We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“like it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clara's Lansing Station - CLOSED

Clara's Lansing Station
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
DeWitt, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Absolutely love the atmosphere , food and price. Customer service is excellent, all around great place for family get togethers or a quiet intimate dinner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loismarie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    76
    49
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shelby Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Decor, Blah Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Long an area favorite, Clara's isn't quite as good as it once was. The real attraction here is still the opportunity to dine in an old, nicely restored train depot and attached dining car. Although the outside is starting to look a bit shabby, the interior decor is quite nice: tasteful yet fun, with lots of reasonably authentic RR artifacts among the polished wood and stained glass. The food is just okay, not horrible by any means but not particularly outstanding either, especially considering the establishment's long-standing reputation as a destination or event restaurant. The servers are young and inexperienced, but enthusiastic and eager to please; management never seems present on the floor however, and things get confused during crush times or when a large party is present. Perhaps an exterior touch-up, better staff training, and a kitchen overhaul (pare down that giant menu!) can restore Clara's to a restaurant worthy of its reputation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eatsoutalot50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly disapponted!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I recently went to Claras for her birthday. She had the rib dinner which she said was good. I however, had just the opposite. I ordered the special of the day, Prime Rib. The priciest item on the menu. It was so tough, I could hardly cut it with the serrated knife they gave me. I told them this. I was offered another one. This one was the same, but it had au jus this time. Better, but not prime rib quality. Sorry! The manager even offered me a steak to replace these awful cuts of meat, but I declined. I brought it home to try to tenderize it somehow, since I paid alot for it. I was very disappointed that the manager didn't offer me some kind of reduced rate on my bill. Obviously, he is not very good at public relations. This restaurant used to have such good food and service; that's why we went there. It will be quite a while, if ever, when we return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
187 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Food so/so; still a good place to go”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is located in the old train station, it has a fun vibe and one can even eat in a railroad dining car located on the premises. The good is good enough but would not be a draw on its own. Still, it worth a go if you are visitng.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank zullsandraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Huge Menu; Great Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

When you go to Clara's, a good time is a guarantee. The food is really good, and the menu has so many options that it's hard to pick. On Sunday the brunch is fantastic - my favorite is the macaroni and cheese. The atmosphere is what sets it apart.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clara's Lansing Station also viewed

Lansing, Ingham County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing