We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Charm, Cheap and Easy”
Review of Jolli Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Leelanau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jolli Lodge
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Rustic Charm, Cheap and Easy”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Jolii Lodge is truly a unique experience! Low key, low cost and very comfortable. We felt as if we were staying at a relative's home rather than a hotel. The sunsets are breathtaking. Amenities abound - kayaks, paddle board, pedal boat, Hobie cat, bicycles, zip line, beach chairs, tennis court. I wish we'd had more time to spend here. This is not the place to go in order to impress your chic friends who may not understand the charms of sharing a bathroom with the other lodgers or the occasional spider, but if you want to relax, enjoy the lake and the woods and have a family-friendly time in beautiful Michigan - this is the place.
P.S. They iron the sheets in an industrial roller-iron dating to the 1950's- how charming is that?

Room Tip: Lake facing rooms are beautiful. Some don't have a bathroom, but have a sink. Doors lock with ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePrisoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wonderful opportunity to visit. It defines vintage. Quiet. Ideal for someone who wishes to unplug although wifi is available in the lodge. Enough beach to walk. Not air-conditioned but steady Lake Michigan breezes keep you cool.

Room Tip: This location offers lodge rooms with shared baths as well as detached units that are apartments. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPV, CA
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just returned from a wonderful family vacation on Lake Michigan at the Jolli Lodge. In this case, the location really made the vacation great! There were 22 of us staying in 4 apartments/lodges and two rooms in the main lodge. The setting couldn't have been more spectacular with over 700 feet of shore line fronting the lodge. There are beach chairs, kayaks, stand-up paddle boards and tubes for all to share, as well as at least 3 fire pits for evening bon fires. The property has room for football, soccer and other team games, not to mention a shuffle board court, a play ground and bikes to borrow. The kids had the run of the place and could be found outside all hours of the day, or camped in the lodge playing games together. The property has several weber grills, which we used on several nights to cook large family dinners. The accommodations are simple and plain - nothing fancy, and you are sharing the property with many spiders, but it isn't too bad. You need to bring your own linens if you are staying in the apartments/lodges - don't forget kitchen towels, and if you need something specific for a recipe or meal you plan to make it would be wise to bring it. We have seen 5 of the apartments and recommend Grace Upper - both large and small. Large has the most common space and the largest eating table, as well as a fireplace. Greg is an amazingly generous, hard working and accommodating host. Go spend a week at his place and you will wish you had booked two!

Room Tip: Talk to Greg about your needs. Some of the rooms only have twins, and sometimes when they say twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Last summer marked our family's 26th consecutive summer visit to the Jolli Lodge. As in the past, both of our grown children made the trip even though our son lives in Europe. In addition to our son, his fiance who is from Brazil also joined us. To say that we love this place is an understatement - it has meant so much to our family because of all the experiences we have shared there together. For a family with young children, I can think of no better place to come. The beach is right at your doorstep and if it's a "rain day", the Lodge is always open for card games, board games or just sitting around talking or reading. Over the years our kids have met and become lifelong friends with others who have stayed at the Jolli. Yes, there are bugs, and no the Lodge is not in tip top shape, however, the owners are the most accommodating family you could ever meet and the location is on one of the nicest beaches I have ever been. To that point, after having spent a few days at the Jolli, I asked our future daughter in law what her impression was. Her answer was - Seu o mais belo lugar do mundo - Its the most beautiful place in the world.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend with the girls (6). We had two adjoining apartments with lots of room for all of us. We each had our own bedroom, and, with two baths, living rooms, and kitchens, there was room enough to do whatever you wanted. Granted we were gone during the day and at night we hung out together in the larger living room area. The lodge is just that - a lodge. It's not a fancy hotel with any stars or diamonds. It's clean and comfortable.

I was here in the late fall but I can see how it would be in the summer with lots of families staying here. The beach is just a few steps away and there are decks, tables, and a fire pit. I would think about coming back in the summer. I wouldn't want a beach place where I had to worry about being too careful of tracking sand on the floors or keeping things spotless. I want to relax and enjoy the outdoors and boy do they have the best view! It's right on Lake Michigan with expansive views of the water and you can open the windows to let the beach music lull you to sleep at night.

We went shopping in Traverse City and the smaller towns, did some winery touring, and ate at some great little restaurants - Martha's Table in Sutton's Bay was Fab! All in all we had a great time. Fall colors were beautiful!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mittengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

While my husband and I have travelled to Leelanau County for years, this was our first time to Jolli Lodge, and I was a bit nervous based on the mixed reviews here. Now that it's all said and done, I have to say - we loved it and would do it again!

It really comes down to the type of lodging experience you seek that will determine if you love Jolli Lodge or you decide it's not for you. If you seek a pampering, boutique hotel with nice toiletries, linens and details, this isn't going to suit you. But if you like a place with historic charm, a nod to its rich past as a Lake Michigan summer resort but don't mind it being a little rough around the edges, you'll be fine at Jolli Lodge.

We rented a small room in the lodge, and we found it to be just fine for our needs. The beds were very comfortable (check ahead on room configurations, as many are twins), and I absolutely loved how dark and quiet it was at night. The six rooms do share one bath, so you also have to decide if that's for you (if not, you can always book an apartment or cottage).

Could the place have been a bit cleaner? Yes. I didn't see anything scary, just some cobwebs on light fixtures. Could some of the fixtures be more updated in the bathroom, hallway and living room? Sure. We could overlook it because of what else it offered. We loved the nod to history like the old advertisements framed in the hallway when the place was first advertised for sale - it was "The Duck," a rambling sportsman's estate when the family bought it. I love that I can imagine all the families who came before us, enjoying that same common room and front porch. And the TV, albeit a little old - does work! Greg made us a beautiful, roaring fire that we cozied up to with our wine and appetizers while watching college football. Heavenly.

And finally - I love, love, LOVE that view. That 700 feet of sugar-sand beachfront on Lake Michigan is why you go to Jolli Lodge. Whether you want to take out one of their free-for-guest-use kayaks, walk on the shoreline, read a book in the hammock or sip wine on the porch. The amenities of the room fade into the background as a consideration because, unless you want to stay in your room all day, it doesn't matter because you're outside enjoying the grandeur of nature from the property.

Maybe it's also okay that some of the lodge details are a bit well-worn, because the price is an incredible value. If you were paying $200 per night, these things might be more concerning. But I'd rather tuck a few extra dollars in my pocket, put up with slightly worn decor, and spend an afternoon or weekend looking at that million-dollar view.

Room Tip: Call and talk to one of the proprietors before you book - they're wonderful at listening to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is probably the 5th or 6th time we have been to the Jolli lodge. I so enjoy this environment. The Lodge is situated on the lake at the base of a bluff which you cant see from the road. There are several buildings on the property. The room I am staying in currently was also occupied by J. Harrison who wrote his famous Legends of the fall. It was actually a private home when first built. The Lodge has several rooms which share bathrooms. No T.V. in the rooms here, no air conditioning. There is great coffee in the lobby area and a T.V. in the common room. Many pieces are quite old and it is obvious there is much history to this place. The beach is breathtaking and area is surprisingly quiet. There are several water crafts (kayaks, paddle boat, tubes ) available for your enjoyment. There are many attractions and fine dining available in Leland. Vinyards very close by (one right across the road) open for tasting. The local roads (although not all in the best of repair) are great for cycling. This is a quiet retreat with alot of charm. It is relaxing for certain. Cell phone reception is not good on the bluff (so work wont be able to follow you on vacation) Your aircard won't work. Greg Jolliffe has WIFI available to all no charge. Remember to bring your own water because sulfer water exits the faucet here. Enjoy your stay. The fall in early Oct prices drop and colors pop. Dont miss it!!

Room Tip: rooms in lodge share bathroom (all but 1) Greg also allows pets in spring and fall
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Leelanau
2.9 mi away
The Leland Lodge
The Leland Lodge
#1 of 2 in Leland
76 reviews
17.1 mi away
West Bay Beach, a Holiday Inn Resort
20.3 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
The Sylvan Inn Bed & Breakfast
18.4 mi away
Empire Lakeshore Inn
Empire Lakeshore Inn
#1 of 3 in Empire
266 reviews
12.2 mi away
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
M-22 Inn Glen Arbor
#2 of 3 in Glen Arbor
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jolli Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jolli Lodge

Property: Jolli Lodge
Address: 29 N Manitou Trl, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653-9592
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Lake Leelanau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Leelanau
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Jolli Lodge Lake Leelanau, Leelanau County, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing