We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northern Italian In Northern Michigan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Fortuna

Bella Fortuna
Price range: $11 - $58
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open seasonally mid-May through October. Bella Fortuna North serves the finest Tuscan dishes featuring fresh local produce in a casual yet elegant atmosphere. Dine like a Florentine when you choose from any one of our classic menus. Enjoy our dinner menu in one of our exquisite dining rooms or our Terrazza menu when you dine on our award winning terrace. Our house wines are fine Tuscan imports available by the glass or by the bottle. Enjoy a spirited game of Bocce on our Bocce Court then relax at our Bocce Bar before dinner. We look forward to your visit in the 2017 season!
Shelby Twp
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Northern Italian In Northern Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

As soon as you walk in you are comforted with warmth and welcome. The decor is understated elegance, contemporary but not cold.
The food is well prepared and plated. The chicken lemonella was tender, flavorful. The
caprese was excellent and traditional. Try the linguine with aioli.
The chef comes here from Florence during our high season, his preparation is standard fare in the Northern region of Italy!
Worth a visit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    16
    11
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Jewel in Northern Michigan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I and another couple returned to Bella Fortuna. We had eaten there last year and wanted to try it again this trip up north. It is always nice to have your initial impressions confirmed. The restaurant was as good as we remembered. The ambiance of the restaurant is perfect. Tables are nicely spaced apart, there is not the din that seems to be fashionable in so many restaurants today making it possible to actually engage in conversation. There is also a lovely outside dining area with a bocce court. If there is one negative, it took a a little longer than necessary to get our drinks, but the food was wonderful. I had a Tuscan duck soup with pieces of duck in the broth. The pasta dish we shared was perfectly cooked fresh made pasta with an excellent bolognese sauce. The veal scallopini was saltimbucco was excellent. We decided to share a tiramisu for dessert. This dish which has been so overdone and debased in many restaurants was exactly as it should be. What a pleasant surprise. The cost of dinner, while not cheap, offers excellent value for the money spent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pacaconn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner at Bella Fortuna”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

After a lovely Sunday brunch at Bella Fortuna,, we went to dinner..a week later...The chicken was in edible. Highly saturated in salt, marinated in lemoncello. The veal scallopini was thick with gristle running through it. When we pointed this out to the manager, she apologized. We said that we would be canceling our table for 6 for the following week, she offered us a beautiful private dining room....no thank you... We go to a restaurant for the quality of the food not the decor. We will not be going back for dinner anytime soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnetka, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a turnaround!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I first ate at this restaurant when it first opened over a year ago. The service at that time was poor and the food inconsistent. I ate there again yesterday and it was terrific. The food, I had the crostini and the duck, were excellent and the service was top notch. The wines by the glass list was small but very well thought out. We will definetly return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiDineWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Tuscan respite among us!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This lovely place is an absolute must on your itinerary. Visit once and you will probably visit often. My husband and I made this our destination for our Anniversary dinner last year. And have brought guests too, who completely loved it! The atmosphere, the service and most importantly - the food is par excellence! We had no preconceived notions other than we knew we would experience something Florence inspired. This is an entry to a true European experience. No pretentions, though it is quite lovely. Slow food with many local ingredients, you are encouraged to savor without hurry. Sunday brunch was not a gluttonous affair, just very well prepared and presented food choices with soft live guitar accompaniment. The owners, who also live a portion of the year in Florence, are on-site and so gracious. They made us feel very much at home. He responsible for bringing ballet to Indiana and she an art historian with a recently acclaimed book-become PBS special (Emmy award) on women artists of Florence. Bocce ball you say? Yes, a terrific court outside next to the restful outdoor seating. Lessons and leagues exist. Cooking lessons. Yes. Daily affordable delicious lunch - absolutely! You will be most comfortable in your every day casual or your best decked garb. All are welcome with the emphasis on being WELCOMED.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3rdtrimester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bella Fortuna also viewed

Suttons Bay, Leelanau County
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 
Glen Arbor, Leelanau County
 

Been to Bella Fortuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing