We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Re-enactors retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Re-enactors retreat”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My wife and I experienced one of those magical moments that happens rarely and unexpectedly. After the ending of Saturday's Kalamazoo Living History Fair, about a dozen or so of us for the evening and well into the night took over the lobby of the Fairfield Inn. We ordered food and adult beverages. In the lobby we ate, drank, and talked. We recounted stories that became legends. Some were hilarious. I listened to stories of reenactors I wish I could have met, and some I was happy not to have known. And we sang songs. Songs of colonial America in French and in English. As the evening progressed, the circle of reenactors and stories grew. Many thanks to the evening crew at the Fairview for allowing us to sit back and enjoy the evening.

Room Tip: First floor is the easiest
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergmensch_WRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    76
    88
    87
    84
See reviews for
110
80
35
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I've stayed at this Fairfield Inn at least once a year for many years and the experience continues to improve. The outside is the old style Fairfield so it's not exciting but inside is another story. The lobby is a great place to sit and visit with friends. The room was good sized with a comfy bed although they could use an upgrade on their towels. The breakfast and the breakfast area both get high marks. It was a great way to start the day. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonb1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Spent a very comfortable night here - at a very good price. The hotel shows it's age on the exterior, but the room was very nice, very clean and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was so-so, but then again I don't usually have the waffles which are a staple for many, and even so was more than I would have expected for the money. Very nice evening.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

I had higher expectations for this hotel based on my past experiences with Fairfield. Unfortunately, I should have done my research to find out that it's basically a motel on floors 1/2 and a hotel on floor 3. I was originally booked in a room on floor 1, but with cars and people coming and going, I switched to the third floor. The third floor is much more common for a hotel room in this tier It's pretty clean on a whole, but the sketchy motel feel will prevent me from coming back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolverines06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at this inn while visiting the area for our granddaughters birthday! I booked this a week before coming and got a very good rate. It is very clean and the staff was very friendly. Room was not smelly as i had read in other reviews. I will stay here again when we visit the kids.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 323, it was on the highway side but the noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandyc172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfieldmanagment, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Guest, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate your feed back and we hope to see you again in the future!! Thank you!

Fairfield staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed here 10/11 & 10/12. Was very worried after reading reviews but to our surprise it wasn't bad. Went with a hockey team & didn't get to pick our room, but were given room 327. Had read previous reviews stating this room was fine so maybe we just lucked out but nobody in our group complained. Front desk was very friendly, lobby area was clean as was the room. Had lots of channels on the TV. Bed wasn't bad. Hotel is close to the highway & there was a lot of noise from it but that doesn't bother us as we've lived close to a highway before. Thermostat in room worked fine. Shower pressure was good. Bathroom area is small but worked fine for 2 people. Room didn't smell bad. Didn't have continental breakfast so can't comment on that. But all in all, had no problems at all.

Room Tip: Can't speak for other rooms but room 327 was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa112266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfieldmanagment, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello Guest, We are very pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay! We appreciate the review and glad that you left satisfied. We hope to see you again in the future! Thank you again.
Fairfield staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Did not stay the room smelled like somebody has been smoking cigar, also the next room they gave us. Dark smelly dirty it was so bad I did not stay for the night! The room was outside it felt worse than a Motel 6!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anabguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfieldmanagment, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
We would like to apologize for the odor in the room, Our property is a smoke free facility but some guest do not follow our rules. We do appreciate your feed back. We will pass this information onto our staff in hopes to avoid any future occurances.

Fairfield Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#19 of 31 in Kalamazoo
62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#21 of 31 in Kalamazoo
120 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#24 of 31 in Kalamazoo
138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
1.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Days Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
#22 of 31 in Kalamazoo
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Address: 3800 E Cork St, Kalamazoo, MI 49001-4612 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Fairfield Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing