We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a change” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Mecosta, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“what a change”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Best Western really stepped it up when they hired this owner , hotel was clean and rooms were very comforting ,I had a few drinks at the bar and Jenny was very nice and made me feel welcome ,the shuttle driver to the airport needs to shower and wash his jacket but other than that was a very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joseph w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Front Office Manager at Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience on tripadvisor! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    86
    49
    40
    43
See reviews for
95
42
27
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

I made my reservation through the 1-800 line. When I arrived at the hotel 15 minutes later they had given my King bed with jacuzzi room away. I understand that can happen with using a national booking system. However, the only room they offered me upon arrival was a room with a pull out bed. As in sleeping on the couch. I didn't think I heard right so I asked for confirmation that this was a pull out couch. And it was. When I said no thank you they remembered they did have one other room. With a murphy bed. What hotel has rooms where the only bed is a pullout couch? What hotel has room with a murphy bed? When I again said no thank you I was not offered any kind of assistance finding another room in a nearby hotel. Instead I went out to my car and found the number for the Holiday Inn that I had passed on the way and booked a room there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Front Office Manager at Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Hello Sir,

I apologize for the communication errors that you encountered during your stay.

We offer "parlor" rooms with just a pull out bed. While these rooms can be booked individually, they do connect another sleeping room to make a 'junior suite". However, due to our occupancy being so high we did not have the addition to offer you at that time.

I will work with our front desk staff closely to monitor this in the future and corrective action has been taken to assure that if something like this does occur again in the future our front desk staff will be prepared better in how to handle the situation and help with locating a room to a similar property in the area.

We appreciate your loyalty to the Best Western brand and hope you choose to give us another chance in the near future.

When booking your reservation please contact the hotel directly and ask to speak to myself. I will make sure things go smoothly as well as a great rate with a room upgrade.

Eric W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Lansing, Michigan, Usa
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel charged $20 more than I signed for without warning. I asked if there were any conventions the weekend I was making a reservation for and was told no, when there were actually 1700 teenagers staying that same night. The pool was out of towel on multiple occasions. Rooms are not soundproof at all, as my children could here a couple down the hall having sex.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Front Office Manager at Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Hello,

I apologize for the unsatisfactory issues that happened during your stay.

It is standard practice in most limited service and full service hotels to authorize an amount higher than the room charge per day. This is for any incidental charges that you may have during your stay.

Anything over the amount of your room gets sent back to your financial institution upon check out. Then it is up to your lender to process the amount due back which is usually 3.5 business days. We do have a sign on the front desk stating this.

Depending on when you made your reservation the front desk may not have known we had a group in house. We just received the group information a few days prior to entering them in to our sytsem.

There is a phone in the pool area to connect you to our front desk, just a quick call to let us know we needed to replenish the towels and this would have been taken care of quickly. With our occupancy being high and the amount of guests who use the pool our housekeeping staff was consistenly checking this area.

For the noise complaint, a quick call down to the front desk and we could of handled this issue quickly.

We have a great front desk staff who would of been willing to assist you during your stay. If you choose to stay with us again, please utilize them, they are here for you.


Eric W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel as a quick getaway after my father died. Booked the hotel through costco travel.com and trusted they would have reputable hotels under their travel section. This hotel looks awful from the outside but inside is very nice. I was pleasantly surprised. My mom and I were enjoying lansing and this hotel until during our last night I saw one bed bug walking across my white comforter and one dead bed big under the covers. We left immediately at 12:00 am during a snowstorm. Long story short, I had to fight with the Best Western (the actual hotel)for 2 1/2 months to even answer me. They did NOTHING. Didn't even want to refund our money. We had to throw away all suitcases,shoes,food and some clothing. We also had to purchase special spray so that we did not bring these bugs in our home. This placebos disgusting,unresponsive,rude and just don't care about their guests. Having to worry about bedbugs in my nightmare s on top of losing my father has not been a fun time. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita7740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Front Office Manager at Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out comments regarding your stay at our property.

I apologize for any issues that came up regarding your stay at our property. After reviewing your concerns through our corporate system it appears you were working with Best Western corporate most of the time who then contacted our property.

There is a delay when issues are trying to be resolved when going this route as the information has to travel through many areas. In the future please contact the Front Office Manager during your stay or after to resolve any issues or concerns.

We had your room checked by professionals right away upon checkout and there was no sign of any type of bed bugs in your room nor any others. This is an issue that hotels take very seriously and take preventative measures as well as have an outside company inspect on a regular basis.

Rest assured we have gone under a full renovation that included all guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Our AFC home was under construction and we (9 people + staffing) were to stay in the hotel for 4 days, which ended up being a 10 day stay. The hotel itself and the staffing were GREAT! I mean really great, they were helpful with all of our extra needs supplying us with extra items and cleaning when necessary. They were courteous, patient, and helpful around the clock I would recommend this hotel for people traveling or for long visits.

Thank you so much

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Front Office Manager at Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Good day,

We appreciate the positive review of our property, please keep us in mind the next time you need rooms in the Lansing area. It was our pleasure having your group stay with us at the Best Western Plus in Lansing, MI.

It is these little notes that mean the most to us. It shows that our staff are willing to put the guest first.

Thank you!

Eric W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yspilanti
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My buddy and I stayed the night after going to the Deer and Turkey Expo. We found this hotel online and got a great rate for a Saturday night. This place was huge, but very clean. The decor was updated and modern looking. Our room was big and very comfortable. The location was great and if I'm ever back in Lansing this is where I'll be staying!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BP242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric W, Front Office Manager at Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your night in Lansing, MI.

We appreciate the positive review for others to see, we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Thank you,

Eric W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lansing hotels
6.0 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
8.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lansing
SpringHill Suites Lansing
#10 of 25 in Lansing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
8.5 mi away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#3 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lansing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel

Property: Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel
Address: 6820 S Cedar St # US, Lansing, MI 48911-6907 (Formerly Best Western)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Causeway Bay Hotels (formally Best Western Plus) Lansing has a Romance Package!The Best Western Plus Lansing is promoting a Romance Package which includes: A Queen Whirlpool Bidet Room, Two Complimentary Dinner Entrees, Two Complimentary Continental Breakfast Tickets, and Late Check out until 2pm. You can also choose a Standard King Room as part of our Romance Package. Come share a weekend getaway with your loved one, or be spontaneous at any time! Our Romance package is available 7 days a week, and our Whirlpool Bidet Rooms are the most unique in Michigan!Call our Reservations Department , and ask for The Romance Package that only The Best Western Plus Lansing can offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing