We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“great place for a 2 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
STANTON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place for a 2 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed here in Nov 2010 for a girls weekend. Great staff, good continental breakfast. Rooms were plenty clean. Anyone expecting a 4 star hotel will be disappointed. We have decided to return to Kalamazoo again this year for our getaway and will be staying here again. We also pricelined in and got it for $38.00. Can't beat that! If you are expecting a 2 star hotel you will be pleasantly suprised. Bennucci's across the street is a great restaurant with live entertainment on weekends.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKUHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    60
    68
    69
    64
See reviews for
86
61
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

I was not pleased at all with this hotel. You can hear highway noise everywhere in the hotel. Outdoor hallways, you can hear everyone walking by and no matter how you adjust the curtains, the room is lighted by the hall light.

The rooms were old. The outlets were all overloaded...some with 4 items plugged in. I could only find one open plug in the room. The toilet made a loud noise every 20 minutes. I talked to the front desk about this right away...they did absolutely nothing about it.

The fitted sheets did not fit. I got a great view of a mattress covered in hair. Ick. The tub was patched (this must have been the "renovation"). The sound on the tv was either too loud or too low to be heard.

Breakfast selections looked ok...too bad everything was empty at 8 am tues morning. I will note the attendant was trying to keep up and was very nice as she was trying to refill the items.

Marriott...be ashamed...be very ashamed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alm5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I stayed here for a business trip to Kalamazoo. I frequent Marriott properties; Fairfields especially. This is an older hotel with external entrances for the rooms. If you've never stayed at a hotel where the door to the room is on the outside of the building then you may find the accommodations a little different than you may be accustomed to. The room I had was simple with all the standard amenities. I don't know why I noticed this but the carpet is not standard issue Fairfield; gold squares overlayed gold squares on a royal blue. The room could stand to be renovated with new carpet, wallpaper, and the bath entirely. The king size bed dominated the room making it feel somewhat small. The small cushioned chair and foot stool were crammed between the bed and the airconditioner. This made the entrance into the room quite small. Also, there isn't much room to set up your baggage. The airconditioner works just fine and very loudly. The breakfast is more than what is usually offered with hot items available! Very Nice!! All in all not a bad choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

First this is a cheap motel coverted to a Fairfield. It does not have the expexted Fairfield design features such as interior hallways and hot tub. The rooms are smaller and more sparse than expected from the brand.

Checkin took an extended amount of time even though there was no line. The first room offered to me faced the highway and had been previously crow barred open. Not ok. I got a different room on the third floor. Otherwise nothing interesting to report.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulSEA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The web site for this property states that the rooms have been renovated. This is NOT true. We stayed in a room that was so substandard that I am shocked that they allowed guests to stay in it. The carpets were torn, the bathroom walls had black mold growing on them, the bathroom vent was completely clogged with dirt/dust, the mattress was like sleeping on a bed of nails. I asked to be moved to a renovated room, per the web site photo gallery, but was told that although some rooms had newer TVs, none has been renovated. Oh, if you need an outlet for a cell phone or lap top, you will have to crawl around on the floor to find one, or unplug the TV.
I was told that Marriott is re-branding Fairfield Inns and the new ones are REALLY nice. But the old ones are still under contract with Marriott and there is not much they can do about it. This property is far below the Marriott standard.

Room Tip: Find out the age of the hotel and only stay in new properties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcbens08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We weren't sure what we had gotten ourselves into after seeing how small the room was. But we were pleasantly surprised by the comfort of the beds and pillows. It was very clean and the shower was nice. For a northern hotel it is odd that the only swimming pool is outdoor. The free breakfast was a step above the usual free breakfasts you get at hotels. And miles above the last one we had at a Michigan hotel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbarko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

This hotel appears to be a hotel that was converted from something like a red roof inn or motel 6 into a Fairfield Inn. It is a poor representation for a Marriott.

The rooms open out to the parking lot. There is a large window in the front of each room that faces the sidewalk. You can see through the curtains of the rooms, so you need to use the drapes as well.

The doors to the rooms do not shut unless you pull them hard, so don't just let them swing shut.

The noise level in this hotel is high. You can hear people talking outside, you can hear through the walls and ceiling, etc.

The floor of the rooms was damp. I'm not sure if it was humidity, or a leak, but every room that I was in had a damp floor, as well as the rest of the rooms were just generally wet feeling.

The sheets on the bed do not fit properly. They come off of the top of the mattress very easily, which leaves you sleeping in a pile of sheets at the end of the night. Just another indication of the sloppiness of this hotel.

The breakfast area is usually extremely crowded during all hours of the morning with very large families abusing the continental breakfast. There is never enough food and the food quality is less than great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#22 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
Quality Inn Kalamazoo
#21 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
Red Roof Inn Kalamazoo East
#19 of 32 in Kalamazoo
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
6.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East
Address: 3800 East Cork Street, Kalamazoo, MI 49001 (Formerly Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Kalamazoo East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Kalamazoo East Hotel Kalamazoo
Fairfield Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing