We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Breakfast”

Fork in the Road Local Artisan Diner
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating
Brighton, MI
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Breakfast”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We visited on a recent Sunday and ordered the Biscuits and Gravy and the Breakfast 'Wich. Both were very good, The potatoes served with the Breakfast 'Wich had a little kick to them, and the ham on the sandwich was delicious.

We arrived around 1230 pm and it was very crowded. On Sundays, you place your order after reading from a small menu given to you when you walk in. After paying for it, we stood until we were guided to a table that opened up.

The wait for the food was a little on the long side, but truly worth it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiganMom167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    11
    12
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“always new ....”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fork in the Road is one of the most unique dining experiences. The management and staff are all about changing things up and keeping their offerings new and creative .... and damn good tasting
1

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisalice1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impeccable Food”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The use of local produce and products is very impressive. My husband had the Chicken Wings. The XL wings were presented in a row standing up,sprinkled with greens and peppers. He had the sauce on the side, so I gave it a try. I'm still craving that rich unique flavor honey, ginger, cumin, and many other unusual spices. YUM! I got a Veggie Taco and a Chorizo Taco, both were outstanding! Everything was very fresh. The concoctions of sauces are impeccable. Something you might expect from a fine dining fusion restaurant, but this is a casual contemporary diner. Fork in the Road puts out an outstanding gourmet meal for a great price.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prankstermary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
464 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Could be much better”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

From a truck to a building, it was time to try this old "tastee freeze location" i have always known.First, I love soups of all sorts. The couple soup selections seem to be awesome but a few more would be nice. The taste of my soup was awesome.My first problem were the prices are a little high especially when my soup bowl is not full when presented....about 3/4. Also, a piece of bread, any, should be served with the soup. It was not. Drink prices are too high. My pulled pork sandwhich was very thin and not of good proportion to the price. Food seems fresh.I can usually eat at 1/2 the price for what i ordered and i realize that the quality is probably superior to that but i think that FITR is close but needs work.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
362 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had heard many friends speak of the local quality of Fork In the Road. It is true, FITR is doing as much as possible with local farms, and smoke their own meat right there in the parking lot. There is a VERY LIMITED menu each day. Also, while I am all about supporting local, non-chain restaurants, this was quite expensive for what we received. It is also a very small space, so go early for lunch or have a very long wait. The sandwich was tasty, but the artisan bread was toasted and very hard. Not really any kind of side with it, except a 2 tablespoon portion of red cabbage slaw, which was tasty. Drinks are very expensive, although I did enjoy the root beer. With Soup Spoon Cafe right downtown, I will probably not return to FITR.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MSUmindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fork in the Road Local Artisan Diner also viewed

 
Lansing, Ingham County
Lansing, Ingham County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing