We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointed!!!”
Review of Wild Cherry Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Leelanau
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wild Cherry Resort
Reviewed July 26, 2013

They promote an RV Resort, however, no bathrooms, no pool, they told us we could not bring our dog because he was too big. When we got here there were bigger dogs. ours is a lab. We spent $100 to board our dog at home. They said we had a lake lot, but it's a tiny pond. They say they are located in Traverse City but its much further, in Suttons Bay. Our daughter booked a tent spot.....no tents here but they took her money when she could have stayed on our spot. Club house is just a pretty picture on the Internet. Do not waste your money! Our assumption of a resort is at least a bath area and a pool. False advertising!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Downhome_61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Sorry about your disappointment.

In regard to dogs we do set some regulations regarding size and breed. But we also make exceptions if the dog owner asks, which would have been granted regarding a lab. Our park is located is in the heart of Leelanau County, 15 miles from Traverse City, or about a 20 minute drive. All of our sites are full service, which include 50 amp elect, sewer, and water, cement patio, wi-fi, etc. We do not as noted have a bath house as it is not needed at this stage of our development. In regards to "tent camping" our tent sites are located in the woods with a level site, we have 10 nice tent sites but do not provide the "tent" as I assumed you expected

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 33 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a joke this place was. We rented the yurt with the hope it would be a nice difference from a tent. Turns out a tent would have been better. There was holes in the ceiling where bugs could fly in. The cob webs hadn't been cleaned in months maybe even years. We tried to tell the owners and all they did was tell us it's all part of the camping experience and that we should save them time and leave immediately. Owner and his wife were disrespectful and wouldn't go there again if they paid us. Lake is a mighty small pond you don't even want to go near. Overall wish I had picked a different campground. Do not stay

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank camp_connoisseur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

I'm not quite sure what these quests were expecting or looking for.

The Mongolian Yurt is located in the woods and has a sky light that when closed rest on the ceiling. Bugs cannot fly in when closed as it was at the time of their arrival.. No holes in the ceiling. The lake can be seen on our web site at www.wildcherryresort.com it is a 3.5 acre lake.

The cob web did exist on the candle chandelier which must have been missed during the cleaning. The yurt is cleaned after each use but sometimes it may go a week between uses. not years, remember you are in the woods so it can happen.

I believe the young lady was not use to camping but you cannot blame Wild Cherry Resort because there are bugs in the woods.

The yurt has a queen size bed, dresser, table and chairs, and is far better than sleeping on the ground. The cob web was cleaned and the next guest loved the yurt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We planned a 4th of July vacation in February '13. I emailed the resort because they have rules regarding what type of trailer and pets you can bring. They seemed very accommodating and friendly to speak to when I called to place the reservation. That is was the last pleasant encounter we had. We were given a nice big site when we made the reservation but that was it the site they gave us when we got there.
Pros: very clean and quiet
Cons: no firepit (crucial for us for we cook on it frequently and enjoy relaxing sans kids by the fire at night) we have 6 kids and there was no playground or pool, there were no bathrooms, the wifi only worked if you were very close to the clubhouse, no shade, our site was not big enough for our trailer and expedition, camp store was virtually empty, the ascent into the campground used about 3 gallons of gas ;) most of the things I listed weren't super horrible but not having a campfire pretty much ruined our trip. My husband had to leave for 2 weeks for business when we got home and we were really looking forward to some quiet time drinking a glass of wine sitting by the fire with the kids safely in bed, sigh.....

Room Tip: Make sure you specify you want a fire ring, were given several stories but one was they only have 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cstaskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

We have guest that hate fire pits and all the smoke and we have guest that won't camp without one.

My advice is to make sure when you book your site you are booking a site with a fire pit. Many upscale RV campgrounds today don't have "any" sites with fire pits.

95% of our sites are 75 feet long and 45 feet wide.. If you book late you probably were on one of the shorter sites.

Remember over the holidays book early, ask for a fire pit if you want one and if you have 6 children ask about their entertainment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon arrival everyone was very friendly. Our site didn't have a fire pit so they found one for us and delivered it along with wood to our site. Our campsite was located on the top loop of the park right near the entrance. It was level and had a nice cement pad. Hook ups were convenient. Even though we were very close to the office the wifi did not reach our site. The wind in our area seemed to be an issue every day and we would have to pull the awning in. This did not seem to be a problem for the lower loop. Your trash is picked up every morning with your newspaper delivery. Shade is not to be found anywhere in this park. A pool would be a nice addition. The location is convenient within Leelanau County and about 20 minutes from TC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend at Wild Cherry Resort. We were pleased with the campground and will stay there again. The location is unbeatable. We did the wine trail to about 6 wineries and our favorite was right at the entrance to the campground! 45 North Winery was great. Really good wine, reasonable prices, friendly service and the atmosphere was nice too.
We stayed at site #61, which is a lake site. I agree with some of the other reviews that it is more like a small pond but the view was great. The only complaint I have is that I reserved site #64 and that site was taken when we got there. I didn't notice until we were already set up, or I would have said something. Not that it would have mattered because they wouldn't make them move, I'm sure! Seems like when you reserve a site and you get a confirmation, that site should be available when you get there. Still, all in all, we loved it there and will return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mmg0g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

My wife and I took a risk and camped here on our first anniversary, because of its proximity to Leland and Suttons Bay. We're campers, so we wanted to tent camp. We were pleasantly surprised that our wooded tent site had a smooth patch of sand for the tent, a picnic table, and a log bench. The porta-potty was very clean and had running water. There was even a tent shower with hot water! The owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChadWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The website claims they have 4 acre lake. It is more like a small pond overgrown with scum, weeds,bugs, and goose turds. There is nothing for kids here. No playground,no pool,no store,no bathrooms,no cable,bad WiFi. They charge way too much,$59.00 per night. The owner complains about your dogs if they do there business on your site,even if you clean up after them.
They seem to cater to seniors and big rigs. There is a much better campground a few miles away on Lake Leelanau.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ed t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Wild Cherry Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Appreciate your coments.

We do not cater to children but most find lots to do. The lake ( pond ) is not a swimming lake which it sounds you were looking for. Bugs have never been a problem yet you are camping so one needs to consider that. Weeds in the lake are "cat tails" this is nature at it's finest.

All in all I hope your site at LL was what you were looking for. No Bugs, Pool, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Cherry Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wild Cherry Resort

Address: 8653 E Horn Rd, Lake Leelanau, MI 49653
Location: United States > Michigan > Leelanau County > Lake Leelanau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Lake Leelanau
Number of rooms: 76
Also Known As:
Wild Cherry Resort Lake Leelanau, Leelanau County, Michigan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing