We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potter Park Zoo

Potter Park Zoo
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Lansing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit more than 100 species of animals, many of which are endangered, including Black Rhinos, Siberian Tigers, Red Pandas and Snow Leopards.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice family place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

In comparison with all Zoo parks we have visited, I see this place as a B+ place, but we have enjoyed the day.
The animal display is somewhat limited but nice.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    127
    39
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level Contributor
513 reviews
130 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

We took our grandkids and they loved it. My daughter, who is used to the Detroit or Toledo zoos, couldn't get over how close you can get to the animals. It was very clean also.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Grrreat! A zoo the whole family can love.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

Potter Park Zoo is tree-shaded and so family-friendly. We visited for the first time on Labor Day and found it pleasantly busy but no crowd hassles of any kind.
The animal habitats looked clean and comfortable, and afforded great viewing of so many beautiful creatures. Photo ops galore! We look forward to many returns with our grandchild.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank paminthegarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing,mi.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“monkey shine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

the monkeys are the key attraction.....so funny...the zoo is never congested...the cost are low...enjoy your visit......

Helpful?
Thank anvilmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Desperately Needs Updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I know that Lansing loves this zoo, and it's a tradition and families can afford to go there and all that, but seriously, this place really needs updating. The enclosures are too small and the animals look bored and depressed. The big cats especially need a better habitat. The cats all spend their time pacing back and forth. Why? Because they're bored, that's why. I think the staff tries their best to make do with what's available, but they can only do so much with limited funding. I understand the city's attachment to the zoo, but I think we should be putting the animal's happiness and well-being before tradition and entertainment value.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ValentinoDrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potter Park Zoo also viewed

 
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Been to Potter Park Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing