We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Ludington, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clean hotel and good location”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This motel was clean, the beds were confy. Located not too far from traverse city right on US 31. I would definitely stay again. Free wireless internet was a plus.

Room Tip: ask for 1st floor room where you can park right in front of your room. It's easier that way for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baymont633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    6
    7
    21
See reviews for
13
9
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Missouri
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

A dreadful experience in every way. Overpricrd ($110); rude; dirty; reeked of cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking room); a packaged honeybun the only breakfast choice; etc., etc., etc. I would sleep in my car rather than ever stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68amx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalkaska hotels

Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Kalkaska are is very nice to visit to see the fall colors. This hotel was perfect for my family. Looked like a family owned and operated. They were very caring. It was not as good as most of the places I stay but it was clean and the rooms were spacious. Breakfast was OK. Will return next summer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
217 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The room was clean, but the shower stall was minuscule. No tubs on site. Beds were firm, good support. Wall paper trim coming down in places, rather sloppy paint scheme on the room doors. Continental breakfast is provided, bagel and danish, coffee and O.J. only

Room Tip: Not much better than we saw in Kalkaska, try Gaylord for a nicer place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my family in a room with 3 Beds. The room was huge and accomodating to 6 member of my family. The room was very clean and had everything that we needed for our stay. The breakfast area was small but had enough food to start our day. The staff was polite and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Rooms are dirty, fingerprints on the wall, I felt dirtier after having a shower than before, but that was not the worst of it. The guy running the place is a rude, unreasonable, cranky little hostile man. Upon check out, he would not allow me to pay cash for the room, stating it HAD to stay on my credit card! WHAT? After I get home, I find $1284 worth of FRAUDULENT charges on my card! VISA is investigating and they will be looking hard at the Kalkaska Econo Lodge operation. BEWARE......you have been warned! STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Attempted to book a room at the All Seasons resort down the street, however they neglected to return 3 of my phone calls to book a room, so I decided to get the points and try the Econo Lodge. And really it wasn't that bad. The owners and staff are very nice and do the best they can with the property-- it is what it is.

A couple of suggestions would be breakfast, try the Trout Town Cafe, 1 block east of "main" street, good grubs and Great wait staff! Also, if you need to workout, the "Kaliseum" has it all.. nice weight room, lap pool, etc..opens at 6am, $5 guest fee.

Anyway, I survived a week in Kalkaska at the Econo Lodge, great little town and no problems with the lodging.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drinkwater11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalkaska
16.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Acme - Traverse City
18.1 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
23.7 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
Cherry Tree Inn & Suites
#3 of 40 in Traverse City
3,069 reviews
16.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Acme-Traverse City
20.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Traverse City
Best Western Plus Traverse City
#2 of 40 in Traverse City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Kalkaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Kalkaska

Property: Econo Lodge Kalkaska
Address: 703 N Cedar Street, Kalkaska, MI 49646
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalkaska County > Kalkaska
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Kalkaska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Kalkaska 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MOTEL ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Kalkaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalkaska Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing