We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best”

Golden Harvest Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 446 Restaurants in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Best breakfast in Lansing if you have the time to wait outside for a seat. The food is worth the wait the atmosphere is loud and sometimes obnoxious. Place is tiny and you might be sitting with people that you have never met but that makes it funky. If it wasnt for the loud music, it would get 5 stars.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank neckslappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    47
    21
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back . . .”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

What a great breakfast and so worth the one hour drive just to try the Golden Harvest! As everyone has said you need to get there early before they open as the line gets long. The staff was great and my coffee cup was never below a half cup before it was refilled. The specials board looked great but we ordered off the menu and had the Suck It omelet and the homemade sausage biscuit. The home fries with cheddar and jalapeno were super but the jalapenos are fresh and HOT. If you love toast you have to try the Texas Toast toast. It is hot and buttery, grilled on the flat top and we both decided that it would be worth the one hour drive just to have an order of this amazing, melt in your mouth toast.
We also tried the grits with the homemade chorizo and cheese. I have never cared for grits but continue to try them, always with the same results, still not liking them. But these are different and delicious.
Golden Harvest is sooooo worth the wait that you may experience. It’s quirky, loud, an overall great experience and the very best breakfast we have had EVER in Michigan!
P.S. If they are busy, they may not answer their phone. Just head over anyway!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank destinationdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Recommended if You Have the Time”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

I love Golden Harvest. It is sort of an event, though, because you can't just drop in and eat - you have to plan ahead for it. I would give yourself at least an hour and a half. You'll probably wait outside for at least a half hour, but since it's a locals place, you can chat with your neighbors. You'll wait probably thirty minutes after ordering to get your food, which is always good and fresh. Everything's made to order.
Decor is full of local art and is fun to look at.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We've always liked what we've had at GH. The sausage is homemade and some of the best I've ever had. Be prepared to wait if you go around peal breakfast time on a weekend as the place isn't very big.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank kmvLansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This place can best be described as a "joint" and we loved every minute of it. It's a tiny hole in the wall that has a great vibe due to the loud music, but it was so much fun. The portions are HUGE and the prices are good. Definitely worth the wait. I only wish that I lived nearby so that I could become a regular!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston_Traveler614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Harvest Restaurant also viewed

Lansing, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Golden Harvest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing