great experience and the very best breakfast we have had EVER in Michigan!
P.S. If they are busy, they may not answer their phone. Just head over anyway!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank destinationdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Recommended if You Have the Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

I love Golden Harvest. It is sort of an event, though, because you can't just drop in and eat - you have to plan ahead for it. I would give yourself at least an hour and a half. You'll probably wait outside for at least a half hour, but since it's a locals place, you can chat with your neighbors. You'll wait probably thirty minutes after ordering to get your food, which is always good and fresh. Everything's made to order.
Decor is full of local art and is fun to look at.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Harvest Restaurant also viewed

Lansing, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Golden Harvest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing