We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Lansing East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Midland, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here in November, 2013 and the place was nice and clean. In March 2014 we found the bedspread was stained, the floor was not vacuumed, and the room not dusted. There was stains on the chairs, alarm clock, and telephone in the room. Heater was broken, either the room was hot or no heat, nothing in between. The hotel has gone down hill; fast. Too bad they had just remodeled.

Room Tip: No elevators, no coffeemakers in room, (there is hot water in the lobby), no breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HHicker115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
I apologize that you did not receive the service and quality you except while staying at a Red Roof Inn, There is no excuse for this on our part and I ask that you contact me at my E.mail address I0029@redroof.com so I can resolve your problem. I thank you for responding on trip advisor and look forward to your correspondence and again I apologize and hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    24
    13
    29
See reviews for
32
17
32
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbiaville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here while attending a course. The staff was very friendly and even gave me direction of how to get to the venue where the course was offered. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for responding on trip advisor and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit and we thank you for staying at Lansing East. I will share your kind words with the staff as the love to here what our guest tell about there visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and comfortable adequate rooms. Typical Red Roof standards, no frills pretty good value. Room had newer flat panel tv, carpet and clean comfortable bed. Towels were a bit worn and very small and rough. Overall I thought this was a nice property and a good value. I marked cleanliness down a bit because of dirt around the edges and quite a bit of dirt and junk behind night stand.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Driverjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to respond on Tripadvisor our goal is to provide a clean comfortable room at an affordable price for all our guest. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay. I will share your thoughts with the staff so we can approve our performance in the eyes of our guest and thank you for staying at Lansing East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Very nice for price. Enjoyefd our stay. Water good. Front desk staff during day took forever to answer the phone or didn't answer but otherwise ok could use to clean better but for a red roof it's acceptable

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank anjill4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your kind words we try very hard to please our guest and provide a clean comfortable room,This staff loves to interact with guest and find out there needs and how to best serve them..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

If you read my review of Super 8 Jackson MI you know that we had a horrible experience. We were forced out of our home due to a major power outage. Red Roof Inn East was full until December 28. We spend two night there and it was GREAT! VERY reasonable. Clean room and awesomely comfortable beds. Kudos to the desk staff who had been tremendously busy all week but still had a wonderful and warm attitude. They were hospitable, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
I am very happy that we were able to provided you with a room during this difficult time for so many in the Lansing Area. My Staff try's very hard to make all our guest fell at home and have a relaxed stay as much as possible. Thanks for staying with us and please stay again when the need arises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This was a room with a bed and a dingy bathroom. Nothing more and nothing less. There was no coffee maker, no hair dryer, no facial tissue, nothing. There was a dirty washcloth in the shower and the tub floor was discolored and dingy upon check-in. I believe this should be classified as a one star or at most, a one and a half star hotel.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond on trip advisor,I apologize that you did not have a great stay and that my staff did not clean your room properly upon check in. We try very hard to provide a clean comfortable room for all along with a friendly smile. We do have rooms available that do have both blow dryers and coffee makers as well as irons and ironing boards but they cost a little more than a standard room. Please try us again and we will upgrade you to a superior king or a deluxe two beds for the standard room price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lansing hotels

Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

In an emergent situation due to ice storm and no power at home, we went to the Red Roof in Lansing East. Very friendly staff, very accommodating, great cleaning staff, and dog friendly. I would highly recommend this motel. A special thanks to Kelly, Rita, Mark, Dave and Joel, hope I didn't forget anybody. Great job to the staff for kindly helping people and being understanding of the situation many were in, when a lot of Lansing has been without power for 3 + days. Thanks to all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaniceScott213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof29, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Lansing East, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Thank you for your review on trip advisor,
We appreciate your kind words and our staff try's very hard to provide clean comfortable rooms for all. I will share your kind thoughts with the staff and please visit us Gain in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lansing
8.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lansing West
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites - East Lansing M.S.U
3.6 mi away
University Quality Inn
University Quality Inn
#13 of 25 in Lansing
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel
3.3 mi away
East Lansing Marriott at University Place
9.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 25 in Lansing
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Lansing East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Lansing East

Property: Red Roof Inn Lansing East
Address: 3615 Dunckel Rd, Lansing, MI 48910-5821
Location: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Lansing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Lansing East 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Red Roof Inn Lansing East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Lansing
Lansing Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing