We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property
Nanyuki is a perfect base from which to explore the varied delights of Scotland's wild pl
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nanyuki is a perfect base from which to explore the varied delights of Scotland's wild pl
The ground floor consists of a modern kitchen and dining area Nanyuki was designed to be very spacious accommodation for two adults.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Nanyuki is a perfect base from which to explore the varied delights of Scotland's wild pl
The ground floor consists of a modern kitchen and dining area
Nanyuki was designed to be very spacious accommodation for two adults.
The ground floor consists of a modern kitchen and dining area...
..with further large living area with satellite TV and WiFi facilities.
Nanyuki is an ideal centre for activity holidays, and don't forget your camera and binoculars!
The weather in the West Highlands can be changeable.
Here the sheep and Highland cows graze up to the door.
Nanyuki has an open contemporary design giving it a unique internal space
Here the sheep and Highland cows graze up to the door.
Drumbuie is one of the picturesque villages of the Balmacara estate, owned by the National Trust
Nanyuki is just a short walk from the sea and dramatic views over to Skye and Raasay
spacious accommodation - but just for two...
Drumbuie is an active crofting community
Sheep and cattle graze up to the door… contact us if you are considering bringing a dog with you...
Nanyuki is in a small village where the livestock roam freely...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Drumbuie, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
KRTravele...
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I stayed here for several days. It is one of the most well equipped vacation rentals we've ever stayed in. Comfortable, clean, great beds, wifi and quite the tv channel selection for those quiet days! I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. We also had plenty of highland bovine neighbors. Calves too! Amazing!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the comforts of home
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay in Drumbuie!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walter K
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we'd stayed longer!”
Reviewed August 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We loved Nanyuki and would highly recommend it! It was spacious, clean, comfortable, well equipped, well furnished and incredibly well maintained. It had everything we needed for a fantastic self catering vacation! Beautifully equipped kitchen with lots of new crockery, cutlery, cooking utensils, etc. Great shower, lots of storage space, comfortable beds and sofas. Terrific TV reception! Bookcases lined with DVD's, games, novels, and an incredible collection of local travel/hiking/history books and materials that helped us plan our outings and hikes. It was a perfect location to explore the surrounding area and a very short distance to Skye. The one thing we would have enjoyed was a garden/patio area that would have allowed us to eat/relax outside the cottage. The village is incredibly quiet and peaceful; you look out the window in the morning and see the sheep roaming around outside the cottage...it was wonderful! We stayed for four nights and wished we'd stayed longer. Drumbuie itself is a tiny village with no amenities such as a pub or store, so be prepared to drive the short distance to Kyle of Lochalsh for groceries and such. However, the quiet of Drumbuie makes Nanyuki all the more special as a place to get away from it all. There is a short, but scenic coastal trail leading from the village; makes for a nice after dinner meander. The owner, Andy, was a pleasure to correspond with and the housekeeper, Heather, greeted us at the cottage and offered great suggestions for hikes, restaurants and pubs (The Plockton Shores restaurant is well worth a visit...thank you for the recommendation, Heather!). We had a fantastic time at Nanyuki and hope to return one day soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious, clean, comfortable, safe
Liked least: It didn't have a garden/patio area.It would have been nice to relax or eat outdoors.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 15, 2016
So pleased you enjoyed your stay at Nanyuki, Walter. Thank you for your kind words. We are very lucky to have Heather… and Plockton Shores close by! We hope you will be able to visit the NW Highlands again and you would be most welcome at Nanyuki.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGGourlay
1 review
“Great accommodation in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed June 27, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Nanyuki is a lovely little house full of the modern comforts that make this holiday accommodation a home away from home. The facilities are great and the house is very clean and tastefully decorated throughout. It is located in a beautiful village with gorgeous scenery that is a short drive away from a bigger town that has shops, a pharmacy, a petrol station and restaurants. This holiday home is in a great location and is an ideal base from which to explore the North West Highlands.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2016
It was a pleasure to have you as guests at Nanyuki and thank you for reviewing Nanyuki.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerry F
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Picturesque house in a perfect location”
Reviewed June 8, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Nanyuki house is beautiful and spacious with all a vacationer would need. Large kitchen and dining area to enjoy some home cooked meals. Large lounge area for relaxing after a day of exploring and a gorgeous, comfortable bed for a restful nights sleep. Located next to the Skye bridge it is perfect for trips to Skye and other beautiful locations within the area. Sheep and highland "coos" greet you as you step out in the morning wether going to the shop located not far in the neighbouring town of Kyle or a short walk down to the beach only 2 minutes away. Owners very approachable and welcoming and have the house clean, comfotable and modern in such a picturesque location. Loved our stay at the house and will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location was perfect. Close to many beautiful places but in a quiet, private place.
Liked least: Couldn't stay for longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 9, 2016
We would be delighted to welcome you back... So pleased you enjoyed your stay in the NW Highlands!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoofieA
Dunblane
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday destination in Scotland”
Reviewed May 21, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

This is a perfect holiday house in a fantastic location. The house itself is beautiful inside, very comfortable and well equipped- i have stayed in many holiday cottages in Scotland, and this is definitely my favourite. On top of that, it is in a fantastic location- right on a beautiful part of the west coast, approx 3 miles from Kyle of Lochalsh, for the convenience of the shops etc, whilst also within very easy reach of Skye. For those who enjoy outdoor activities, the choice of places to go and things to do is endless and the scenery both on the mainland and on Skye is just stunning. What more can i say- i would definitely award it 5 stars!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 22, 2016
Fantastic for us to receive such a recommendation for our first review on TripAdvisor! We hope it is the first of many, and will endeavour to live up to this standard!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing