We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Run-down”
Review of Lakeside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lakeside
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakeside Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Little Run-down”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

While there is some rustic charm, there is a lot of broken-down-ness to the Inn and the house of 11 gables next door. In a house that supposedly sleeps 10, we tried to sleep well with 7 people and it was tough. There are antiquated springy mattresses on the very small beds. One out of two toilets hardly worked (after having maintenance work on it twice) and the other one was not great. The shower has mold.

While the dining room has a beautiful copper table, the kitchen is pretty crummy and the living room is hard surfaces--a rattan couch, and wood rockers. Cute, but not comfortable.

I suspect there are lots of nicer places to stay near New Buffalo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank essentialresearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    20
    15
    10
See reviews for
25
55
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Rockers on the porch and swings for relaxing, lodge like atmosphere, definitely a throw back to a time of no tv, internet, or cell phone usage. 150 steps to the water down a pretty steep hill.
Didn't learn that the toilet in our room was broken until 9:30 ish pm when we settled in for the night. Nothing gross, it just overflowed. We called the front desk and got a recorded message. So we went downstairs to the front desk and saw a post it note that said to call #103 or see the night manager in room #3. No one was in room #3, no one answered the phone at #103 except again a recorded message. There was a book in our room that gave some 'alternative' phone numbers. Called a couple of times then when we finally reached someone, he was huffy but said he would be there in 15 minutes. Around 10:30 I had two elderly gentlemen crammed in our tiny bathroom violently plunging. One of them kept flushing making water run all over the floor. There was definitely comic relief in the conversation we listened to for half an hour but after a day of travel and the beach, humor was fading. We inquired as to just moving to another room but received a harsh 'be patient it is only 8 pm' from the eldest man. I glanced at the watch on his wrist which had been put on upside down. It was 10:45. The other gentleman said they were booked and there were no other rooms. So we waited, more thrashing, then finally one of the men emerged sloshing mop and bucket. The oldest gentleman was still flushing the toilet over and over commenting on needing a plumber. We received instructions that a plumber would come at 10 am the next morning and given the plunger. We asked if it was usable tonight, the eldest gentleman said yes and proceeded to flush it again. Yup it flushed without spilling over, we thanked them and they left. The pictures attached are of the dried toilet paper stuck to the floor discovered the next morning. Also, our view less room and the dark hallways.
After a long night on a hard full size bed that passed it's prime decades ago with ancient polyester filled pillows and 100 count hole ridden sheets we were packed and out by 8 am.
I don't mind quirky or rustic but too many things have been unchecked at what probably was a grand resort once upon a time. Now it is in need of basic amenities and at $180 a night, we really over paid.

Room Tip: Can only speak for room #31. Didn't eat in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hititorquitit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lakeside hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

There are many places to stay near Lake Michigan in the summer, but the Lakeside Inn is one of the best. A getaway for folks from Michigan, Illinois and Indiana nestled on the sandy shores of the lake. Rooms are nicely redone so each has a private bath and AC. Feels like you are staying with friends not a hotel. Big enough to avoid the awkward feel of a bed and breakfast (no sharing baths or tables with strangers here). Short drive to Union Pier and New Buffalo with great shops and restaurants. Needless to say we will be back again. :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mills93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I will preface this review by saying that our original plan was to go with friends who have a young child. My husband and I do not. They had to cancel their plans, and we decided to go anyway. We had no prior knowledge of the Inn, and booked it based purely on the fact that our friends had been before. All I can say is that I am now a little baffled as to why they would choose this place. My first reaction when I arrived was "this looks like the hotel from The Shining". It was very hard to shake that feeling. As to the hotel itself, there is no denying it's old. In every way. Decor, plumbing, bedding, furniture, etc. I don't think anything can be younger than ten years. Including the sheets. What I find the hardest thing to understand is why this place is so expensive. We paid $318 incl. tax for two nights. Yes, admittedly it's July so it's peak season, but this place has no amenities. The room was tiny, barely fitting a double bed (definitely not the queen it claims to be on the website), bare floors, no bath, and paper thin walls. The worst though were the apparently paper thin floors as well. If we hadn't seen the family of four coming out of the room above, we'd have thought it was a herd of elephants. As least with the thin walls, we could just say in our normal talking voices how we hoped the people next door would turn the sound down on the movie on their laptop - they obviously heard, and did so. All I can assume about the Lakeside is that it must be the proximity to the lake, and it's own beach. Final word: if you like rustic, Stephen King novels, taking a vow of silence, or paying far too much for the experience, this place is right up your alley. PS: avoid room 6.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Clyststmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is an old building with a lot of charm and history - just right for our stay. And it's located in a beautiful part of Michigan, near good restaurants and shopping and just across the street from Lake Michigan. But some potential guests need to know what to expect. Internet and cell phone service is spotty, dependent on room location, time of day, and other variables - though the signal is generally strong in the sitting area near the front desk. All the rooms don't have television, so if that's important, check when making reservations. I don't think there's an elevator - I may be wrong - but there are rooms on the first floor. The beach is lovely, but it requires a descent (and subsequent ascent) of over 100 steps (the number differed each time we counted!). It's age is part of the charm, but be prepared for vintage stained sinks and a very rugged sidewalk that caused us to stumble a couple of times. They do serve a good breakfast (not included in the room charge) and for our two mornings there we dined in once and then drove to the Swedish Bakery the next morning - we highly recommend it. With all the qualifications mentioned above, we'll stay there again the next time we visit. Charm rules! And we left our laptops home.

Room Tip: There's a LOT of variety in the rooms. Ours was smallish and simple on the second floor, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dstring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just got back from a one nights stay at Lakeside Inn. It was absolutely wonderful. I loved the rustic appeal to it. If you are looking for a modern, hotel feel, you will probably not like it here. The lobby area was gorgeous with antique furniture and fireplaces. My boyfriend and I started a fire and had some wine. It was romantic and cozy. There were not many people in the lobby area so we had it all to ourselves. Our room was a little small and they don't have T.V.s, but that was perfectly fine with us. The bed was comfortable.

Lakeside Inn also has a private beach across the street. We walked over there at night at just sat and enjoyed the water. It was such a calming experience.

I plan on visiting again! Also it is nearby plenty of restaurants and wineries.

Great experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoXraygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This past weekend I went for a Gals Weekend at the Lakeside Inn! What a wonderful, warm, cozy, old-timey spot!
The beds were comfortable….the location was wonderful (It was close to Soe's in Sawyer (dinner) and Luisa's in Harbert (lunch) It was up on a bluff overlooking the gorgeous Lake Michigan!
The common spaces were perfect for reading and visiting in front of 2 roaring fires, playing cards and having snacks!
The porch with porch swings and what seemed like 100 rockers was lovely to bundle up and listen to the March waves crashing!
This the perfect spot for a family, a romantic rustic retreat or any gathering whatsoever!
I can HIGHLY recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michiganartgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lakeside
21.5 mi away
The Inn at Harbor Shores
The Inn at Harbor Shores
#2 of 6 in Saint Joseph
188 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express New Buffalo
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express St. Joseph
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Boulevard Inn
Boulevard Inn
#3 of 6 in Saint Joseph
250 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites New Buffalo
14.0 mi away
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
Blue Chip Casino and Hotel
#4 of 16 in Michigan City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Inn

Property: Lakeside Inn
Address: 15281 Lakeshore Rd, Lakeside, MI 49116-9712
Location: United States > Michigan > Berrien County > Lakeside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lakeside
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Lakeside Hotel Lakeside
Lakeside Inn Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing