We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return for breakfast”
Review of Turkey Roost

Turkey Roost
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Kawkawlin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
531 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return for breakfast”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stopped her for lunch on a Sunday traveling through the area after reading the reviews on this site. The locals around us were eating breakfast, but for a first visit, I had to try the turkey dinner (my spouse tried the beef dinner). Service was quick and friendly, and within about 5 minutes, I had before me a heaping plate of white and dark meat turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes with gravy, and corn, with slaw, cranberry sauce and a biscuit. It did not disappoint. The turkey and stuffing were the best part - moist and flavorful - but all of it was just like you might get on your great-aunt's Thanksgiving table. The breakfast items all around me looked delicious. In less than half an hour, we were back on our way. I will definitely be back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJTOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    39
    12
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kawkawlin, Michigan, United States
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Had breakfast, but the turkey dinner is the best.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Food and service I went with a couple friends wanted some breakfast and we heard their's was good, so we tried and it was.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Turkey Specialists”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have been going to Turkey Roost for many many years. The quality of what they serve never goes down. They specialize in Turkey but do offer some beef, soups and fish on Fridays -- plus breakfasts. The ambience is very much a country restaurant but it is faster than fast food and consistently excellent. Do not miss trying their biscuits! or, if you have room, the strawberry shortcake!! Be forewarned -- I think they close up for part of the winter

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nrocpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawkawlin, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Faster than fast food but real home cooked food”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Simple menu but delicious. Breakfast too. Faster than fast food but real home cooked food. Mostly turkey but other choices too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reese, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“turkey”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

A good place to go if all you want is turkey. service and the food was good but Turkey

Helpful?
Thank alkimfischer560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turkey Roost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing