We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and Great Food!”
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
Ranked #11 of 450 Restaurants in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and Great Food!”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I love their Fish Tacos. I always think I will order something different, but always order the grilled fish tacos and am never disappointed. The onion ring appetizers are crunchy and a huge mound with dipping sauce. They have mini desserts which are a bit or two that just hit the spot and a good top off. The best price is the prices. We fed 5 people with appetizer and mini desserts and the bill was under $60. The dining area is a little noisy, but staff is friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L82travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    55
    16
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a difference a fire makes”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Dirty, disinterested manager, poor service. Used to go to Chessars before the fire that closed them for months. When they reopened I gave them one try. Manager lacked the foresight to even offer an incentive on a future visit to ensure I gave them a second chance. It was poor!!! I only went once and it was years ago.

Helpful?
Thank Libby E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“what a nice place”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

one of THE best restaurants in the greater Lansing area. unique and pleasant, this place has an awesome variety. even my kids have chosen several different things,ON THEIR OWN!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jared C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

They have just average food. But they have a really nice fish tank. I wonder if that's where the fish in the picture came from?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, MI
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I may have had unrealistically high expectations, but I thought my recent visit was good, but not great. Our waitress was friendly, but when we told her we just needed another minute to review the menu, she didn't come back for about 15. We were on lunch, so this cut into our eating time. A plus: she offered refills on beverages without being asked, which I appreciate. I ordered a Diet Dr. Pepper which is a rare find (big plus) but I found it to be a bit flat. Not flat enough to send it back, but flat enough to be disappointing.
I ordered a salad (Chicken Pecan with the maple cider viniagrette) which was good but nothing spectacular. The chicken was grilled and hot, but otherwise it was just lettuce, shredded cheese, grape tomatoes and pecans. Again, good, but not great. The crescent roll with glaze should have been great but it was a bit hard and possibly in the oven a bit too long. My lunch companions are regulars and they ordered the chips and salsa, and a refill on it, so it must have been good. I didn't have any. One ordered salmon, the other ordered fish as well, and both finished theirs.

Maybe I was too picky today but I can't give this four stars when I didn't walk away thinking how great my lunch was today.

Will I try it again sometime? Sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MGoBlueGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 
Lansing, Ingham County
 
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing