We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for anything more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Kalamazoo
York Haven, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
224 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for anything more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Clean, quiet, close proximity to highway, decent bar, large room. This place is top notch. The room was spotless and very well furnished. A pet peeve of mine is that there was no fridge but I survived. Decent business center, TV with HBO, desk, sofa. Overall couldn't ask for anything more.

They did have what looked like a great pool and recreation area but I did not utilize it so that will have to be up to you other TA reviewers. If I ever return to the Kalamazoo area I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Gary S-
On behalf of the Holiday Inn West Kalamazoo we appreciate you choosing to stay with us. We value our guest feedback and hope that when your in the Kalamazoo area again that you stay with us.
Justin W.
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    74
    38
    30
    24
See reviews for
92
35
16
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

My family and I stayed at the holiday west on 4-10-2014, we booked over the net, they said we would have a pool side room, indoor pool,and hot tub.
Our room was not even in view of pool we were down hall away from pool.
They were kind enough to put us in a room with a widow over looking a balcony with people enjoying the pool but now we are center of attention for people on the balcony.
Pool was cold kids wouldn't swim, and hot tub was not even hot very mild in temp.
Had to buy air freshener room had funny smell, vending machines didn't work properly, and room had trash behind pull out sofa bed. This is last time we will book with this hotel!
This was the night before our 3 years old was going in for surgery.

Room Tip: If you are local scout out hotel to get you're monies worth. If not able be prepared.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madpawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
madpawpaw-

On behalf of the hotel we deeply apologize for what took place during your stay. I appreciate you talking the time out to let us know how you felt because we value all of our guest feedback. I would like to know how we can make this right for you, so if you would please contact the hotel directly to speak with myself or someone from our management team at 269-375-6000. We look forward to hearing from you soon.

Justin W.
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

It was an amazing stAy . We felt like royalty . Warm welcome very attentive to us. The only thing I found challenging is that in the bunk bed suite the tv only played a video game. So I had everyone in my bed to watch tv.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Patti K-
We appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how great your daughter's party was. We hope that you come back to visit and stay at our hotel again. If there is anything that you need, please contact the hotel.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I was here for the Farm Women's Symposium. We had a great experience. The room was neat and clean and the food they served was delicious. The staff was also very kind and helpful and the pool area was clean and fun!

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the pool and those that face outside. We had a room facing the pool and i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alysa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Alysa M-
We are very excited that you had such a great time at our hotel for the conference. We hope that you are our guest when you visit Kalamazoo in the future.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

I am a local resident of this hotel and absolutely love staying there! We have 5 kids and have stayed many times, sometimes for pleasure, a few times because we lost power. In the Spring of 2013 my niece graduated from University of Michigan and we rented the Holidome behind the pool area. The food was so delicious, there was alot of it, and the staff was great - they accomodated our every need to ensure we were happy. We had relatives from 3 different states fly in and they took care of us. The other really neat thing is that they have kids eat free for every meal! This is literally a Godsend for a family with 5 children. They have a lovely pool with hot tub, they have an arcade, ping pong, fushball, a work-out room and more. I just found out in our stay there on 3/12/14 that they have bunk bed rooms for families! There is a queen size bed with 2 bunk beds, they are in an alcove of their own and have their own TV and Play Station! The kids loved it. I have to say the Justin and Mark at the front desk were so great and helpful with everything. I have never had such a pleasant experience with any staff at any hotel. Our family can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: the first floor rooms are great for kids and easy access to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Amy J-
It is great to know how much you enjoyed being a guest at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how your stay was because it means alot. If there is anything else we can do for you, please let us know. We hope that you continue to stay with us in the future.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We took a trip with friends for a quick getaway and break the winter blues. Overall this hotel is not a bad spot for such an activity. The pool and dome area as it is called is nice change in pace from standard pools. The only issue I have is the fact that you have "squatters" that take over many of the seating and table options throughout the pool and dome area making the place look like a scene from a trailer park. Families will have birthday parties and turn many of the table, chairs and lounging areas into personal nests for an entire weekend. Staff does not enforce any cleaning or up keep in these locations so many tables have food being left all over and pizza boxes etc. It takes away from the sharing concept. I get the first come first serve but getting squatters rights because you leave your junk and crock pots out and spread around for the weekend to me is a bit extreme.

On the positive the hotel is a very nice traveling option. Hotel rooms are adequate nd spacious beds comfy. The restaurant that's Inside Hotel has a very nice selection of food options. A little pricy but good nonetheless.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Tony G-
We apologize that you didn't have the best experience while staying at our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we are always striving to improve our hotel amenities and service. We thank you for your review and will make sure that we do a better job of making sure all of our guests are important. If you would to contact the hotel directly and speak with me that will be great at 269-375-6000, I will be more than happy to make this right with you.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Awesome. I'm not sure if negative reviewers were expecting a ritzy hotel, but it's a Holiday Inn. We came for a slumber party, and they changed our rooms so we could be adjoining. The tables outside of the rooms aren't exclusive to those staying. At 10:30, the pool closes for anyone under 18. Also, when you check in, you are given the option of having a poolside room or not. And, you also get informed that there is a price difference. I'm here with a young group of girls, I will recommend coming to everyone.

And really, it's a hotel pool, if you expect it to be empty in the winter, you are fooling yourself.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Montora H-
We are very excited to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel. it was our pleasure being able to provide you with great guest service and that you enjoyed using our hotel amenities. We hope that you continue to be our guest in the future, and if there is anything that we can do to continue your business let us know.
Justin W
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalamazoo hotels
2.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kalamazoo
4.1 mi away
Radisson Plaza Hotel at Kalamazoo Center
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalamazoo Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kalamazoo
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Kalamazoo - Oshtemo
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Kalamazoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West

Property: Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West
Address: 2747 S 11th St, Kalamazoo, MI 49009-2177
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kalamazoo County > Kalamazoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kalamazoo
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kalamazoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn West, the best in personalized guest experiences. We’re here to serve you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Kalamazoo-West Hotel Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing